Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Cannot host internet games :(

  1. #1
    New Member
    Registered
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Cannot host internet games :(

    Could someone please help. I introduced some of my mates to Alien swarm and we want to host an online game but are just having no joy.We've followed the guide for opening server ports etc... and i have exhausted these forums n tried a few of the ideas suggested to people having the same problem like tweaking the ini file and setting the from behind nat jobbie all to no avail. The game shows up on the server list but has no ping, most of the time, suggesting it's a lan only game.Although my mate has managed to host a game on a couple of occasions showing a ping but we still can't join it. All we get is connecting message and the pic of the marine with the eggs.

    Please please someone help, i'm sure it is just something simple we are doin wrong

  2. #2
    Member Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston, England
    Posts
    2,013
    If you are looking to play privately you can always use Hamachi and create a VPM, im not going to explain to program as it only has, create/join/on off/block.


    May only work on XP
    Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 9th May 2006 at 06:57 AM.

  3. #3
    Member Carth's Avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,577
    You don't need Hamachi to play a private game, just password the server.
    I think I can love you
    Let's facwe the future together

  4. #4
    Member Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston, England
    Posts
    2,013
    Need a server people can join first

  5. #5
    Member Baz's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2005
    Location
    0xbaadf00d
    Posts
    3,094
    sounds like a port forwarding issue. Theres a bug with unreal which affects some routers, even if you have the right ports open people cant connect. Try getting someone else to host, or if your feeling dangerous, open all your ports
    ..it's safer here.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Registered
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    cheers killer much appreciated!

    Now only problem i have is the 700 and odd ping which is making the game almost unplayable :/
    lol

  7. #7
    Turn firewall and all background tasks off, especialy if you have Norton, its a real CPU hog sometimes ;\

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    Quote Originally Posted by PsiSoldier28
    Turn firewall and all background tasks off, especialy if you have Norton, its a real CPU hog ;\
    Fixed that for you.

    Which router do you have, jenxstar?

    Did you open and/or forward the correct ports?
    These should be 7777 and 7778 (both UDP)

  9. #9
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    Might also check that Windows Firewal isn't blocking UT2004.

  10. #10
    I have mine set to off, unless im downloading or web browsing of course... My router FW never goes off, need a little protection now don't you

  11. #11
    New Member
    Registered
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    it's a new router Omega. Just bought a linksys wireless-g but i'm not happy with it full stop. getting higher pings on my games than when i was using my D-link 504t. I'm gonna revert back to that n see how AS plays then me thinks.

    Thanks for the help anyways : )

  12. #12
    Member Pestcontrol's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Hague
    Posts
    1,881
    If you go from wired to wireles pings will always increase by a few ms, but it shouldn't be a significant amount, only if it's more than that you should start to worry. Wired connections will always be more reliable, faster and more secure than wireless ones.

    I have linksys in high regard when it comes to stability and configurability. Also there's little point in running a firewall when you're behind any device that can share your internet connection such as a router, because the method used to make multiple machines communicate through one external IP address automatically acts as firewall. It blocks all incoming connections simply because it has no way to tell which machine on the local network it is meant for.

    In your case you have to not only open up the ports but also forward them, that is, you tell the router that incoming connections on ports 7777-7778 are meant to be relayed to the computer running the alienswarm server. This means that in the router's configuration page you'll have to enter two things, the port, and the internal ip address connections on that port should be forwarded to.

    Or you can just invade a public server with your friends.
    [THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
    Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    Quote Originally Posted by jenxstar
    it's a new router Omega. Just bought a linksys wireless-g but i'm not happy with it full stop. getting higher pings on my games than when i was using my D-link 504t. I'm gonna revert back to that n see how AS plays then me thinks.

    Thanks for the help anyways : )
    Ok, well let us know how if that solves it.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Registered
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for all the help guys. We're up n running now.Using my old router tho getting twice the ping with the wireless.

  15. #15
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    Good to hear. Enjoy the game!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cant host a lan or internet game
    By LAZ in forum Thievery Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Aug 2004, 09:15 AM
  2. Question (need file host)
    By -=V12US=- in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th May 2004, 04:57 PM
  3. Can't Host? Try this!
    By harmony in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th May 2004, 04:34 AM
  4. New host!
    By ghost* in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2003, 07:41 AM
  5. OT: free image host
    By Anonymous in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2003, 05:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •