Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Torch Hack

  1. #1
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    1,462
    Using the thin wall bug, you can relight torches in the next room.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered
    Mar 2003
    Location
    A + Normal( B - A ) * ((( B - A ) dot ( P - A )) / VSize( A - B ))
    Posts
    921
    Yes, that one got me once when I was in gerome's bathroom and guards kept lighting the torches from the outside by running past with flares & fire.
    ]V[]V[

  3. #3
    Member -=V12US=-'s Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Netherlands Parasite: Yes
    Posts
    2,577
    Seems more like a bug and not a hack...

    Possibly not even a bug either, because the flares and firebolts use a specified radius in which they can relight torches. To make walls block this radius will use up a lot of CPU power I think, or more CPU power than they'd like.

    Maybe this is allready fixed in 1.3 when they fix the (thin) wallbug.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BiG_D's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Inches above the ban button
    Posts
    4,064
    I'm pretty sure you can also put out that torch in gerome from outside the room too...
    It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered
    Mar 2003
    Location
    A + Normal( B - A ) * ((( B - A ) dot ( P - A )) / VSize( A - B ))
    Posts
    921
    Quote Originally Posted by -=V12US=-
    To make walls block this radius will use up a lot of CPU power I think, or more CPU power than they'd like.
    Actually it takes little more processing power than figuring out if a zero-hour projectile (IE UTs sniping rifle) hit an object (in fact, the process is very similar). I think the coding is the bad part though.
    ]V[]V[

  6. #6
    Banned
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,408
    A bigger part of this problem is with Firebolts. They can relight torches that are on the opposite side of a wall, and they can even start thieves on fire who are hiding behind the wall/door. Dunno if thats fixed in 1.3 yet.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Hack the planet?
    By Fuzzy Bunny in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2005, 03:38 AM
  2. Speed Hack..
    By Cigs in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2005, 10:53 PM
  3. Anyone know how to find a CD key hack for Half Life 1?
    By Convict in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2004, 09:15 AM
  4. Speed Hack Problem
    By The Red Duke in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2004, 07:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •