Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Voice Chat - LAN

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia, Sydney
    Posts
    6

    Voice Chat - LAN

    Hey, downloaded this MOD a few nights ago, and been playing it...great game! I've played it on the net a few times, but seeings how I'm in Aus there arent much servers which offer pings lower then 250

    So I play LAN with my little bro or just simple SP, but in LAN I am unable to hear my little bro talk and he vise versa, how ever our we can hear each other on the net?

    any ideas? I went through a few threads and it talked about typing

    Speak Public - but this doesnt seem to work either, any help can be much appreciated as its really hard to co-ordinate with him trying to yell through the rooms

  2. #2
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Version 1.3 automates the channel joining, so check your voice chat settings under audio, keep em default, maybe turning up volume some. Also, you're pressing the 'activate microphone' key, right?

  3. #3
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    ..it's safer here.

  4. #4
    Member reallybadplayer's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Skupping in the Bliy Skup Chamber
    Posts
    521
    Quote Originally Posted by Chubbs
    but seeings how I'm in Aus there arent much servers which offer pings lower then 250
    any help can be much appreciated as its really hard to co-ordinate with him trying to yell through the rooms
    I feel your pain, there used to be Australian & Fillipino servers. Honesty it isn't that hard to play with high pings, just get used to dying, memorising spawns helps a lot.
    As for mic, you can always type(you need to pay attention though), quite a few of players have problems hearing each other.

  5. #5
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    So that's where you're from
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  6. #6
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia, Sydney
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Moses2k
    you're pressing the 'activate microphone' key, right?
    yeh I am, and I left all the Voice Chat equipment as default just turned up its volume, but it still doesnt work

  7. #7
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    Even if you're in the wrong channel, you should see a volume bar on the left of your HUD as you speak. If you only get one green dot, something about the microphone isn't configured correctly.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  8. #8
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia, Sydney
    Posts
    6
    The green bars dont show up on LAN but they do show up on the net.

    Voice & all work on the net, but it just doesnt work when I host a LAN server

  9. #9
    Hm. Is that a dedicated or a listen server? UT2004 Listen servers have always had trouble with voice comm.
    Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...

  10. #10
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia, Sydney
    Posts
    6
    No its not a dedicated Server...and whats a "Listen Server"?

  11. #11
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    A server where you press launch instead of dedicate when your hosting, basically it gives the server a client. I still think you should give teamspeak a try, its the cause of and solution to all of lifes woes
    ..it's safer here.

  12. #12
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    Is voip enabled on your LAN server?

  13. #13
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia, Sydney
    Posts
    6
    I dont see that "voip" option anywhere when creating a server, so I'm not sure

    and I'll give Teamspeak a try later, but I would prefer not to use it

  14. #14
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    Go to the [Engine.GameEngine] section of AlienSwarm.ini, and change VoIPAllowVAD to True. I think that's the setting for it..

    Also consider Baz's post. Teamspeak works much better than UT2004 VoIP
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  15. #15
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia, Sydney
    Posts
    6
    thanks I'll give that a try...

    also for Teamspeak, how do I create a server for LAN and how do I join it?

  16. #16
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    No need for that, borrow either TheHavenNet's teamspeak server, or you can use the Official Black Cat Games Teamspeak Server. They both have channels for ASw.

    Addresses are:
    blackcats.homeip.net
    serenity.thehavennet.org.uk

    mach.homeip.net will also work for the BCG server. And you'll need to register at the BCG server to move around the channels there.

    And if the ASw channels already have people in them, you can always use a channel that isn't for ASw. Such as the CS:S channel...

  17. #17
    Member Phantaloz's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Not France
    Posts
    1,754
    But they are going to be on LAN, not on the internet!
    The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

    Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy

  18. #18
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    They may still have net access on the lan...

    Another thing you can try on a lan is a skype conference call.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Voice chat in v1.2
    By Chris1808 in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Sep 2004, 05:27 PM
  2. Voice chat still there?
    By Jocke in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th Apr 2003, 09:33 PM
  3. IRC chat program
    By Garlisk in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Apr 2003, 04:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •