Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 35

Thread: WinXP 64 Play-by-Play

  1. #1

    WinXP 64 Play-by-Play

    Ok, I took the plunge!

    Im XP64ing it!

    Running AMD Athlon64 3500+ with Asus A8N-E Mobo.

    So far, windows installed without a problem. I'm installing my hardware drivers now. Windows64 didn't seem to like my 32 bit audio drivers, but I got the 64bit drivers from the Asus website and we're cookin with gas now.

    All my hardware is found.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  2. #2
    Ok i've installed Opera & Winrar.. both working fine.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  3. #3
    Is there any advantage to running windows 64?
    winxp64 only comes in professional?
    Let us know if there are any problems running games on it.

  4. #4
    Member necros's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
    Posts
    1,412
    Other than it can reference more than 2GB memory... i don't think so...
    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  5. #5
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    There are some benefits: due to the WoW (Windows on Windows) layer, some calls from 32 bit apps are handled by 64 bit routines, this can sometimes yield a small performance improvement (but more often a slowdown), additionally individual 32 bit applications can all use 2 gig each.

    There are a few more exceptions, one is when you have very large amounts of video memory, say, 2 512MB cards. This is mapped twice, consuming 2 gig of address space total for video memory alone, leaving much less than 2GB for system memory in 32 bit. A single 512MB card would probably not work with 3GB memory either.

    Apart from that, the main benefit is that you can run faster 64 bit applications. Apart from a few games and a some specialist applications, the only one i know of that would see every day use is 7-zip, see http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...x2-3800_7.html for some benchmarks.

    It's the faster 64 bit applications that make 64 bit worth it. Being able to have more memory only benefits you when you need it, which, as it stands today, is not yet the case for most people.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  6. #6
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Aye. LOAD UP AUTOCAD AND DESIGN A NEW STEALTH BOMBER!

    Then you'd be using Windows 64!
    ~TuF~

  7. #7
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    My perfect stealth bomber requires exactly 0 bytes of memory
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  8. #8
    Well there are a few apps out there that are 64bit.. very few that I really care about.. but eh.. what the hell.. it seems faster.. but its also fresh without loads of memory resident shit running at the moment. It definitely doesn't seem slower.

    http://www.planetamd64.com/ is nice and helpful for this stuff.

    Got all 3 of my printers (lexmark color, epson photo, and hp laser) to work. The Epson was the only one that needed a 64 bit driver from epson's site.

    Daemon Tools X64 is out, that runs great so far. Mounted an image and read from it without problem.

    One problem I am having after I installed the 64 bit drivers for the mobo, now there is this huge delay (almost 7 minutes) between the bios bootup up until it goes to the WinXP64 loading screen. Sometimes it never gets to that screen. I think it might have something to do with the bios because they say for Win64 you should use bios 1006 .. but I willl research that more.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  9. #9
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    1006? Asus Mobo?

    If it is then I would recommend updating the BIOS, I've had problems in the past with Asus Motherboards which were resolved by doing so.
    ~TuF~

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMachine
    1006? Asus Mobo?

    If it is then I would recommend updating the BIOS, I've had problems in the past with Asus Motherboards which were resolved by doing so.
    well i actually stayed at 1005 because I heard bad stuff about 1006. But My friend said he upgraded to 1009 (latest i think) and he has no problems like this (he has same board, also on WinXP64) So I will give that a shot tonight.

    Other than that, WinXP 64 seems pretty stable. A couple of nuances... All 32 bit stuff goes into "C:\Program Files (x32)\" now.. which some of my saved preference files weren't keen on since they were pointing to the old program files. but that was taken care of easily.

    Windows XP 64 also has a different registry location for context menu addons like for WinRar's "Extract to..." didn't work at first. WinRaR added it to their latest version though.

    UltraEdit has not yet added it to their files so I just had to use a quick registry hack to add it, not a big deal.

    UltraVNC has an unannounced 64 bit version out for the main vnc server program and the video hook driver.. On their forums it says that it's buggy.. but I guess one of the users managed to rebuild it and get the dll's working properly and it is BLAZING fast now! I have DSL and my friend has Cable, so obviously mine is faster than his (higher upstream on DSL) but compared to UltraVNC runnin on my old 32 bit XP install.. the 64bit version feels like I'm sitting in front of the computer! It's amazing.. almost no lag and stable as can be. Video hook driver working great. Definitely impressed by this app. I'm connecting from work on a 32 bit machine to my home 64 bit machine without problem.

    I will be installing Antivirus and System tools next.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  11. #11
    UT and TUT work fine in DirectX mode.. OpenGL leaves you with a gray screen.. similar to what I think Radamanthus showed us one time.. or someone with video problems. I haven't tested yet with latest nvidia 64 bit drivers tho I don't think. Will do when I get home.

    Perhaps this weekend I will try the UT2004 x64 patch
    Last edited by -KewlAzMe-; 16th Feb 2006 at 09:06 AM.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  12. #12
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Encouraging results there Kewl.
    ~TuF~

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMachine
    Encouraging results there Kewl.
    Well aside from the minor nuances I've faced so far, which are all related to crappy driver support, I was expecting much worse.. i really feared TUT not working at all but it seems to work fine. And once developers get off their asses and simply recompile their code for 64 bit.. its not so bad. But initially i was expecting a fiasco like trying to move from Win98 to WinNT 3.51.. nothing would run on that OS that worked on 98.. and similar to Win98 programs to XP when it first came out.. but I'm pleasantly surprised in this case.. kinda apples to oranges I guess.

    I would like to get a benchmark program running to compare my 32 bit results to these. i haven't tried any yet..

    I found NOD32 is a good antivirus that works on 64bit. also there is Avast and some others.

    Memtest32 seems to work just fine.. ran it for about an hour (0 failure.. ill run it longer overnight tonight)

    Nero6 works fine also. Burned a CD and a DVD last night without a problem.

    People say Ut2004 x64 is 10x faster than the 32 bit version for them.. i will try that out this weekend if I have time between all my TUT playing .

    From what I read at planetamd64.com, most people have no problems running games meant for 32bit.. which is promising.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  14. #14
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Quote Originally Posted by Pestcontrol
    My perfect stealth bomber requires exactly 0 bytes of memory
    My...that is a small radar cross section. You might have a problem with payload, however.

  15. #15
    Cookin with Gas now BABY! Got that long delay boot thing resolved.. turns out it was the 6.65 nforce chipset driver.. upgraded to 6.69 and problem solved.

    Still gotta fix the OpenGL driver for TUT.. but it looks a lot better since I upgraded to the 64bit drivers for the vid card. DirectX drivers workin fine until then.

    But its fully stable.. I will run some memtest tonight and maybe some prime95 later on
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  16. #16
    Great list of games that work fine in XP64:

    http://www.planetamd64.com/index.php?showtopic=7546
    Last edited by -KewlAzMe-; 17th Feb 2006 at 01:44 PM.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  17. #17
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Odd how some games work with CD Cracks... Wonder why that is?
    ~TuF~

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMachine
    Odd how some games work with CD Cracks... Wonder why that is?
    I think the registry setting that points games do the install disc drive doesn't work right. I usually get No-CD patches anyway just to avoid the hassle of swapping discs and keep track of them.. other wise I have 5+ upside down discs on top of my desk and eventually i'l spill something on them.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  19. #19
    Member necros's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
    Posts
    1,412
    Quote Originally Posted by -KewlAzMe-
    other wise I have 5+ upside down discs on top of my desk and eventually i'l spill something on them.
    Lol! hear here to that
    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  20. #20
    Just an update. OpenGL works great with Win64. Seems i just lost all the settings that I needed for it to run right. Necros hooked me up with them again

    Thanks Necros.

    Overall Win64 is da-bomb
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  21. #21
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by -KewlAzMe-
    Overall Win64 is da-bomb
    Why?

    All that has happened in the thread so far is that you've got it working like I have XP Pro working.

    Any benchmarks before / after? New features we don't have?
    ~TuF~

  22. #22
    Member necros's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
    Posts
    1,412
    He can reference more than 2GB of Memory...

    what else?
    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  23. #23
    well
    - Ut2004 64 bit
    - keeping ahead of the Jones'
    - UltraVNC is faster I swear.. even tho the 64 bit version of their vid driver is only beta, its amazingly fast and stable
    - and just readiness and piece of mind for how/if it works. More or less its like trying Linux.. you want to see how it looks, and if it finds all your hardware. Surprisingly it did and is quite stable. and since it plays TUT and runs all my apps, I'm just so impressed that I keep it. Plus things seem to just load a bit faster.
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  24. #24
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Quote Originally Posted by -KewlAzMe-
    well
    - Ut2004 64 bit
    - keeping ahead of the Jones'
    - UltraVNC is faster I swear.. even tho the 64 bit version of their vid driver is only beta, its amazingly fast and stable
    - and just readiness and piece of mind for how/if it works. More or less its like trying Linux.. you want to see how it looks, and if it finds all your hardware. Surprisingly it did and is quite stable. and since it plays TUT and runs all my apps, I'm just so impressed that I keep it. Plus things seem to just load a bit faster.
    1) Why is UT2004 64 bit better?

    2) Your in a bigger car but we're doing the same speed, with the same gadgets inside.

    3 + 4) Could just be that you've redone your OS that things load quicker.

    I'm in no doubt that WinXP 64 is more future proof but I see little / no point at the moment unless your running specialist applications. I'm not playing down your achievements here Kewl, I do think it's impressive that you've managed to get it going! and it's a decent idea to post that it's worked so others know too.

    But at the moment XP pro is about the same as XP 64 for the standard user, even the enthusiasic gamer.
    ~TuF~

  25. #25
    Member necros's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
    Posts
    1,412
    then again, would you expect there to be a huge difference between Windows XP X86 and Windows XP X64 since they are the same OS, but designed to run on two different cpu architectures?
    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  26. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMachine
    1) Why is UT2004 64 bit better?
    Loads stuff faster, benchmarks are higher. I haven't done those tests personally, but it is documented online already. I don't even have it installed I don't play it enough to bother. I'll wait for TUT2007 ..er UT2007 :freudian:
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMachine
    2) Your in a bigger car but we're doing the same speed, with the same gadgets inside.
    Well Its not a bigger car, same car, same gadgets, but a few more horses under the hood on "some" highways.
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMachine
    3 + 4) Could just be that you've redone your OS that things load quicker.
    I've thought about this too, but I keep my PC pristine and when i find a setup I like, I tend to stick with it.. I am running the same programs I run on my default setup for XP 32, and I run hardly any of the garbage in my task bar.

    And no worries, I'm not really saying that everyone on 32 bit should upgrade to 64, but if you are building a new system, and you were afraid, as I was, to upgrade to WinXP 64 because you thought that it was unstable, or most of your stuff wouldn't be supported. I'm just letting you know that it's really not bad at all. And I think 90% of people, if given the option for XP or Vista on a new machine, they would take the 32 bit version because they are still unsure of Win 64.. which is microsoft's fault for lack of marketing, but also because people can only read what the big tech geek sites post, not necessarily what John Q. User might have.

    I'm just trying to let everyone know that I too was scared half of my crap wouldn't work but that it does and it is stable. So if you are building a new PC and you are not getting Win64 because you are worried that too much is still unsupported, then don't be as worried because it isn't as bad or scary as originally thought. Just doing my bit to keep technology moving forward
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  27. #27
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    Quote Originally Posted by TheMachine
    1) Why is UT2004 64 bit better?

    2) Your in a bigger car but we're doing the same speed, with the same gadgets inside.

    3 + 4) Could just be that you've redone your OS that things load quicker.

    I'm in no doubt that WinXP 64 is more future proof but I see little / no point at the moment unless your running specialist applications. I'm not playing down your achievements here Kewl, I do think it's impressive that you've managed to get it going! and it's a decent idea to post that it's worked so others know too.

    But at the moment XP pro is about the same as XP 64 for the standard user, even the enthusiasic gamer.
    64 bit mode expands the number of available x86 registers to 16, you can think of registers as a sort of L0 cache memory, it makes programs go faster and the lack of registers was one of x86's major weak points, now fixed by 64 bit. Additionally programs that work with large integers, such as cryptographic and hashing functions (including *some* flavours of VNC using SSL encryption), will speed up with a factor two or more on top of that.

    I've said it before (but nobody ever reads my posts :p): 64b does a lot more than just enabling more memory.

    It's like pouring kerosine in your car. Same car, runs faster.

    OTOH, not everything benefits and KAM is probably seeing some placebo effects too.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  28. #28
    Quote Originally Posted by Pestcontrol
    OTOH, not everything benefits and KAM is probably seeing some placebo effects too.
    Agreed
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  29. #29
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Aye, me too, take what I say as it is, I know you realise this but I'm not attacking kewl. I appreciate you've documented the conversion

    On speed, have you tried Omega Drivers? They are significantly better if you haven't allready got them. Unsure if the 64 bit driver is out yet.
    ~TuF~

  30. #30
    Member necros's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
    Posts
    1,412
    I tried omega drivers, and for some reason, under them, i could not use texture filtering... at all...
    Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What difficulty do you play under?
    By PratizUnreal in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2004, 10:18 PM
  2. How do i play this mod?
    By nlghty in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2004, 10:23 PM
  3. Let's play some TUT!
    By fridae in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2003, 11:36 AM
  4. Play map button
    By Nachimir in forum Thievery Mapping
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2003, 04:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •