Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 73

Thread: New player ready to start but.....

  1. #1
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14

    New player ready to start but.....

    Hi

    I installed it all.

    UT is working fine but Thievery not.

    When I start Thievery all I get is a black screen. I can hear the opening sounds but no picture.

    When I run it in Safe Mode, if I disable 3D Sound it will work (but then I am in Safe Mode in a small window).

    Guys please help so I can join, play, and add to the player base

  2. #2
    Member Shug's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Play Hard. Go Pro.™
    Posts
    3,294
    Which version of windows are you running, and are your graphic drivers up to date?
    Nightmaster,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "until the cat is skinned"

  3. #3
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Windows 7 x64

    Graphic Drivers up to date (Nvidia 8200). UT works fine.

  4. #4
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    What version of UT are you using/have you patched to at least v436?

  5. #5
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    I have this in UnrealTournament.ini

    [FirstRun]
    FirstRun=436

  6. #6
    Member beast's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    typhoon 24 feat.
    Posts
    1,341
    Find your settings ini file (path-to-unreal/system/thaux.ini) and set UseDirectSound=True to False.
    deserve victory

  7. #7
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    yeah it is already false....

  8. #8
    Member FixXxeR's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK, Manchester
    Posts
    4,055
    If you disable your soundcard does it work?

    Do you have a soundcard and a mobo built in soundcard? - if so have you tried using one or the other?
    -TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
    - Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
    - #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
    -YT

  9. #9
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Try switching to OPENGL in the INI file, or DirectX if you cannot, failing both does software mode work?
    ~TuF~

  10. #10
    Yeah you can also update it here

  11. #11
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    I used Direct 3D, and I tried Software Rendering. Neither work.

    Only thing that works is running in Safe Mode and ticking 'Disable 3D Sound Hardware' (all other things unticked - worked this out via trial and error).... but then it runs in a small 640 x 480 screen.

    I really appreciate the help guys - we need to get this working!

    ps. all my other games work fine. I run a very clean install of Windows, no crap, bloat or junk.

  12. #12
    Member FixXxeR's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK, Manchester
    Posts
    4,055
    Out of interest, does regular ut99 work with DirectSound = True?
    -TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
    - Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
    - #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
    -YT

  13. #13
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    here is my UT ini:

    [Audio.GenericAudioSubsystem]
    UseFilter=True
    UseSurround=False
    UseStereo=True
    UseCDMusic=False
    UseDigitalMusic=False
    UseSpatial=False
    UseReverb=False
    Use3dHardware=False
    LowSoundQuality=False
    ReverseStereo=False
    Latency=40
    OutputRate=22050Hz
    Channels=16
    MusicVolume=160
    SoundVolume=200
    AmbientFactor=0.7

    [Galaxy.GalaxyAudioSubsystem]
    UseDirectSound=True
    UseFilter=True
    UseSurround=False
    UseStereo=True
    UseCDMusic=False
    UseDigitalMusic=True
    UseSpatial=False
    UseReverb=True
    Use3dHardware=True
    LowSoundQuality=False
    ReverseStereo=False
    Latency=40
    OutputRate=22050Hz
    EffectsChannels=16
    DopplerSpeed=9000.000000
    MusicVolume=160
    SoundVolume=192
    AmbientFactor=0.700000

    It works. Thievery had UseDirectSound=False so I made it the same... still didn't work.

    ... and in any case I don't think it uses the Galaxy settings anyway.

  14. #14
    Backup unrealtournament.ini
    rename thaux.ini to unrealtournament.ini
    run UT.

    hope it works

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2010
    Location
    My headphones
    Posts
    637
    Quote Originally Posted by beast View Post
    Find your settings ini file (path-to-unreal/system/thaux.ini) and set UseDirectSound=True to False.
    uh, actually the sound WORKS for him, why should he change any sound settings.

    I had absolutely the same problem with my GF 8800GT under Win 7 x64, only method what getty had suggested, had fixed my black screen issue.

  16. #16
    Confusing isn't it. Well, Nudek I suggest you use Edy's fix and meet us online.

  17. #17
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks guys but same problem.

  18. #18
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Wohooo hey guys good news. Changing to OpenGL with the latest dll works!

    Now.... what else do I need to know? do I need the Thievery Mutator for UT as well so I am not at a disadvantage?

    Also, any major tips for playing, setting up my controls, anything else?

  19. #19
    Member Shug's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Play Hard. Go Pro.™
    Posts
    3,294
    The Thievery mutator for UT was shown around before Thievery's full release to show people how the light gem system would work, so it's not that useful unless you'd like to run a UT deathmatch server where players go invisible in shadows.

    Try not to have commands bound all over the keyboard that you'll need in a hurry, such as health potions. Bandit has saved a few good tutorials for more advanced settings by Omega at http://bcgc.ovh.org/tutorials/index.htm as well.

    Run through the major maps like Grange, Skeltstonhead, Gerome, Nostalgia, Asylum and Flats in singleplayer so you have a rough idea of where things are before playing then in multiplayer.

    Our server should have a bunch of players joining in around half an hour, usually
    Nightmaster,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "until the cat is skinned"

  20. #20
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Well that was sorta fun.... thanks to all those who helped, and F-you to those that didn't and gave me shit.

    In the end, the Thaux.exe crashed.

    I'll try again next time.

  21. #21
    Member Shug's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Play Hard. Go Pro.™
    Posts
    3,294
    Thievery does crash a bit, just come straight back in.

    Also: you should try creating some loadouts in singleplayer, spawn as a thief or a guard, select the weapons / items you like and then right click on a loadout slot to save it there. That way you can quickly select a loadout to use when you're in multiplayer games.
    Last edited by Shug; 21st Nov 2010 at 04:32 PM.
    Nightmaster,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "until the cat is skinned"

  22. #22
    Member beast's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    typhoon 24 feat.
    Posts
    1,341
    Quote Originally Posted by NeuroFunkeR View Post
    uh, actually the sound WORKS for him, why should he change any sound settings.
    Because it's a common problem and this solution is known to work?

    deserve victory

  23. #23
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Glad you got it sorted. From memory, ignore the people giving you abuse, you'll be schooling them in a few weeks.
    ~TuF~

  24. #24
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Might be a stupid question, but what is a Loadout?

  25. #25
    Member FixXxeR's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK, Manchester
    Posts
    4,055
    mmm, play a few single player rounds first I think. Then you'll know. Did you play any of the Thief series?
    -TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
    - Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
    - #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
    -YT

  26. #26
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    I'm not really into single player. I'll just wing it until I figure it all out then.

  27. #27
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    when you start the game, or die and respawn, you get the chance to buy equipment, after a few games you will proberbly find yourself buying the same equipment, so you can save the equipment you want as a loadout, so you buy the loadout instead of going through all the items 1 at a time. you have 4 loadouts you can same equipment too, you buy and change loadouts using the V key just before you spawn, the same as you buy equipment.
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  28. #28
    New Member Nudek's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thank you Keg! That is the sort of useful info that makes it easy to get into it.

    Unlike the idiots who gave me shit when I was in my first game with no idea. Obviously not keen to attract new players.

  29. #29
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    lol, some people asume everyone knows what they know. one thing i forgot to add is there is the odd map (Th-Airship for one) where the starting equipment changes, or bandits ghosting server where prices and equipment is allways different to the standard game, this will mess up your loadouts as you may be trying to buy stuff that is no longer there. atm krondor server also has a slightly altered guard equipment to the current offical and is possible to change, it will take a little while for you to remember all the different settings on different servers and its possible they might change with a possilbe future patch, just check now and then if you use loadouts as currently its easy to mess up.
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  30. #30
    Member FixXxeR's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK, Manchester
    Posts
    4,055
    If your stewing over someone throwing terd at you in your first game then you mustn't play on the internet alot. Water off a ducks back mate.
    -TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
    - Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
    - #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
    -YT

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Heres a box with a light and a player start
    By Schleicher in forum Alien Swarm Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd Aug 2010, 08:00 AM
  2. Are You Ready?
    By Biohazard in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 30th Nov 2007, 02:41 PM
  3. Player start location bug
    By Killing in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th Jun 2004, 07:12 PM
  4. Ready for take off....
    By Brody in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2004, 11:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •