Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32

Thread: Alpha Release - 2008/08/28

  1. #1
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117

    Alpha Release - 2008/08/28

    A new release is available from Nightblade's Testing Page. The changelog lists what has changed.

    The big change this time is that Nightblade now uses the UT3 mod system introduced in patch 1.3. This means you have to install the 1.3 patch, and you should remove any previous Nightblade installation before installing the new version.

    Nightblade now installs to a different directory, so check the install instructions before installation.

    Also added a Nightblade splash movie to the startup movies.

  2. #2
    Member Rodent's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Fighting to survive in a war with the darkest power...
    Posts
    539
    wewt it's back on track baby
    Nightwarden,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "Earth dons the red; calls the maggots."

  3. #3
    Member beast's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    typhoon 24 feat.
    Posts
    1,341
    The time is ripe for Nightblade
    deserve victory

  4. #4
    I can't get this version of Nightblade to run.

    I patched UT3 to version 1.3. I removed the \My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\ directory. I ran UT3 to recreate the directory and then copied the new Nightblade update to that directory. Then I ran NightbladeLauncher.exe. It asks for a UTEngine.ini file so I select the one in \My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Config\. After that UT3 starts up like normal and there is no Nightblade or ThieveryUT3 entry in the Instant Action menu.

    I tried the above in vista and in xp and it didn't work on either. Did I miss something?

  5. #5
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    Sounds like I included the wrong launcher - the new one doesn't require the location of the ini file to be specified.

    I've uploaded the new launcher to http://www.night-blade.com/download/...deLauncher.exe and will reupload the release.

  6. #6
    Should it be asking for the CD Key after startup?

    its not a problem, just asking. ^_^
    SSSSSPPPPPAAAAAMMMMM 44444 EEEEEVVVVVEEEEEAAAAA!!!!!

  7. #7
    Thanks Immort that seems to have worked. The first couple times I ran the NightbladeLauncher it made UT3 crash but around the third time it got stuck on a black screen. Pressing escape made it start working again. It did ask for my CD Key and my online account/password the first time.

  8. #8
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    Yeah, the mod system means each mod uses a separate set of ini files, so you'll need to enter the cd-key for each one.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by immortius View Post
    Yeah, the mod system means each mod uses a separate set of ini files, so you'll need to enter the cd-key for each one.
    Another terrible design from Epic.. Time for Epic to go back to basics.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  10. #10
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    264
    Hello,

    I finally got UT3 and like so many other BCG community members, I too am anxious for Night-blade to be released. However, I wanted to verify which answer is correct.

    Quote Originally Posted by immortius View Post
    The big change this time is that Nightblade now uses the UT3 mod system introduced in patch 1.3. This means you have to install the 1.3 patch, and you should remove any previous Nightblade installation before installing the new version.
    On the official Night-blade website, it says this on the ALPHA page:
    First, ensure that you have installed the latest UT3 patch. At the time of writing the latest patch is 1.3. Nightblade will not run with the 1.3 patch.
    Do I need UT3 patched to version 1.3 or not?


    Thank you for helping out an old gamer.

  11. #11
    *do* install 1.3

  12. #12
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    264
    Quote Originally Posted by dracflamloc View Post
    *do* install 1.3
    Thank you.

  13. #13
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    Without, without. :/

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    264
    Now I'm confused again.

    The ALPHA page is conflicting in itself (as I read it): Install the latest patch (currently 1.3) for UT3. However, Night-blade will not run with 1.3.

    Immortius, you said in this thread to install 1.3 update, but then you now reply "without, without". Do you mean play Night-blade, UT3 should be without 1.3? What version should UT3 be at then?




    Referring to my own confusion:
    "MAYDAY! MAYDAY! Gamer down! I say again, we have a gamer down! Send backup now!"

  15. #15
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    The website should have read "Nightblade will not run without1.3". I updated it before posting that, so it doesn't actually contradict itself anymore.

  16. #16
    I did some testing, it still was pleasurable, although there's need to do it in a group or even in any multiplayer form. I don't know how you intend to do the melee weapons, but in their current form there's too much space for problems and issues. I'd like to test those as well. For instance whether the sword can hit more thieves at the same time or if it can stop at a random obstacle without it being noticeable. The vertical blow having horizontal spread is a minor thing, I do take it as a mere temporary solution.

  17. #17
    New Member Gimbo's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a luxury 2 roomed corrugated cardboard box… with roof
    Posts
    28
    ok iv got a problem iv installed patch 1.3 and added nightblade to the ut3 directory and deleted all the old stuff but when i click the nb launcher I get the ut3 splash and then it crashes?
    any ideas what's wrong
    Arghh why does the world hate me so...

  18. #18
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    Are you adding it to the Program Files UT3 directory, or the My Documents UT3 directory?

  19. #19
    New Member Gimbo's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a luxury 2 roomed corrugated cardboard box… with roof
    Posts
    28
    my documents
    Arghh why does the world hate me so...

  20. #20
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    Is there an error at the end of the log file (launch.log in UTGame\Logs)

  21. #21
    New Member Gimbo's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a luxury 2 roomed corrugated cardboard box… with roof
    Posts
    28
    no it just blacks out and i get program not responding
    Arghh why does the world hate me so...

  22. #22
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    Then what is in your log?

  23. #23
    New Member Gimbo's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a luxury 2 roomed corrugated cardboard box… with roof
    Posts
    28
    fixed it. it just took 10 min or so to start the program.
    Arghh why does the world hate me so...

  24. #24
    New Member
    Registered
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7
    i doubt that it's dead since they still release new versions
    although the old version of the alpha worked and the new one doesn't... 'tleast for me...
    i also don't really have any time to check what's the problem, so i'll eighter do it sometime next week or on christmas.... or i'll wait for the next release...

  25. #25
    Member Spidey's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2003
    Location
    a tangled web
    Posts
    249
    I re-installed UT3 this month after resurrecting my puter. It took a LONG time to run the first time, but I think it says in the readmes somewhere that the first time does take a while to cache stuff. It runs quicker after that.

    I'm still super confused on it installing under Program Files AND My Games directories though. That really messed me up the first few times I installed it and couldn't find the .ini file it was asking for, kinda like Sneaky's problem a few posts earlier.

  26. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by Spidey View Post
    I'm still super confused on it installing under Program Files AND My Games directories though.
    uh oh, am i doing something wrong? i just extract the zip to the UT3 folder under My Games...
    SSSSSPPPPPAAAAAMMMMM 44444 EEEEEVVVVVEEEEEAAAAA!!!!!

  27. #27
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    I think Spidey means UT3 itself.

  28. #28
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Some games build shaders and uncompress textures the first time you run them Spidey. (battlefield 2 takes a while each time you change the shader options but runs fast after that).
    ~TuF~

  29. #29
    Hey immortius, any progress updates?

  30. #30
    Did I miss instructions on how to control scouting orbs? When I throw them they always face directly up.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha Release - 2008/05/30
    By immortius in forum Forge of Shadows
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th May 2008, 08:16 AM
  2. Alpha Release - 2008/05/23
    By immortius in forum Forge of Shadows
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th May 2008, 07:44 PM
  3. Alpha Release - 2008/05/10
    By immortius in forum Forge of Shadows
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th May 2008, 09:45 PM
  4. Alpha Release - 2008/04/25
    By immortius in forum Forge of Shadows
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th Apr 2008, 06:37 PM
  5. Alpha Release - 2008/03/02
    By immortius in forum Forge of Shadows
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2008, 03:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •