Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: how to run alien swarm at 1920x1200

  1. #1

    how to run alien swarm at 1920x1200

    Hi all,

    long time no see.

    i got the GoG version of UT2004 and it it supports my native widescreen resolution, but when i installed alien swarm i only get presented with 4:3 aspect ratio resolutions to choose from.

    is there any reason why alien swarm is more fussy?
    is there any way around this?

    many thanks

  2. #2
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674

    just deal & run it in 4:3 stretched because your aim will be affected otherwise

    Yeah. Unfortunately it's a true fact that your crosshair will lie to you and the bullets will not fly true if you run ASw in another aspect ratio (oh man, somebody tell me it's not true).

  3. #3
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    You can use the setres 1920x1600 command in the console. You can do other resolutions that way as well. As Moses pointed out, your aim will be affected on widescreen resolutions.

  4. #4
    Project Lead Dalai's Avatar
    Registered
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,369
    I just put up a patch which adds widescreen support on the Alien Swarm site.

    It's fairly untested, so let me know if there's any major problems.

  5. #5
    Member Hybrid's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,957
    If only the United States Army could release patches for their games that swiftly after a problem is detected.

  6. #6
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    They probably could if they didn't fire their dev team after every release oh snap.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalai View Post
    I just put up a patch which adds widescreen support on the Alien Swarm site.

    It's fairly untested, so let me know if there's any major problems.
    thanks dalai, i'll give it a whirl.

  8. #8
    hey-ho,

    i extracted the new patch to the UT2004 folder, and i now have a subfolder inside that folder called: /AlienSwarm_13_to_134_Patch/ in addition to the main /AlienSwarm/ folder and the: /AlienSwarm_13_or_131_to_132_Patch/ folder, but.......

    the settings haven't changed, i still only have 4:3 reslutions with the top resolution remaining as 1600x1200.

    any ideas?

  9. #9
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalai View Post
    I just put up a patch which adds widescreen support on the Alien Swarm site.

    It's fairly untested, so let me know if there's any major problems.
    You're a credit to your race... of, presumably, space felines.

    furun:
    Code:
    setres ????x????
    in console

  10. #10
    edit -

    i've noticed that the 132 patch folder is empty except for the readme, whereas the new 134 patch folder has subfolders called Maps and System, should those two subfolders be written to the main AlienSwarm folder?

  11. #11
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Yes.

  12. #12
    cheers

  13. #13
    Member Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston, England
    Posts
    2,013
    Is this patch an optional update?

  14. #14
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Let's schedule a game time, people.

  15. #15
    Project Lead Dalai's Avatar
    Registered
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,369
    Quote Originally Posted by Ki!ler-Mk1 View Post
    Is this patch an optional update?
    Yes, it should be network compatible with 1.32.

  16. #16
    Member Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston, England
    Posts
    2,013
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalai View Post
    I just put up a patch which adds widescreen support on the Alien Swarm site.

    It's fairly untested, so let me know if there's any major problems.
    My CRT just broke, i guess i need this now

    Thanks!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. how can i get alien swarm
    By kengonz in forum Alien Swarm Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 3rd Jul 2008, 10:34 AM
  2. Alien Swarm 1.3
    By Dalai in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2006, 03:54 PM
  3. Alien Swarm Fan Art
    By mouse in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Jun 2005, 06:43 PM
  4. Alien swarm. rpg or something like it
    By Ki!ler-Mk1 in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 4th May 2005, 04:23 PM
  5. Alien Swarm on Mac ?
    By ikis in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28th May 2004, 05:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •