Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Nightblade Server Information

  1. #1

    Nightblade Server Information

    I am attempting to run a Nightblade server on my UT3 Dedicated Server install.

    I am unable to test it from work but from what I see on the console over the last few hours, there have been a few attempts to connect. Not sure if it is players from NB or if perhaps the server is advertising on normal UT3 gametypes.

    I think I have all the settings correct in my batch file and I've managed to get it started with Firedaemon so it has full auto-restart on crashes and what not:
    Code:
    :restart
    @echo off
    UT3.exe server NB-Darkened_Enlightenment^
    ?game=NightbladeMod.NbGameInfo^
    ?MaxPlayers=12^
    ?MinNetPlayers=0^
    ?bShouldAdvertise=True^
    ?bUsesStats=True^
    ?bIsDedicated=True^
    ?ForceRespawn=0^
    ?CustomMapName=NB-Darkened_Enlightenment^
    ?CustomGameMode=NightbladeMod.NbGameInfo^
    ?TimeLimit=25^
    ?ServerDescription=xxx^
    -log=DedicatedServer.log -Login=xxxx -Password=xxxx -unattended
    goto restart
    pause
    Can someone confirm if they can
    A) See the server advertising (assuming the latest NB supports that)
    B) Connect to the server with "open kewlazme.homeip.net:7777" from the command console.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by -KewlAzMe-; 21st Mar 2008 at 06:32 PM.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  2. #2
    A. no see server advertised
    B. tried connecting thru command console and it just says "connecting" like forever. it never connected for me.
    "forever" in this case= about 4 1/2 minutes

    I can connect to other ut3 servers. typical connect time is under a minute

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Ghostly apparition View Post
    A. no see server advertised
    B. tried connecting thru command console and it just says "connecting" like forever. it never connected for me.
    "forever" in this case= about 4 1/2 minutes

    I can connect to other ut3 servers. typical connect time is under a minute
    Ok thx. I'll check my router to ensure it has all the ports opened properly.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  4. #4
    So I'm not sure yet, but I think the problem I'm having deals with either an incorrect command line, or something with the gameclass not being set right from the commandline.

    I've posted my problem on the epic forums (cleverly disguising NB with DS)

    In a nut shell, when I run the server from within the game it appears to work fine. But when i use the command line to run the server, even on the PC with the full game, it sets the gameclass to "demogame" instead of "NBGameInfo"... that, I believe, is the root cause of the problem as later in the serverlog it says "gameclass DemoGame registrar not found, unable to advertise server" or something. And it seems that in comparing the 2 logs, it is after that point that things start to go down the wrong path.

    So I'm trying to find out if there is some -mod switch or ini change that is needed to run a mod from a commandline. I have been unable to find any info about running mod servers from a batch file on epicforums, unrealadmin, etc. I think its just too early still.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  5. #5
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    No, there is no mod switch.

    Biohazard's server uses the following command-line options to run Nightblade.

    Code:
    server NB-Darkened_Enlightenment?maxplayers=12?game=NightbladeMod.NbGameInfo?bShouldAdvertise=true?bIsDedicated=true?NumPublicConnections=12?NumOpenPublicConnections=12?numplay=12  -unattended

  6. #6
    Oddly enough, when starting the server from within the Game, it creates the command line with the "?game=NightbladeMod.NBGameInfo" section at the end. Seems tho that if you want to run it in a command line as a batch file, you need to move that more towards the front...

    I thought I read that somewhere but brushed it off when i saw that was the way ut3 was creating it for me.. weirdness.

    Seems to be working now. Thx! Also, I read that you had to use the -Login -Pass stuff to advertise it.. perhaps you just intentionally cut that part off when you were giving me the example above.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  7. #7
    Also it seems in my original post i forgot the "^" on the first line.. that was causing my grief. seems to be working now tho. It should be also advertising, but if not:
    open kewlazme.homeip.net:7777
    Last edited by -KewlAzMe-; 21st Mar 2008 at 06:32 PM.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  8. #8
    Member Bandit's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2003
    Location
    2059' E 5334' N
    Posts
    508
    I can't connect to your server, KAM.

  9. #9
    ok. I will try going back to 7777... i think people connected then. It looks like some people are connecting and then disconnecting a few seconds later, but that might be people from other gametypes finding my server bleeding over the filters.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  10. #10
    Was anyone on my NB server today? It looks like someone joined for about 5 mins. I've been having trouble with my ability to host servers lately but I'm not sure if its related to running the lighter "WinXP Performance Edition" or if it was my router. I got a new router and was able to play on my own server over LAN.. but haven't had anyone test it yet from the outside. But today it looks like someone connected.

    Anyone?
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  11. #11
    Member John dillinger's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2007
    Location
    On A large Island that spans 3,794,101 Square Miles
    Posts
    42
    I did join, but then ut3 gave me the binary error that has been plaguing since I bought the game. I have been trying to get it fixed.

    I Would like to see more on the nb servers instead of old tut.

  12. #12
    When you joined did you actually get in to the game? Unfortunately there isn't much besides old tut in NB yet
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Thievery Server Information
    By WildBill in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2017, 07:43 AM
  2. some information about NightBlade release
    By Tisfulakistakagela in forum Nightblade Discussion
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 8th Aug 2006, 04:59 AM
  3. information
    By malachitemoon in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2006, 04:58 PM
  4. So how about some new information then?
    By claymore in forum Nightblade Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Oct 2004, 08:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •