Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Server Browsing Crashing (Randomly)

  1. #1
    Member MjrHuRTz's Avatar
    Registered
    May 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    576

    Server Browsing Crashing (Randomly)

    For some odd reason, my ASw server browser has recently decided to kill itself. When I go to the internet tab, after a few seconds it dumps to the desktop with:

    UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-02-15_17.02]

    OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
    CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 2155 MHz with 1023MB RAM
    Video: HIGHTECH EXCALIBUR RADEON 9600 (6517)

    General protection fault!

    History: FTcpLink::ReceivePendingData <- FTcpLink::Poll <- AMasterServerClient::Poll <- AMasterServerLink::execPoll <- UObject::ProcessEvent <- (MasterServerClient AlienSwarmStartup.MasterServerClient, Function IpDrv.MasterServerLink.Tick) <- AActor::Tick <- TickAllActors <- ULevel::Tick <- (NetMode=0) <- TickLevel <- UGameEngine::Tick <- Level Asbestos <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 676F4C57 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free


    P.s
    ph34r t3h 1023mb of ram.

    Edit: Its now (randomly) decided to fix itself.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Where do you think?
    Posts
    508
    That's what happens if you refresh while in a game.
    Behind You Durandal Traikan in game.

  3. #3
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    Server browser in ASw has always been buggy.
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  4. #4
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    I only use the favourites.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  5. #5
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    So do I. Recently the only working server left in my favourites is THN though, all the others were changing IPs or have disappeared completely now.
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  6. #6
    Member MjrHuRTz's Avatar
    Registered
    May 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    576
    Well I wasnt in game, I had just loaded asw normally.

  7. #7
    Member Phantaloz's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Not France
    Posts
    1,754
    My game crashes like that all the time, General Protection Fault

    I thought it was only for those with a weak computer
    The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

    Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy

  8. #8
    New Member Michael_Jackson's Avatar
    Registered
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Michael crater 25.1N 0.2E (Moon)
    Posts
    15
    Started happening recently to me too, right after 3 Multiplay uk servers disappeared; at least I can often bypass the problem by selecting first favourites or other tab and then the internet tab (hope this helps you too)

  9. #9
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Same prob. 'malloc'! Pointers be damned!

  10. #10
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    *shudders at the thoughts of ever using malloc again*
    ..it's safer here.

  11. #11
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    I think i may have a hint as to what the problem is:

    http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Cr...rs_And_Objects

    When an object references an actor and the level changes, the actor may not be set to none, when you reference it afterwards, it will point to invalid memory.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  12. #12
    Member DarkLord75's Avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Peace on Earth!
    Posts
    1,562
    Wrong my friend. The error happens to me all the time IF and only IF i jump from "favorites" to "internet" tabs. What you must do is this: favorites/lan/internet. If you dont hop from favorites to internet tabs, then no GPF error will happen. I thought only i had this problem...
    "Spera: Ooh! Ooh! You hear that? A bird singing out amidst our desolation. It's a miracle. The miracle called supper."

    --Lucifer #28, Breaking & Entering

  13. #13
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    Riiight. I've never clicked the LAN tab, and I always swap from Favourites to Internet. No crashes.
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  14. #14
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    Sometimes swapping from the Chat tab to the Internet tab or even just back to the game crashes it.


    I need a real IRC program

  15. #15
    Member DarkLord75's Avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Peace on Earth!
    Posts
    1,562
    Well, i guess then your lucky, Carth, cause it happens to me all the time...
    "Spera: Ooh! Ooh! You hear that? A bird singing out amidst our desolation. It's a miracle. The miracle called supper."

    --Lucifer #28, Breaking & Entering

  16. #16
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    It's not luck, it's skill.
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  17. #17
    Member DarkLord75's Avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Peace on Earth!
    Posts
    1,562
    Nooby skill!
    "Spera: Ooh! Ooh! You hear that? A bird singing out amidst our desolation. It's a miracle. The miracle called supper."

    --Lucifer #28, Breaking & Entering

  18. #18
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    *checks if his server browser crashes*

    Nope.
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  19. #19
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    I checked the code for any actor variables. All the TCP links are neatly spawned in the entry level, so the object-referencing-nonexisting-actor thing is probably not the issue here.

    I'm not going to bother inspect the code any further
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  20. #20
    Project Lead Dalai's Avatar
    Registered
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,369
    Hmm, I can't reproduce this crash. Which patch version are you guys running?

  21. #21
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    I've got UT2004 patched to 3355 and Alien Swarm 1.2

    It seems to happen mostly during online games. You click the Internet tab on the browser and hit the refresh button on the GUI to get it to happen. Pressing F5 to refresh the browser doesn't crash it, I think, but it also doesn't do a very good job of refreshing the browser.

  22. #22
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalai
    Hmm, I can't reproduce this crash. Which patch version are you guys running?
    If you want to crash the server browser it's easy. Join an online game and then click escape and go to the server browser, and refresh it. You have a 95% chance of a GPF
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  23. #23
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    The server browsing code is largely native, chances are it is some sort of unrealscript virtual machine or interaction exception and a very trivial change in the code will prevent it. I've seen these sort of bugs that seem to be with Unreal itself rather than the script you've written before, though they're very rare.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •