Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 51

Thread: Oblivion upgrade

  1. #1
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138

    Icon16 Oblivion upgrade

    Hiyas I was thinking about maybe upgrading and getting Oblivion if it's only a bit of upgrading to be done (e.g. just a video card).

    I used the System Requirements Lab and I got passes on everything BUT we all know that my Radeon 9600 XT (256Mb) video card won't run Oblivion well. I only want to buy it if I can run it well - it would ruin it for me if I can't.

    (Relevant) Specs at the moment:
    Minimum: Pentium 4 or Athlon XP or better
    You Have: 2 processors running - Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz

    Minimum: 2 GHz
    You Have: 3.0 GHz

    Minimum: 512 MB
    You Have: 1023.2 MB

    Minimum: 128MB Direct3D compatible video card (NVIDIA GeForce FX+ / ATI Radeon 9500+)
    You Have: GeCube RADEON 9600XT (ATI RADEON 9600 Series AGP (0x4152)).
    So how well would it run if I merely upgraded my AGP video card (and the inherent difficulty of that also...)? And how would I find out my RAM speed to see if that is good enough?

  2. #2
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Upgrading your Card to something like mine (x1600pro 512) would make a massive difference. I've just made the same jump (9600pro -> x1600).

    3dmark05 with 9600 = 571
    3dmark05 with x1600 = 4700
    ~TuF~

  3. #3
    did u get the AGP or the PCIe?
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  4. #4
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    AGP - which is a problem.

  5. #5
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    Quote Originally Posted by Convict
    AGP - which is a problem.
    Wrong, There are AGP Cards out there which outperform some PCI-E Cards. AGP is not dead yet. Mine is an AGP card.
    ~TuF~

  6. #6
    Member Nachimir's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,461
    AGP will be dead within a year or two. Choice of AGP cards on retail sites is already declining, and they'll only be able to outperform some PCI-E cards to a limited extent, with growing expense until they become unviable for manufacturers and retailers.

    I'm barely keeping myself afloat with a 256Mb Geforce 6600. I'm not aiming for that to last another 9 months. When I go for another upgrade, I'll start it with a good PCI-E motherboard, because it's either go for a PCI-E system, or go for increasingly expensive AGP cards, then the PCI-E system pretty soon after.

  7. #7
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    The question is really, however, if all I do is upgrade my video card, will I be able to run Oblivion well?

  8. #8
    Member Machine's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    TuF Forums
    Posts
    5,829
    I'm not worried, in 2 years time I'd update my PC anyway, this AGP card I have now rips through anything I through at it so it'll do for me.

    Convict, in response to your question. Yes, even if you do get an AGP card. Something like mine or better (850XT) will kill oblivion and rape it's corpse. (run smooth)
    ~TuF~

  9. #9
    Member Nachimir's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,461
    Yeah. On the other hand a PCI-E system will be cheaper in two years

  10. #10
    PCIe SLI MOBO with 2 x1600 512's... that should tide you over at least until next January
    I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

  11. #11
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    7800 gs agp, will easily play obl0vion with your rig =)
    If not that you might want to try a 6800gt for the extra pipes, or 6800gs for a good match with the x1600
    ..it's safer here.

  12. #12
    Member Nachimir's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,461
    If you're on a budget these don't look like too bad a deal:
    link

    Ebuyer are doing them cheap in the UK right now too:
    link

  13. #13
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    Could someone plz tell me how I check my RAM speed?

    I was looking at www.scorptec.com.au and I saw the XFX PV-T40B-UDF3 Geforce 6800GS, AGP8X, 256MB, Dual DVI.

    Specs:
    Graphics Core
    256-bit
    Memory Interface
    256-bit
    Memory Bandwidth
    32 GB/sec
    Vertices Per Second
    531 Million
    Pixels per Clock (peak)
    12
    Textures per Pixel
    12
    RAMDACs
    400 MHz
    Fill Rate
    5.1 Billion Texels/sec.
    Memory Date Rate
    1000 MHz

    Memory Clock
    1000MHz
    Engine Clock
    350MHz
    Chipset
    GeForce 6800GS
    Memory
    256MB
    Bus Type
    AGP 8X
    Memory Type
    DDR3
    Memory Bus
    256-bit
    Highlighted Features
    Dual DVI Out , TV Out


    Is the DDR-3 compatible with my computer or is that completely internal to the video card?
    What do you guys think about it - will it run Oblivion well?

    Here is an AGP video card comparison guide from TomsHardware

  14. #14
    Member Firetiger's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Above your head moving at high speed.
    Posts
    1,074
    Actually, if you buy a 6800 non-ultra/gt, there's a chance the extra pipes are intact. All you need to do is unlock them. I did this with my own card some time ago and got quite a healthy boost in 3dmark score.
    <-- Resident Nightblade suggestion attorney...

  15. #15
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    So is that card better or worse than a 6800gt (it wasn't in the Tomshardware table)? And how do you unlock them.


    Plz remember I am noob and most of all this I don't understand. What I do understand is that higher numbers = better card!

  16. #16
    Member Rodent's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Fighting to survive in a war with the darkest power...
    Posts
    539
    6800 GS is better in some aspects than a GT, and worse in others.



    It will run oblivion quite comfortably with your current specs.

    I have two 6600GT's in SLi and i can run Oblivion at 1280*1024 , high textures at around 50 fps
    Nightwarden,
    .:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
    - "Earth dons the red; calls the maggots."

  17. #17
    Member
    Registered
    Nov 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    726
    I want to buy this while it's cheap, because I need a new graphics card for Oblivion too (I'm still using a Geforce4ti4600 DX8). I want to stick to AGP, because I can't afford a full-on upgrade at this time. I just want a good video card.

    What do you guys think of this? From overclockers.co.uk:

    Sapphire X1600 Pro 512MB DDR2 AVIVO TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Retail (GX-120-SP)

    - Powered by ATI Radeon X1600 Pro - 500MHz
    - 512MB-128bit 4 channel DDR2 memory - 800MHz
    - 12 Pixel shader processor
    - 5 Vertex shader processor
    - 8 Geometry Pipelines
    - Ultra-threaded SM 3.0 Engine
    - 256-bit Ring-bus
    - ATI Avivo™ (Video-In Cables not supplied)


    Available This Week Only for just &#163;84.95 +VAT.

    Is it a good deal?
    I've noticed the Nvidia cards are a lot more expensive, but they're all 256 MB (at least on overclockers.co.uk).

    Is this actually a good card? It just seems suspiciously cheap.

    Thanks.

  18. #18
    Member
    Registered
    Nov 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    726
    This is what I mean...same type of card, but it's more expensive just because the quality of the ram is higher (GDDR3 as opposed to DDR2):

    Sapphire ATI Radeon X800 GTO 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Retail (GX-122-SP)

    - 400MHz GPU Clock Speed
    - 256MB 980MHz GDDR3 memory accelerates the latest cutting edge 3D applications
    - 256-bit quad-channel GDDR3 memory interface
    - Twelve pixel pipelines
    - Six programmable vertex shader pipelines


    Available This Week Only for just &#163;109.95 +VAT.

    Is it worth going for the 256 MB with the higher quality ram, or the 512 MB with the lower quality ram?

  19. #19
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    Quote Originally Posted by Rodent
    6800 GS is better in some aspects than a GT, and worse in others.



    It will run oblivion quite comfortably with your current specs.

    I have two 6600GT's in SLi and i can run Oblivion at 1280*1024 , high textures at around 50 fps
    OK what does two 6600GT's in SLi mean? You have two cards running? I prob don't want to spend more than $300 and something but prob not less either (I will do a full upgrade in the future and give this comp to my mum to check her emails). And when you say run comfortably, you mean with high detail?

    Also is XFX a good brand?

  20. #20
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    I don't think you need 512MB video RAM Athel... I expected Oblivion to run terribly and thought I'd have to upgrade, but this old system from last year runs it nice and smooth and looks good. Using A64 3200+ and an X800 256MB with 1GB RAM. Still, I can't wait until I upgrade for UT2007 so I can max some of the shadow and water settings
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  21. #21
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    By the time there's games that really need 512MB of graphics memory, the card you have won't be fast enough to run them properly. It may make sense if you're going for some uberproultra or SLI setup, but otherwise, meh, don't bother.

    Also, which card's good? Google for benchmarks. There's new models just about every week so i've stopped keeping up with it. Stats like megahertzes, megabytes and pixel/vertex/shader/whatever pipelines aren't always the full picture, they are only indications of performance.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  22. #22
    Member Nachimir's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Athelstone
    Is it worth going for the 256 MB with the higher quality ram, or the 512 MB with the lower quality ram?
    Any Radeon cards with "Pro" on them are basically slower, cheaper versions of other Radeon cards. Some benchmarks of a 256Mb 1600XT here; not looking too rosy against the X800, and the Geforce 6800 they tested tends to outperform them both.

    That said, the lowest resolution they use is 1280 x 1024 and CoD2 makes them all struggle at that. The 1600 range are probably fairly adequate performers, but not for long.

  23. #23
    Member Convict's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Back in Oz...
    Posts
    2,138
    Thx for the website link Nach - this GeForce 6800 GS review seems quite positive with framerates comparable to the 6800 GT.

    EDIT: So I think I'm gonna go for it since this gives my specs "recommended" if I get that card.

    Is framerates per second the end point of performance measure? Can I just look at that and ignore everything else (apart from memory I assume)?

    EDIT: Also I can't seem to find what Shader Model the 6800 GS has? It seems from the Oblivion forums that you should have SM3.0?? (I'm not sure about that though)
    Last edited by Convict; 25th Mar 2006 at 07:52 AM.

  24. #24
    Member Nachimir's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,461
    Kind of. FPS compared to settings is the benchmark for games. FPS will vary somewhat according to the rest of the stuff in your system, and if your CPU and RAM aren't sufficient it can cause massive performance hits no matter what the card.

    With a gig of RAM and a 3GHz CPU, that shouldn't trouble you for now though.

  25. #25
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    FPS is real world performance where everything else is a synthetic statistic. It's not the end point, there is no such thing, because FPS is influenced by factors that may be important to you (cpu performance, settings, and which specific game), but it goes a long way.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  26. #26
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    but you really want a x1xxx card or a 6600 or better, to get those yummy sm 3.0 shadows and hdr.
    ..it's safer here.

  27. #27
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    You could consider that an image quality argument, but HDR is a rendering technique and doesn't rely on any specific hardware support beyond cheapass programmers not bothering to write the implementation for anything else.

    Granted though, sm 3.0 will actually be useful so it's an important feature to consider - but an exception at that. Most novelty features are irrelevant in their first gen hardware implementation. Like FSAA on the Voodoo 5, anisotropic filtering on the TNT-2 and texture compression on the S3 Savage.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  28. #28
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    About how much RAM is enough these days, just thought I'd add this from the Construction Set readme:

    "It is strongly recommended that you have at least 2 GB of RAM to use
    the Heightmap Editing, and at least 1 GB of RAM for any world and level
    building."

    But for playing 1GB seems to be enough, and loading times are very low. Although I'm sure another 1GB wouldn't hurt
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  29. #29
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    Of all components ram's the easiest to upgrade though, as you don't necissarily have to pull the old parts out. Just make sure you go with the highest density modules you can afford - so you won't run out of slots.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  30. #30
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    I thought mixing RAM was bad?
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Oblivion.
    By Machine in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 608
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2007, 02:58 AM
  2. TeS Upgrade
    By Butters in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2006, 03:23 AM
  3. Crackaz Server Upgrade
    By Grank in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th Sep 2004, 09:37 PM
  4. New Idea: Crossbow Upgrade
    By LameHamster in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2003, 05:17 PM
  5. My Upgrade
    By Biohazard in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2003, 11:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •