Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 61

Thread: Help! Help! UT4MOD isn't working!

  1. #31
    New Member
    Registered
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2
    What's BeOS? I meant the mod list in UT2K4.

  2. #32
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    Bit odd its in the modlist but the exe does nothing. Do the usual stuff make sure your using new drivers, latest patch of swarm and unreal, and delete and reinstall swarm. if all else fails, you need to buy more harddrives
    ..it's safer here.

  3. #33
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    It would be helpful to know if there are any errors listed in the UT2004.log after trying to run the mod.

  4. #34
    New Member Nok's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Carth
    You extract the zip to AlienSwarm inside the UT2004 directory, and then double click on UT2004\AlienSwarm\AlienSwarm.exe. That executable will launch UT2004 with the relevant mod options so you don't have to start vanilla UT2004 first and choose it from the community menu. If it doesn't work, the chances are you installed it wrong.
    Thats what I did, after it finished downloading it saved it to WinRAR, so I extracted it to the UT2K4 folder, clicked on its icon and it gave me this error message:

    "UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-03-03_02.42]

    OS: Windows 2000 5.0 (Build: 2195)
    CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1532 MHz with 511MB RAM
    Video: RADEON 9800 PRO (6553)

    Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2'

    History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine"

  5. #35
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    Quote Originally Posted by Nok
    Thats what I did, after it finished downloading it saved it to WinRAR, so I extracted it to the UT2K4 folder, clicked on its icon and it gave me this error message...
    As is already stated in this thread (and the alienswarm readme, incidently), you need to have a PATCHED version of UT2004. At least version 3270.

  6. #36
    New Member Nok's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by immortius
    As is already stated in this thread (and the alienswarm readme, incidently), you need to have a PATCHED version of UT2004. At least version 3270.
    Ok I updated it to 3355, but its still giving me an error, not the same from before:

    UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-02-15_17.02]

    OS: Windows 2000 5.0 (Build: 2195)
    CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1532 MHz with 511MB RAM
    Video: RADEON 9800 PRO (6553)

    Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file for package 'AlienTech'

    History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free

  7. #37
    New Member Nok's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    19
    I updated from the first version to 3355, should I have gotten 3270 before 3355?

  8. #38
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    after patching you'll need to remove alienswarm and then re-install it.

    I'm also assuming you're installing it to Ut2004/Alienswarm.

  9. #39

    Unhappy oh for f*** sake lads lookie here

    UT2004 Build UT2004_Patch_[2004-07-27_14.28]

    OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
    CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1501 MHz with 1023MB RAM
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 (8198)

    General protection fault!

    History: UObject:rocessEvent <- (AoMarine AlienSwarmStartup.AoMarine1, Function AoPrototype.AoMarine.PostNetBeginPlay) <- BeginPlay <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free

    general protection fault?? whats this??

  10. #40
    Member Bucchus's Avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Visitor centre
    Posts
    1,517
    Hmm, did you try to use the server browser while in game?
    My cats are black! How about yours?

  11. #41
    Member Phantaloz's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Not France
    Posts
    1,754
    General Protection Fault is just the normal error that UT2k4 gives when it does something wrong/it doesn't give a shit about what you want/you've done something wrong

    (For me they were the two first ones...On the old computer. Haven't got them anymore )
    The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

    Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy

  12. #42
    Member DiP's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,702
    Immortuios(or however you spell your name), Just to say. That UT4Mod's dont work because you unistalled Ut2004 Demo and installed the ful game, Because all i did was get a (cracked) version of ut2003, Then when ut2004 came out i firstly uninstalled ut2003, Deleted all the things that came with it. Restarted, And installed ut2004(DVD, This is waht i think causes it) and my UT4Mod's dont work. I just use a UT4MOD extractor. If anybody else's umod's don't work then try those things first. If it still doesn't your like me. Millions of reinstalls(or uninstalling and installing) doesnt work either. Your stuffed basicaly. As i said, I think it has something to do with buying the DVD version of it. Or if you bought a cd version, Then it was basicaly the first shipment of the game. This is what i think, It may not be true, it may be true. How to get UT4MODS working is like asking someone "Whats the speed of an unladen swallow?"
    Your order has been dispatched!

  13. #43
    Member Phantaloz's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Not France
    Posts
    1,754
    Quote Originally Posted by deathispainfull
    "Whats the speed of an unladen swallow?"
    "What is the average airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow"!
    The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

    Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy

  14. #44
    Member DiP's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,702
    Quote Originally Posted by Phantaloz
    "What is the average airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow"!
    11mph.
    Your order has been dispatched!

  15. #45
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    How wrong can you be?
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  16. #46
    Member DiP's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,702
    There is half a chance im wrong, But then again, Thats another 50% that i'm right. 50%, You can't beat that can ya!?
    Your order has been dispatched!

  17. #47
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by deathispainfull
    There is half a chance im wrong, But then again, Thats another 50% that i'm right. 50%, You can't beat that can ya!?
    Actually I can. 51% would beat it, but I could just be 100% correct instead
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  18. #48
    Super Moderator BiG_D's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Inches above the ban button
    Posts
    4,064
    And, in fact, the probability in this case is not 50/50
    To figure it out, we first need to know how many possible answers there are. Let's assume the answer must be a whole number, and it can't be negative. That leaves, let's see... infinity. So, the chance that you're right is 1/infinity

    Not odds I would play...
    It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.

  19. #49
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    I'm willing to bet he's correct

    The answer was in my sig awhile back.

  20. #50
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    I'll one-up you. I'm willing to bet that no one cares.

  21. #51
    What are we talking about....??
    UT2004 Build UT2004_Patch_[2004-05-10_17.18]

    OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
    CPU: GenuineIntel Unknown processor @ 3004 MHz with 511MB RAM
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 XT (8185)

    General protection fault!

    History: UObject:rocessEvent <- (AoMarine AlienSwarmStartup.AoMarine1, Function AoPrototype.AoMarine.PostNetBeginPlay) <- BeginPlay <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
    I only have this when i tried alienswarm from the mods page in ut...

  22. #52
    Super Moderator BiG_D's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Inches above the ban button
    Posts
    4,064
    Install the newest ut patch, delete your swarm folder, and install it again.
    It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.

  23. #53
    New Member
    Registered
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1
    Edit: Nevermind. I reinstalled the latest patch, reinstalled Swarm, and it worked. Weird.


    I've just downloaded the mod and I get an error...
    And it took me ages to download as well!



    General protection fault!

    History: UObject:rocessEvent <- (AoMarine AlienSwarmStartup.AoMarine1, Function AoPrototype.AoMarine.PostNetBeginPlay) <- BeginPlay <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
    Last edited by runedot; 1st Jun 2006 at 03:34 AM.

  24. #54
    New Member
    Registered
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Alin swarm cant launch it

    Im having trouble with alien swarm because i save it to ut2004 and then i dont know what to do

  25. #55
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13
    update UT2004 to newest patch,download Alien Swarm,extract map into the UT2004 map (if no need to extract from rar then just move the map into ur UT2004 map).

    make a new short cut,its in the AlienSwarm map.

  26. #56
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Maybe he's asking how to open the map in-game?

    Tilde (~) console, type "map <mapname>" without quotes, right?

  27. #57
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13
    "cant launch it" is the head line so think he means how to start Alien Swarm,but that might be another way of reading it. =)

  28. #58
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Where I come from (Slashdot), we don't RTFA.

  29. #59
    New Member
    Registered
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Nok View Post
    Ok I updated it to 3355, but its still giving me an error, not the same from before:

    UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-02-15_17.02]

    OS: Windows 2000 5.0 (Build: 2195)
    CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1532 MHz with 511MB RAM
    Video: RADEON 9800 PRO (6553)

    Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file for package 'AlienTech'

    History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
    hi, ye i got this error too so i deleted alien swarm and then reinstalled and didnt patch it...and it worked, i think there must be something wrong with the patch that clashes or something cos its working fine now i can create servers and join them too cept im on the wrong version to join servers lol...

  30. #60
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    If it's the exact same error, it probably means the patch wasn't applied correctly. If you unzip the contents of the patch to an empty directory, you can put everything in the appropriate folders manually.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •