Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 41

Thread: Thievery Map Editor

  1. #1
    Member sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2005
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    824

    Thievery Map Editor

    i was trying to get in the Thievery map editor to see if i can make a map, but i had a critical error. The error said:

    General Protection Fault!

    Histroy: UEditorEngine::Init <- Init Engine

    Anyone here have a clue what this is about. What does the Init mean? I've also figured why my connection is screwed up. It's the Router, i don't know whats wrong with it but can anyone give me any advice on my router plz tell me.
    My Profile Sux.

  2. #2
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    It looks like the editor failed to start. I think that's what the "Init" means. For the router, maybe try restoring it's settings to the basic config.

  3. #3
    Member sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2005
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    824
    it's on the basic config but still, i think it broken or something like that
    My Profile Sux.

  4. #4
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Shadows
    Posts
    2,808
    If you want people to help you, you're going to have to provide a lot more details about your setup. "It's broken! Fix it!" will get your thread mostly ignored.

    Make a seperate thread in the Tech Help forum about the router, following that same advice.
    Nearly all men can stand adversity -- if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BiG_D's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Inches above the ban button
    Posts
    4,064
    Did you install the 451 patch for UT? If you did, no UED for you.
    It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.

  6. #6
    Member sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2005
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    824
    Quote Originally Posted by WildBill
    Make a seperate thread in the Tech Help forum about the router, following that same advice.
    This IS the Technical Help place, and your saying put the thread into the Tech Help forum.
    My Profile Sux.

  7. #7
    Member sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2005
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    824
    Quote Originally Posted by BiG_D
    Did you install the 451 patch for UT? If you did, no UED for you.
    Yes, i did install the 451 patch but what does the patch do to effect the UED?
    My Profile Sux.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator BiG_D's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Inches above the ban button
    Posts
    4,064
    It breaks it.
    It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    510
    451 is teh breaker. you will need to reinstall UT to use it.

  10. #10
    Member Radamanthus's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Playing with his blades.
    Posts
    3,606
    451 if goblin food.

    Even if you do reinstall though, the UED goblin hates anything to do with sky or boxes, or meshes, or anything involving UT for that matter. He'll eat your children, and slowly devour your body piece by piece with no utensils but a dull spoon.

    Good luck!
    "Just off the border of your waking mind there lies another time, where darkness and light are one. As you tread the halls of sanity, you feel so glad to be unable to go beyond. I have a message from another time."

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    You know that voice in your head? Well...
    Posts
    1,023
    Unless you are running a server, you only need the 436 patch.

    451 is security fixes. For whatever reason, UED breaks when the patch installs (known issue they are working on)

    If you want use UED and run a server, recommend two installs.
    Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
    Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.

  12. #12
    Member Shug's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Play Hard. Go Pro.™
    Posts
    3,294
    451b allegeldy fixed the UED problem, but a pile of people reported that it's still broken.
    Nightmaster,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "until the cat is skinned"

  13. #13
    Banned
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    510
    Quote Originally Posted by necros
    451b does not fix unreal ed, however if you patch TO 451b from 436, it does not break.

    if you have ever been to 451 normal, unreal ed is permenantly screwed
    Looks like you have to go directly from 436 to 451b and skip the original 451

  14. #14
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    You know that voice in your head? Well...
    Posts
    1,023
    That may work, but would check UED functionality before making the switch to 451b.
    Quote Originally Posted by UTPG.org
    There are reports that have been confirmed that UnrealEd still doesn't function after putting 451b on. The fix would be to make a backup copy of UT (just copy your UT folder) and then use that 436 for UnrealEd and the 451 for play/servers. We will be digging further into the UnrealEd bugs and try to get a fix out for it.
    Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
    Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.

  15. #15
    Member Radamanthus's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Playing with his blades.
    Posts
    3,606
    451b has screwy errors in Unrealed. For example, the Ued goblin eats your memory and CPU usage if you look at something incorrectly (at a bad angle). You have to get the task manager to beat it with a stick to get him to leave.
    "Just off the border of your waking mind there lies another time, where darkness and light are one. As you tread the halls of sanity, you feel so glad to be unable to go beyond. I have a message from another time."

  16. #16
    Member sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2005
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    824
    i reinstalled UT, then reinstalled Thievery. I just figured out that making maps is confusing if your new to it
    My Profile Sux.

  17. #17
    Member necros's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
    Posts
    1,412
    Unreal is very confusing to a newb mapper

    Unreal is extremely confusing to a QE mapper

    You should google around for Unreal Mapping TUTs
    As a note, if you have ever mapped for a Quake Engine, or Source, don't try to apply your knowldge of that into unreal, because you will fail. Compared to those, unreal is completely backwards and twisted. Instead of building the world up from the "void", you have to create a huge block of "everythingness" and subtract what you want to do from the everythingness, also you do this using CSG, rather than simply directly placing brushes as BSP, and have to use staticmeshes to add detail, rather than building that out of BSP also.

    If you are serious about mapping, http://www.map-center.com/ may aid you in your endeavours.
    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  18. #18
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    Yeah I found the HL editor easy to map in - so nice to make maps in with little knowledge. UT editor is hard and I couldn't be bothered.

  19. #19
    Member immortius's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NX128EZ061 - The main planet
    Posts
    3,117
    I actually found UEd easier than any of the quake engine editors. I just find it more obvious to carve a space for a room than build 6 walls. *shrug*

  20. #20
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    I've got a fix for the router problem: buy a new one.

  21. #21
    Member Radamanthus's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Playing with his blades.
    Posts
    3,606
    Yes, prepare to be completely dazed at the terror that is UED. Unfortunately, if you're asking for help on this board, yo'ure off to a horrid start. I mean, there IS a public Wiki link at the top of every page...
    "Just off the border of your waking mind there lies another time, where darkness and light are one. As you tread the halls of sanity, you feel so glad to be unable to go beyond. I have a message from another time."

  22. #22
    Member DiP's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,702
    Quote Originally Posted by sky-fiwa-
    What does the Init mean?
    Im sure it means Initialise(as in start)
    Meaning that it cant actaully open UED.
    Your order has been dispatched!

  23. #23
    Member Master-Builder's Avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Stuck in a crate factory!
    Posts
    2,870
    Quote Originally Posted by Convict
    Yeah I found the HL editor easy to map in - so nice to make maps in with little knowledge. UT editor is hard and I couldn't be bothered.
    Think you might have switched HL and UT around there.

  24. #24
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    UnrealEd is really confusing when you 1st use it. I had no idea how to move actors around. But once i understood the basics of moving things around it all became clear =)
    The best thing about unrealed is that its just 1 app. no need to worry about your lighting and bsp programs or whatever
    ..it's safer here.

  25. #25
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    Quote Originally Posted by Master-Builder
    Think you might have switched HL and UT around there.
    Nope I found HL editor easy to work with (after a few basics were shown by a friend) but I don't understand the UT editor.

  26. #26
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    Personally, I think the Starcraft editor is easiest editor to use.

  27. #27
    Member DiP's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,702
    No way! The Warcraft 3 Reign of Chaos Editor is the best!
    Your order has been dispatched!

  28. #28
    Member Gaelwyhn's Avatar
    Registered
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United States, North America
    Posts
    36
    But will it help make maps for Thievery, and is it free?
    Loot - That's what I want and that's what I'll have. I'll get what I want because I know how to get it.

  29. #29
    Member Keggie's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Location
    following your foot falls...
    Posts
    2,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaelwyhn View Post
    But will it help make maps for Thievery, and is it free?
    if you have thievery you have the thievery editor, its in start menu next to the thievery button, "thievery unrealed" with the green button, will it help? well you cannot map without it so yeah i guess it does.

    http://www.thieveryut.com/Mapping/index.htm for thievery mapping related tutorials.

    http://www.birrabrothers.com/drac/index.php?dsps=3 for general unreal mapping tutorials
    [E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
    Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
    AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
    Videos - YouTube

  30. #30
    Member Gaelwyhn's Avatar
    Registered
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United States, North America
    Posts
    36
    Okay. Thanks for the links. But my problem is that I got the game in a zip folder, and didn't install it. I just extracted the folder. Where can I get it to install it?
    Loot - That's what I want and that's what I'll have. I'll get what I want because I know how to get it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Thief III Editor RELEASED !!!
    By Thief13x in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2005, 01:52 AM
  2. Thief 3 editor is IN WORKS!!)
    By Antero90 in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 29th Oct 2004, 06:12 PM
  3. WAY better face editor.
    By CrouchingDork in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2004, 08:30 PM
  4. Thief III to be packaged with Editor?
    By Buho in forum Nightblade Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2003, 08:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •