Results 1 to 30 of 30

Thread: Custom Campaigns

  1. #1
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986

    Custom Campaigns

    I would like to save some selections of maps into custom campaigns, so that you only need to select it as "New CC1", "New CC2", ...
    rather then setting it up again all the time.

    Is there a way to do that?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Member
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    112
    Yes there is.

    You can either figure out how the Custom Campaigns mutator work and create your own..

    ..or if you are feeling lucky, ask me to do it for you (as long as you don't want a lobby map too).
    Sören Mattbäck
    My website - The Telic Campaign

  3. #3
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986
    Quote Originally Posted by smattbac View Post
    Yes there is.

    You can either figure out how the Custom Campaigns mutator work and create your own..

    ..or if you are feeling lucky, ask me to do it for you (as long as you don't want a lobby map too).
    thx, no i dont want a lobby map, just an easy way to save time.
    Could you explain it? Or is there a manuall yet?

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    I think you could specify campaigns in the mutator's ini file in older versions. Not sure how it works now though...

  5. #5
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986
    Found this in the readme of the mutator:

    Code:
    Note to server admins: This version (1.5b) is compatibale with v1.5, so clients can connect to your server even if they have an old version of the mutator.
    
    Creating your own campaign involves subclassing the AoCCampaignInfo class in AoCustCamp.u, and filling in the defaultproperties and making link lines for the lobby map. Feel free to extract the source and examine how it's done. And remember that you need an MyCampaign.int file to accompany your MyCampaign.u file.
    Okay, I have had a look at the Phalanx campaign as example and opend all the files that are readable with an normal editor.

    Code:
    [Public]
    Object=(Name=AoPhalanxCampaign.AoPhalanxCampInfo,Class=class,MetaClass=AoCustCamp140.AoCCampaignInfo,Description="Phalanx Campaign")
    Where is the class AoPhalanxCampaign defined? Is it in the AoPhalanxCampaign.u file which I have to open in the UT2004 editor? Thats how I understand the description above. Is a lobby map required? Cause its so not needed for my purpose.

    Is there a way to have more then 8 maps in a camp?

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Member Sniper 1's Avatar
    Registered
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    218
    the lobby map is not required - you can use any of the existing lobby maps
    as far as I know you can have more than 8 maps.

    You need to create an .int file like the one you referenced above.

    The actual campaign is defined in a .u file. I would suggest exporting AoCustCamp and having a look at AoCcUpsilonCampaign.uc. Then create your own code package for your campaign.

  7. #7
    Member
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    112
    Yeah, some minor coding skills are required to create a custom campaign.

    AoPhalanxCampaign is in AoPhalanxCampaign.u yes. You need to create your own MyCamp.u and MyCamp.int file for your campaigns. If you want to try making one yourself I'd suggest you check out UnrealWiki first, to learn how to compile your own package.

    And you can have max 16 maps in a campaign.
    Sören Mattbäck
    My website - The Telic Campaign

  8. #8
    Member
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    112

    Post Creating a custom campaign

    1. In your Alienswarm folder, create a folder called MyCamp
    2. In the MyCamp folder, create a folder called Classes
    3. In the Classes folder, create a text file and rename it to MyCampInfo.uc
    To compile it, you first have to add two lines to your Alienswarm.ini.
    Open it and search for a list of lines starting with EditPackage=. Put the following lines at the end of the list:
    EditPackages=AoCustCamp
    EditPackages=MyCamp
    Now to compile, open a console window, change folder to UT2004/System and type "Ucc.exe make -Mod=Alienswarm". If all goes well, you'll now have a MyCamp.u file in your. When you recompile the package, you have to delete the old MyCamp.u file first, as Ucc.exe only compiles those package it doesn't find.

    If you did this right now, you'd get an error because the MyCampInfo.uc file is empty, so lets edit it!

    We'll create a custom campaign without a lobby map, as creating one with a lobby map require a lot more work.
    Open the MyCampInfo.uc file in a text editor and paste the following in it:

    Code:
    class MyCampInfo extends AoCCampaignInfo;
    
    DefaultProperties
    {
        CampaignName="My Cool Campaign"
        MapName(0)="AO-Cleanup2.ut2"
        MapName(1)="AO-BioLabFacility.ut2"
        MapName(2)="AO-Aspirant.ut2"
        DifficultyModifier(0)=-1
        DifficultyModifier(1)=1
        DifficultyModifier(2)=2
        MapRequiresTech(0)=1
        MapRequiresTech(1)=1
        MapRequiresTech(2)=1
    }
    Compile the package.
    To get the campaign to show up in the map list ingame, you need to create an .int file. So in the same folder as the MyCamp.u file (that would be Alienswarm/System), create a text file and rename it to MyCamp.int. Open it in a text editor and add the following lines:

    Code:
    [Public]
    Object=(Name=MyCamp.MyCampInfo,Class=class,MetaClass=AoCustCamp.AoCCampaignInfo,Description="My Cool Campaign")
    If you have done everything correctly (and if these instructions are correct..), a new campaign called My Cool Campaign should show up in the maplist.
    Last edited by smattbac; 22nd Oct 2006 at 09:09 AM.
    Sören Mattbäck
    My website - The Telic Campaign

  9. #9
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    Any chance this could be added to the IAF Database? It sounds like it would be useful for anyone who wants to make a custom campaign.

  10. #10
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986
    You forgot the ";" after class MyCampInfo extends AoCCampaignInfo, but i found that in the wiki

    Appart from that its working

    Going to cook CCs now :-)


    UPDATE:

    I have compiled three custom campaigns which are playable on my server now.

    CCEasy: It includes Sigma, Ortega plus 4 non-camp maps -> 16 Maps camp.

    CCTEPhl:It includes Telic, Phalanx and other maps -> 16 Maps camp.

    CCHard: Includes two warmups, Most of Epsilon, the hardest maps from Telic, Sigma and Ortega plus Sulfur as final. 16 Maps camp.
    Last edited by Felix; 22nd Oct 2006 at 07:27 AM. Reason: NEWS :_)

  11. #11
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986

    Getting the map names with ccinfo

    One little hint:

    Normaly you get the map names when typing "mutate ccinfo" into the console.
    I saw a cc where that did not work (XXFavorites )

    To show the names they need to be part of the CampaignName variable in the .uc file (where you define the child class).

    It should look like this
    Code:
    • class CCEasyInfo extends AoCCampaignInfo; DefaultProperties { CampaignName="Easy Custom Campaign * Maps: ReactorCore/Rescue/Research/Salvage/Uplink/Barracks/Observation * Boarding/Engeneering/Cargo/Archive/FlightDeck/Navigation * WeaponFacility * 2NiceBoxesOfShit * BugPlanet" MapName(0)="AO-ReactorCore.ut2" MapName(1)="AO-Rescue.ut2" MapName(2)="AO-Research.ut2" MapName(3)="AO-Salvage.ut2" MapName(4)="AO-Uplink.ut2" MapName(5)="AO-Barracks.ut2" MapName(6)="AO-Observation.ut2" MapName(7)="AO-Ort1-Boarding.ut2" MapName(8)="AO-Ort2-Engineering.ut2" MapName(9)="AO-Ort3-Cargo.ut2" MapName(10)="AO-OrtX-Archive.ut2" MapName(11)="AO-Ort4-FlightDeck.ut2" MapName(12)="AO-Ort5-Navigation.ut2" MapName(13)="AO-WeaponFacility.ut2" MapName(14)="AO-2NiceBoxesofShit.ut2" MapName(15)="AO-BugPlanet2.ut2" DifficultyModifier(0)=-1 DifficultyModifier(1)=1 DifficultyModifier(2)=2 DifficultyModifier(3)=3 DifficultyModifier(4)=4 DifficultyModifier(5)=5 DifficultyModifier(6)=6 DifficultyModifier(7)=7 DifficultyModifier(8)=7 DifficultyModifier(9)=7 DifficultyModifier(10)=7 DifficultyModifier(11)=7 DifficultyModifier(12)=7 DifficultyModifier(13)=7 DifficultyModifier(14)=7 DifficultyModifier(15)=7 MapRequiresTech(0)=0 MapRequiresTech(1)=0 MapRequiresTech(2)=1 MapRequiresTech(3)=0 MapRequiresTech(4)=1 MapRequiresTech(5)=1 MapRequiresTech(6)=1 MapRequiresTech(7)=1 MapRequiresTech(8)=0 MapRequiresTech(9)=0 MapRequiresTech(10)=0 MapRequiresTech(11)=0 MapRequiresTech(12)=1 MapRequiresTech(13)=0 MapRequiresTech(14)=0 MapRequiresTech(15)=0 }

  12. #12
    Nice move Felix! Works relly great.
    My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
    And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2

  13. #13
    Member
    Registered
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    112

    Post

    Normally, "mutate ccinfo" only gives you maplist when playing ingame created campaign.

    If it's a predefined campaign (like Phalanx, Telic), you only get the name of the campaign. The reason for that was.. I think, a) not to spoil anything when playing the campaign for the first time, b) you probably learn what maps are a part of a campaign anyway.

    Granted, if people start making a lot of custom campaigns with existing maps, it would be nice if you could see the map list.
    Sören Mattbäck
    My website - The Telic Campaign

  14. #14
    Well, its a good temporary solution. Felix have 2-3 custom campaign on his server. I personnaly have just one called "NDA's Favorites". I would like to put some more but i cant, caus each time i add one, i need to remove a community fan made map, and that, well, suck a lot.
    My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
    And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2

  15. #15
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    You could always remove one of mine.

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Moses2k View Post
    You could always remove one of mine.
    Well, to tell you the truth, thats should append on EFR release. You want me to hold the original or the SE?
    My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
    And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2

  17. #17
    Member Moses2k's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Was actually here before Fuzz
    Posts
    5,674
    Let the Fuzz decide.

  18. #18
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986

    cc_sigma

    This is the classes file (AlienSwarm/cc_sigma/Classes/cc_sigma.uc):

    Code:
    class cc_sigma extends AoCCampaignInfo;
    
    DefaultProperties { 
    
        CampaignName="CC Sigma Campaign * ReactorCore * Rescue * Research * Salvage * Uplink * Barracks * Observation" 
        MapName(0)="AO-ReactorCore.ut2" 
        MapName(1)="AO-Rescue.ut2" 
        MapName(2)="AO-Research.ut2" 
        MapName(3)="AO-Salvage.ut2" 
        MapName(4)="AO-Uplink.ut2" 
        MapName(5)="AO-Barracks.ut2" 
        MapName(6)="AO-Observation.ut2" 
        DifficultyModifier(0)=-1 
        DifficultyModifier(1)=1 
        DifficultyModifier(2)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(3)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(4)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(5)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(6)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(0)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(1)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(2)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(3)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(4)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(5)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(6)=1 
    }
    and the proper int file (AlienSwarm/System/cc_sigma.int):

    Code:
    [Public]
    Object=(Name=cc_sigma.cc_sigma,Class=class,MetaClass=AoCustCamp.AoCCampaignInfo,Description="CC Sigma")

  19. #19
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986

    cc_ortega

    Classes:

    Code:
    class cc_ortega extends AoCCampaignInfo;
    
    DefaultProperties { 
    
        CampaignName="CC Ortega Campaign * Boarding * Engineering * Cargo* Archive* FlightDeck* Navigation" 
        MapName(0)="AO-Ort1-Boarding.ut2" 
        MapName(1)="AO-Ort2-Engineering.ut2" 
        MapName(2)="AO-Ort3-Cargo.ut2" 
        MapName(3)="AO-OrtX-Archive.ut2" 
        MapName(4)="AO-Ort4-FlightDeck.ut2" 
        MapName(5)="AO-Ort5-Navigation.ut2" 
        DifficultyModifier(0)=-1 
        DifficultyModifier(1)=1 
        DifficultyModifier(2)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(3)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(4)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(5)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(0)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(1)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(2)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(3)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(4)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(5)=1 
    }
    Int:

    Code:
    [Public]
    Object=(Name=cc_ortega.cc_ortega,Class=class,MetaClass=AoCustCamp.AoCCampaignInfo,Description="CC Ortega")

  20. #20
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986

    cc_queens

    Classes:

    Code:
    class cc_queens extends AoCCampaignInfo;
    
    DefaultProperties { 
    
        CampaignName="CC TheWayOfTheQueens Campaign * Uplink * Behemoth Tournament * Nightmare * Navigation * Bug Planet * Exodus * Underneath * Sulfure" 
        MapName(0)="AO-Uplink.ut2" 
        MapName(1)="AO-BehemothTournament-TE2.ut2" 
        MapName(2)="AO-EFRX-Nightmare.ut2" 
        MapName(3)="AO-Ort5-Navigation.ut2" 
        MapName(4)="AO-BugPlanet2.ut2" 
        MapName(5)="AO-Phl6-Exodus.ut2" 
        MapName(6)="AO-TE-Underneath.ut2" 
        MapName(7)="AO-Sulfure-SE.ut2" 
        DifficultyModifier(0)=-1 
        DifficultyModifier(1)=1 
        DifficultyModifier(2)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(3)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(4)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(5)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(6)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(7)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(0)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(1)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(2)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(3)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(4)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(5)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(6)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(7)=0 
    }
    Int:

    Code:
    [Public]
    Object=(Name=cc_queens.cc_queens,Class=class,MetaClass=AoCustCamp.AoCCampaignInfo,Description="CC The Way Of The Queens")
    Last edited by Felix; 9th Jul 2007 at 03:02 AM.

  21. #21
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986

    cc_topten

    Classes:

    Code:
    class cc_topten extends AoCCampaignInfo;
    
    DefaultProperties { 
    
        CampaignName="CC Felixs TopTen Campaign * Aquaduct * Archive * Cargo * Greenhouse * Labs * Bunker * Navigation * Mercury * Tunnel * Beggars Point" 
        MapName(0)="AO-TE-Aqueduct.ut2" 
        MapName(1)="AO-OrtX-Archive.ut2" 
        MapName(2)="AO-Ort3-Cargo.ut2" 
        MapName(3)="AO-Phl3-Greenhouse.ut2" 
        MapName(4)="AO-Phl4-Labs.ut2" 
        MapName(5)="AO-EFR3-Bunker.ut2" 
        MapName(6)="AO-Ort5-Navigation.ut2" 
        MapName(7)="AO-TE-Mercury.ut2" 
        MapName(8)="AO-TE-Tunnel.ut2" 
        MapName(9)="AO-EFR5-BeggarsPoint.ut2" 
        DifficultyModifier(0)=-1 
        DifficultyModifier(1)=1 
        DifficultyModifier(2)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(3)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(4)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(5)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(6)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(7)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(8)=0 
        DifficultyModifier(9)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(0)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(1)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(2)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(3)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(4)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(5)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(6)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(7)=1 
        MapRequiresTech(8)=0 
        MapRequiresTech(9)=0 
    }
    Int:

    Code:
    [Public]
    Object=(Name=cc_topten.cc_topten,Class=class,MetaClass=AoCustCamp.AoCCampaignInfo,Description="CC Felixs TopTen")
    Last edited by Felix; 9th Jul 2007 at 03:02 AM.

  22. #22
    Member Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Boston, England
    Posts
    2,013
    Aqueduct doesnt require a tech.

  23. #23
    Member lightfoot's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2005
    Location
    *teleports up front*
    Posts
    576
    yeah, and navigation shouldn't require one. there is a hacktool on that map, too, making it perfectly possible for any marine to beat the mission without bringing yet another one.

  24. #24
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986
    go build your own cc you &§$%!!!



    It's the way I think it makes sense. You are not forced to play it though. Two programers, three solutions.

  25. #25
    Member lightfoot's Avatar
    Registered
    Oct 2005
    Location
    *teleports up front*
    Posts
    576
    Dude, what is your problem?

    I can't be sure what Killer thought, but was giving advice on how you could IMPROVE what you do.

    I have argued a lot, elsewhere, about what I think of that 'mission requires a tech marine' restriction, especially WHEN THERE IS A HACKTOOL ON THE MAP.

    You may think otherwise, you may even think you know everything better than everyone else. Alright, it's your thing, go ahead, but there really is no need for such a childish reaction. Adding a smiley doesn't make it any better, really.

  26. #26
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986
    Quote Originally Posted by lightfoot View Post
    Dude, what is your problem?

    ...Adding a smiley doesn't make it any better, really.
    Nothing. Feel free to change the code when installing it on your server, it's not written on stone. I just dont jump cause somebody says so.

    Yes I am rude and mean, I know.

    How about three smilies? Like this
    No? Damn

  27. #27
    Member clOWN's Avatar
    Registered
    Jan 2007
    Location
    OREGON USA
    Posts
    114

    Unhappy Haxor

    But doesn't everyone want a l337 haxor?
    "Your going DOWN clOWN" why did someone have to say this. WHY

  28. #28
    Member westy's Avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    444
    Say, what's different in Ao-RCoreSE ?
    Kept an xmas avatar for 3 year(s).

  29. #29
    Member Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
    Registered
    Sep 2004
    Location
    In before Moses
    Posts
    4,002
    First half of this post explains why it's there. The next few posts involved attempts to find out why it needs to be there.

    I suppose that if you don't want to have to periodically download it, you could copy your Ao-ReactorCore map and rename the copy Ao-RCoreSE.

  30. #30
    Member Felix's Avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt a.M., Germany
    Posts
    986
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzy Bunny View Post
    First half of this post explains why it's there. The next few posts involved attempts to find out why it needs to be there.

    I suppose that if you don't want to have to periodically download it, you could copy your Ao-ReactorCore map and rename the copy Ao-RCoreSE.
    yes

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How can I do campaigns?
    By Joemama in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Mapping
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Aug 2006, 02:34 PM
  2. Unlocked campaigns
    By Butters in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Mapping
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2005, 04:30 PM
  3. Custom Campaigns
    By MjrHuRTz in forum Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2004, 12:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •