Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 49

Thread: Thievery 1.7 released!

  1. #1
    Project Lead Dalai's Avatar
    Registered
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,369

    Thievery 1.7 released!

    Here it is! I recommend a clean install of UT, or at the least, remove your Thievery ini files as various defaults have changed.

    http://www.thieveryut.com/17/

    There will be bugs to shake out, so let me know what you find. Enjoy!

  2. #2
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    yay
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  3. #3
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Elsewhere.
    Posts
    678
    Here's the Thievery 10th Anniversary UT Folder cleaner post for those wanting a clean UT folder without reinstalling the game:
    http://forums.blackcatgames.com/show...8&postcount=36

    Haven't tried the game yet but the website really makes it look like a great update so well done on the release!

    Same thief model as tut10/NB!

    Chief
    [E.D.G] "Eaves Droppers Guild - we're on the edge."

    All New Thievery-O's!

  4. #4
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    love the spider claw, works better then i thought it would, will create soooo many more hiding places, overall the mod's looking much more updated, like the updated flame too, actually looks real, no autopick on lockpicks is gona take some time to get used to.
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  5. #5
    Thanks a lot for the new Version, Dalai and BC Team.

    I ve already set up two Gameservers, Folks.

    Enjoy it
    A real huge Man will neither stamp on a Worm, nor crawl for an Emperor

    Thievery Customs Centre
    Vietcong Customs Centre

  6. #6
    Member Antero90's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Unreal Editor 2
    Posts
    1,463
    Lord Antero approves this.

    Edit:One anoying bug I found. Launching map from the editor causes the editor sidebar to show up so the game screen get's out of the place.
    Last edited by Antero90; 25th Dec 2013 at 05:39 PM.
    Feel the power of the

  7. #7
    Member Shug's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Play Hard. Go Pro.™
    Posts
    3,294
    Merry Christmas indeed
    Nightmaster,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "until the cat is skinned"

  8. #8
    Hook related:
    On DE and Nostalgia maps you can hook yourself to the sky.
    Using the hook in vents (ex Aquatone) will get you stuck.

  9. #9
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    yup, and are the powder traps for guards supposed to be triggered by AI? they leave bloody footprints everywhere ;(
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  10. #10
    Member beast's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    typhoon 24 feat.
    Posts
    1,341
    This is amazing
    deserve victory

  11. #11
    Member Rodent's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Fighting to survive in a war with the darkest power...
    Posts
    539
    My excitement is palpable.. this looks incredible!
    Nightwarden,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "Earth dons the red; calls the maggots."

  12. #12
    Member Przemek557's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Poland>Tychy
    Posts
    142
    Wow, I'm surprised. This is far more than what I was expecting. some new features, graphics and sounds improvements, the new loadout system... Time will show how the changes affect balance, and if players are going to use things like spider hook or if it even becomes an essential part of every thief equipment.

    As for bugs I don't know if this is the right place to post them, but here is something I found. Sometimes if the item name is too long, its part may be displayed on the other side of the screen while using inventory wheel. In my case it happens to "[MiddleMouse]Catfall potion", "potion" is displayed on left side of the screen while the rest is in proper place.

    The hook at first seemed to be much overpowered, but then I realized that soon players won't be fooled with it that easy, and it will get useful mostly against bots. Ah, and the game hung twice while playing. Once while creating loadout and the second time when bot tried to lit an extinguished torch - this happens often on Asylum near crematory.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Przemek557 View Post
    Once while creating loadout and the second time when bot tried to lit an extinguished torch - this happens often on Asylum near crematory.
    Thats some old known bug that got fixed in the FVB versions of Asylum.

  14. #14
    Member Przemek557's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Poland>Tychy
    Posts
    142
    Yes, the FVB01 fixed it, but it still happens on maps like Theatre, and some others. The crash happens when the torch is not reachable by an AI - the AI enters an infinite loop trying to relit it over and over. The loadout freeze happened when I bought mace, and then hovered mouse over the sword in shop, however it didn't happen again when I tried to recreate it. Perhaps it wasn't the case of loadouts, maybe meantime something else caused it.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Restoring balance.
    Posts
    549
    Thank you for the release, I'm just dying for a game now, to see how this plays out... LOL

  16. #16
    Member
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Restoring balance.
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by Brody View Post
    Thanks a lot for the new Version, Dalai and BC Team.

    I ve already set up two Gameservers, Folks.

    Enjoy it
    "rejected by server" :/

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by industrialism View Post
    "rejected by server" :/
    Hm?

    Heya Matey,

    try again, plz. What i just discovered, i have anyhow blocked my Servers broadcasting.

    I assume it happened, as i was simultaneously working on Mirror Servers and started them for just see, if the Console would give me Failure Notifications.

    Due i forgot to switch the Ports, i crossed them with the running ones, which maybe the Reason for the Servers stop working and/or block...

    Sorry, try again, and let me know, aye?

    Maybe a PM, to keep this Thread to its supposed Intention.
    A real huge Man will neither stamp on a Worm, nor crawl for an Emperor

    Thievery Customs Centre
    Vietcong Customs Centre

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Restoring balance.
    Posts
    549

    sorry bit big :X

    Last edited by industrialism; 26th Dec 2013 at 02:55 PM. Reason: To big to link

  19. #19
    Member Antero90's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Unreal Editor 2
    Posts
    1,463
    A question, while testing my map I noticed that the DX10 renderer does not quite make transparent textures transparent. The updated OpenGl renderer does not have this issue but I am wondering which behaviour is the right one.
    Feel the power of the

  20. #20
    Member
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Restoring balance.
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by Antero90 View Post
    A question, while testing my map I noticed that the DX10 renderer does not quite make transparent textures transparent. The updated OpenGl renderer does not have this issue but I am wondering which behaviour is the right one.
    Process of elimination,

    Look through the maps in 1.7 for instances where textures are used for transparency, with those mentioned renderers (it either is or isn't the renderer), if they appear fine, it may be in your map how you've created this, so reference what you've done against the maps in UED and how transparency is created.

    For you, fully working real time transparent.

  21. #21
    Member Bandit's Avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2003
    Location
    2059' E 5334' N
    Posts
    508
    This is not transparent texture, Indy. It's an option in layer which is always working well.

    Here are transparent textures. TUT 1.7 + D3D9


    My D3D9 settings:
    Code:
    [D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice]
    ZRangeHack=False
    NoAATiles=False
    NumAASamples=2
    UseAA=True
    RequestHighResolutionZ=True
    UseSoftwareVertexProcessing=False
    UsePureDevice=False
    UseTripleBuffering=False
    MaskedTextureHack=True
    SmoothMaskedTextures=False
    SceneNodeHack=True
    FrameRateLimit=0
    SwapInterval=1
    UseFragmentProgram=True
    UseVertexProgram=False
    TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
    DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
    CacheStaticMaps=False
    UseTexPool=True
    UseTexIdPool=True
    UseSSE2=True
    UseSSE=True
    BufferTileQuads=True
    BufferClippedActorTris=True
    SinglePassDetail=True
    SinglePassFog=False
    ColorizeDetailTextures=False
    DetailClipping=False
    UseDetailAlpha=True
    DetailMax=2
    RefreshRate=0
    MaxTMUnits=0
    NoFiltering=False
    MaxAnisotropy=4
    Use565Textures=False
    Use16BitTextures=False
    UseS3TC=False
    UseAlphaPalette=True
    UseTrilinear=True
    UsePrecache=False
    UsePalette=True
    UseMultiTexture=True
    MaxLogTextureSize=8
    MinLogTextureSize=0
    MaxLogVOverU=8
    MaxLogUOverV=8
    OneXBlending=False
    GammaCorrectScreenshots=True
    GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
    GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
    GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
    GammaOffset=0.000000
    LODBias=0.000000
    DetailTextures=False
    DescFlags=0
    Description=
    HighDetailActors=True
    Coronas=True
    ShinySurfaces=True
    VolumetricLighting=True
    I don't know how it comes with D3D10 because of my system limitation so I cannot use it.

  22. #22
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Bandit View Post
    I don't know how it comes with D3D10 because of my system limitation so I cannot use it.

    thx for the settings bandit, i copied them to my D3D10 settings but they didn't work, will have to have a play with them and report back if i get it sorted, but atm some textures which are transparent with D3D9 are not with D3D10, not all i should point out, just certain textures it appears atm.


    who's idea was it to change the weapon number system bringing everything down 1 number on the keyboard, that's soooo going to get me killed, is there a command to pick a specific weapon type so i can change it back? i know in 2k4 i can use getweapon command to pick it, but that doesn't appear to work

    -minor bug, when naming new load outs, delete key will delete the last 2 letters/numbers, not just 1
    -for some reason on aqua - one of the lights you can turn off is a flame?

    edit -

    - Telescope has a bug, when you use it normally (ie - not under a door), then you get locked in telescope vision, only way out is to change weapon.

    - Thought on the telescope, would prob prefer it if pix and scope had same controls, press and hold to see under door, let go when finished, rather then clicking twice, on and off

    - Spider Claw is somewhat overpowered when taking out AI, makes mario'ing rather easy, took out 6 AI on nostalgia with ease and takes very little effort. Let AI see you, run around a corner, zip up, wait and drop.. on the other hand can only be used on maps with a high ceiling.. normal height and you get bumped into.

    - Claw is kinda bugged in water, you can use it, but it does not work at first, but the moment you get out of water, you instantly fly up to the roof

    - Also dislike the fact you can use arrows while using claw..rather not have an invisible dmer on a large ceiling that AI cannot locate thieves in.. (and humans could well have a difficult job finding them too in large dark rooms)

    - BlackJack - hud shows the degree the blackjack spins, it doesn't change at all in darkness or light.
    Last edited by Keggie; 31st Dec 2013 at 05:26 PM.
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  23. #23
    Member Przemek557's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Poland>Tychy
    Posts
    142
    I upgraded my server to 1.7, as well as the stats - bugs planted, pockets picked meters of tripwire deployed and more. You can find it at 91.150.148.9:7777

    If I were to add something to what Keggie pointed out:
    - the projectiles are by default frobbable, what causes the interact icon diplay for a split of a second after you shot an arrow
    - the crossbow bug is still present

  24. #24
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2010
    Location
    My headphones
    Posts
    638
    yeah the claw is pretty cool, now the guards, have to tag every dark corner over their heads.
    Also a bug found:
    -start as thief at Th-Grange with the claw, run in front of main doors from the house, jump around under the roof using the claw, once you will get hooked at one of them it will trow you up in to the air pretty high. Didnt always happen but still possible to do.

  25. #25
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Przemek557 View Post
    If I were to add something to what Keggie pointed out:
    - the projectiles are by default frobbable, what causes the interact icon diplay for a split of a second after you shot an arrow
    - the crossbow bug is still present
    that was in 1.6 also, I've spent quite a long time trying to frob my own bolts and arrows, I've also spent a long time trying to catch other peoples bolts and arrows...
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  26. #26
    Member Antero90's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Unreal Editor 2
    Posts
    1,463
    About the random torch extinguisher.
    I happen to have an AI spawning right next to a torch, when the map starts with the torch off he goes into search mode but for some odd reason does not relight the torch. He only relights the torch once he goes out of alert mode, probably intended behavoiur, but just wanted to point this out in case if it's a bug.

    So far there seemd to be no issues when loading maps done in 1.6.
    Feel the power of the

  27. #27
    Member Przemek557's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Poland>Tychy
    Posts
    142
    Some new bugs found today:
    -guards cannot frob AIs front, bots can be frobbed only from behind.
    -"The key doesn't fit" or some other wrong message is displayed when you stop picking a lock.
    -Tripwires aren't removed on guards respawn and can be dropped on death and picked up later - don't know if it is intentional, however it can lead to many tripwires set (today at Bourgeois's attic there were about 10 of them)
    edit:
    -lanterns in the main hall at Gerome have flame texture

  28. #28
    Member FixXxeR's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK, Manchester
    Posts
    4,057
    The shop now instead of gold has diamonds and gold.

    Is it right that the diamonds do not equate to a certain amount of gold? (like 1d=100g)

    If you buy a load of quiet gear like catfalls, moss and water arrows you end up with diamonds you can't spend.
    -TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
    - Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
    - #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
    -YT

  29. #29
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    Quote Originally Posted by FixXxeR View Post
    The shop now instead of gold has diamonds and gold.

    Is it right that the diamonds do not equate to a certain amount of gold? (like 1d=100g)

    If you buy a load of quiet gear like catfalls, moss and water arrows you end up with diamonds you can't spend.
    yes, diamonds do not equal gold, the diamonds are there to limit the amount of... (lets call it "special Equipment") equipment you can have.

    so you can only have 3 items of Flash/Invis/Speed/Crack/SensingThingie, so in my first loadout I have 2 Invis and 1 Flash and then I can no longer pick any other "special equipment". You don't have to use the diamonds, its just a method of restricting things.
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  30. #30
    Member Przemek557's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Poland>Tychy
    Posts
    142
    Sometimes (actually quite often), you can get stuck when getting of rope. Same can happen when you pick it up while you hang on it. It happened to me and some other players for a few times, haven't found yet what causes it, and how to reproduce it.
    Also, civilians, spiders etc highlight when you stand behind them as a thief (with "Pickpocket" label).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Thievery 1.5 released!
    By Dalai in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 1st Aug 2005, 12:59 AM
  2. Thievery To Be Released?!
    By SpamSlayer in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2004, 07:38 PM
  3. Th-ItemsMutator ~ By Immortius Released. (New Thievery Weps)
    By [E.D.G]Chief in forum Thievery Mapping
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2004, 03:26 PM
  4. Thievery Costumes at the Thievery shop?
    By TemperMental in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2003, 10:45 AM
  5. Thievery: A timed released program?
    By KewlAzMe in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2003, 03:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •