Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Connection problem

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5

    Connection problem

    Hello,

    Sorry, english is not my first foreign language so I hope I will be understandable.

    I connect to an internet server, load the map and choose my characters and weapons. Like the others, I click on "ready" and the game start.
    Here is my problem:
    Just after clicking on "ready", I have the screen with the other players. But they don't move, I lose the connection to the server, I can no more speak to them and they don't hear me. When I move my cursor, my player begins to swing, but it can't move !
    I tryed to reconnect but it makes it everytime.

    Here is an extract from the AlienSwarm.log:

    -------

    ScriptLog: ## AO-TE-Aqueduct.AoTelicPlayer # Alien Swarm ######## Version: v1.3 ## Netmode: 3
    Warning: Echec charg. 'NULL' : Imp. rÈsoudre nom d'ens.
    Warning: Echec charg. 'Class None.': Imp. rÈsoudre nom d'ens.
    Warning: Echec charg. 'NULL' : Imp. rÈsoudre nom d'ens.
    Warning: Echec charg. 'Class None.': Imp. rÈsoudre nom d'ens.
    Log: AoTelicPlayer setplayer SDLViewport
    Log: Precaching: AO-TE-Aqueduct.LevelInfo0
    Log: Static mesh batches: 17613252 vertex bytes, 2113512 index bytes
    Log: Allocating 32768 byte dynamic index buffer.
    Log: Allocating 34248 byte dynamic index buffer.
    Log: Allocating 65536 byte dynamic vertex buffer.
    Log: Allocating 147456 byte dynamic vertex buffer.
    Log: Allocating 47628 byte dynamic index buffer.
    Log: Finished precaching geometry in 3.066 seconds
    Log: Finished precaching textures in 82.318 seconds
    Warning: AoTelicPlayer AO-TE-Aqueduct.AoTelicPlayer (Function AoPrototype.AoPlayer.PlayerToCursorRotation:006B) Accessed None 'Console'
    Warning: AoTelicPlayer AO-TE-Aqueduct.AoTelicPlayer (Function AoPrototype.AoPlayer.SwitchExtra:0103) Accessed None 'Weapon'
    Log: appRequestExit(0)
    Exit: Preparing to exit.
    Log: Purging garbage

    ---------

    I have not this problem when I play alone on an internet server or when I play singleplayers missions.
    I'm a Mac OS X user with an ADSL 2048 connection.

    thanking you in anticipation, Kalki
    Last edited by Kalki; 9th Mar 2006 at 08:59 AM.

  2. #2
    Member Phantaloz's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Not France
    Posts
    1,754
    You are missing the Telic campaign, download and install it
    The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

    Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy

  3. #3
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5
    I'v installed it ! When I play on the same map and same server but alone, I have not this problem.


    I'v juste succeed to play with another player. We completed the mission and we started a new one. 2 players joined.
    We all click on "ready", the game started and...I lose the connection to the server again ! I reconnect and it was the same. So it's very strange... Why do I lose the connection to the server ? Maybe take my computer to much time to load...and I became something like a "timeout" ?
    Last edited by Kalki; 9th Mar 2006 at 08:48 AM.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Kalki
    Why do I lose the connection to the server ? Maybe take my computer to much time to load...and I became something like a "timeout" ?
    A few others have had this type of troublem, somehow they get disconnected when the game starts. I have a vague recollection that one person, a regular player (Daywalker or perhaps Draven?) was blaming their ISP for the problem. Or possibly their modem. Or!

    Sorry I dont have a solution but realise you are not alone

    Actually, the master server seems to be a bit flaky lately ... although I dont think that has anything to do with people being dropped by a particular server.

    Try testing the 'slo loader gets dropped' theory by trying a faster computer - borrow your friends!
    Last edited by longshot; 11th Mar 2006 at 06:32 PM.

  5. #5
    Hm. What kind of loading time are we talking about here?

    I don't recall seeing this problem, tho. I hope it's not a Mac specific thing... :/
    Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...

  6. #6
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    I hope it is. One more nail in that overly hyped coffin.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5
    I made some trys on different servers:
    It happen only on the Telic server. I still get disconnected just after the game start.
    But no problem on the other servers, even with a lot of players.

  8. #8
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    Do you get disconnected with the message "package mismatch"?
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  9. #9
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5
    No message

  10. #10
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    Not even "connection failed" or "connection lost"?

  11. #11
    New Member
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5
    No, nothing. But, players said to me that they have seen the message "Kalki disconnected", as if I left the game but I didn't !

  12. #12
    Member Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston, England
    Posts
    2,013
    Desync?

  13. #13
    Member reemulmyu's Avatar
    Registered
    Jul 2004
    Location
    uk:somewhere in the verse
    Posts
    587
    intel coming to the mac near you now
    also known as mega ,On the internet, everyone can hear you scream - it's just that no-one cares.except moses{also been known to use rapidfire}was also here before fuzzy and moses

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What speed is your net connection?
    By Dalai in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 17th Mar 2006, 08:22 AM
  2. Connection Failed
    By sky-fiwa- in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2005, 11:01 PM
  3. Re-Connection Issues
    By Oriah in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2005, 06:56 PM
  4. connection failed
    By LancerEvoX in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Sep 2004, 09:58 PM
  5. Another connection problem
    By R in forum Troubleshooting & Technical Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 13th Mar 2004, 04:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •