Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Prob with mouse

  1. #1

    Exclamation Prob with mouse

    When i iniciate alien swarm the mouse works perfectly but when i go to the menu where we choose the team members and the weapons configs; etc... the mouse donīt move, iīve tried with other mouses still with no sucess, only the very old versions of AS seem to do not have this prob. Help!!
    Last edited by CarlosDan; 2nd Jul 2006 at 07:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    Hi there.

    Make sure you've patched UT2004 to the latest version. And also the latest Alien Swarm patch.

    After you've patched, make sure to delete AlienSwarm.ini from your UT2004\AlienSwarm\System directory.

  3. #3
    Iīve patched UT2004 to the latest version; same with AS, deleted the ini file and the problem didnīt disappeared, the mouse just donīt move.

  4. #4
    I've noticed sometimes the mouse is stiky in the selection menu, but works ok in game. Try shaking the mouse!

  5. #5
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    Please check your AlienSwarm.ini (found in "\UT2004\AlienSwarm\System\").

    The following lines should be present and not unassigned.
    Code:
    MouseY=Count bYAxis | Axis aMouseY Speed=2.0
    MouseX=Count bXAxis | Axis aMouseX Speed=2.0
    (Most editors have a search function that you can open by pressing ctrl+f, if not, look under the [Engine.Input] section.)

  6. #6
    Silly question and I dunno if this would even be a problem, but... did you run UT2004 before installing Swarm?
    Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by longshot
    I've noticed sometimes the mouse is stiky in the selection menu, but works ok in game. Try shaking the mouse!

    ..you donīt have to mencione that, itīs obvious that iīve shaked the mouse (hundreds of times but with no response)

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by DeepQantas
    Silly question and I dunno if this would even be a problem, but... did you run UT2004 before installing Swarm?
    Yes.

  9. #9
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    Did you check your AlienSwarm.ini file if the parameters above have the subsequent values?

    If the values exist or if you had to add them and it still doesn't work, here's how to properly install Alien Swarm in your case;
    1. First start by uninstall Alien Swarm and Unreal Tournament 2004, make sure that the game directory is deleted after the two games are uninstalled so that no files are left behind.
    2. Install UT2004.
    3. Patch it to the latest version.
    4. Run it once and play an instant game of deathmatch or something similar.
    5. Install Alien Swarm 1.3.
    6. Run that and check if it works now.


    If you don't want to re-install. Could you at least check if the mouse works properly in UT2004?

  10. #10
    New Member
    Registered
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2

    Angry i have prob with mouse ang klaviature in-game

    I have small prob with mouse and klaviature in-game. I mean that in ut 2004 menus it works fine but ingame only button that works is escape and i cant move mouse or do something with it ingame . could anyone help plz? Small info: i have installed 3369 patch
    and all buttons configured.
    Last edited by winkz0r; 27th Jul 2006 at 01:59 PM.

  11. #11
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    Have you tried any of the above solutions?

  12. #12
    New Member
    Registered
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2
    yes i have, but none of them worked

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    2,813
    So the keys work in UT2004, but not in Alien Swarm. Have you got any other mods installed? Do the keys work in that?

  14. #14
    New Member
    Registered
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1
    just ran into the same issue while trying to revive the good old alien swarm again.

    solution (without reinstalling everything) was to set the engine.input section in the alien as mentioned before. after that, start alienswarm.exe and go to settings -> reset -> set everything as desired. quit to save the settings and then restart.

    => all controls should work now

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. My mouse.....
    By Bulletstopper in forum Troubleshooting & Technical Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 6th Mar 2006, 01:47 AM
  2. Crippling Thievery prob!
    By Garlisk in forum Troubleshooting & Technical Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2005, 07:41 PM
  3. Mouse
    By SeEManN in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2004, 02:58 AM
  4. MSN Messenger Problem...(Prob fixed, Thanks)
    By Garlisk in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2003, 06:32 AM
  5. Mouse Help
    By Grey Fox in forum Community Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th Jun 2003, 01:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •