Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th May 2004, 03:21 PM   #1
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
'connection failed' whenever I try to join a server

Anyone know how to fix it? I've tried the training and a bit of single player, and this game is utterly amazing.

But uh, I want to play the bloody thing online ¬_¬
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 03:25 PM   #2
modetwo
Webmaster
 
modetwo's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: .no
Posts: 5,059
And you are able to play UT2K4 online? Can you see the AS servers at all?
modetwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 03:31 PM   #3
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
I just tried, and no, I can't get online with UT04 either.

BUT I can play Red Orchestra online.

Oh, and I can see the AS servers, but it says connection failed when I try to join.
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 03:37 PM   #4
Dalai
Project Lead
 
Dalai's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 2,369
Do you have a firewall or router that might be blocking the ports?
Dalai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 03:40 PM   #5
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
Nope, but I'm sure RO UT and AS all use the same ports to connect.
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 03:50 PM   #6
Omega
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: .nl
Posts: 2,813
It might be because of the ini files.
Omega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 03:51 PM   #7
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
any suggestions?
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 04:01 PM   #8
Omega
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: .nl
Posts: 2,813
Tried a fresh install of ut2004?
It could be that RO messed with the ini files, but i'm not sure.
Omega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 04:02 PM   #9
Omega
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: .nl
Posts: 2,813
Also, did you patch to the latest version of ut2004?
Omega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 04:03 PM   #10
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
Yeah.
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 04:35 PM   #11
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
Now it just quits to menu when I try to join muiltiplayer games.
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 04:46 PM   #12
Brody
Member
 
Brody's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Posts: 865
Which Server s do u try to access?

Maybe u cross with a banned ip. Can u send me ur ip via PM?
__________________
A real huge Man will neither stamp on a Worm, nor crawl for an Emperor

Thievery Customs Centre
Vietcong Customs Centre
Brody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 04:52 PM   #13
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
Its not an IP banned, since I tried all of them.
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 04:57 PM   #14
Brody
Member
 
Brody's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Posts: 865
i will speak for myself, but i had copied banned ips from my thievery server to the alienswarm server.
so far the major servers like mogs and ctg (dunno if they have server up) did same, there might be a possibility about crossing banned ips.

its just an idea.
__________________
A real huge Man will neither stamp on a Worm, nor crawl for an Emperor

Thievery Customs Centre
Vietcong Customs Centre
Brody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 05:00 PM   #15
Glum
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 10
I only play RO, and I haven't been banned yet >_>
Glum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 05:05 PM   #16
guspaz
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 15
I had the same connection problem...

Every server I tried to connect to was downloading a 1.8MB file called "jailbreak"... it'd always get a bit in (20% was the furthest it ever got) then I'd get that connection error.

I downloaded jailbreak 2004 and installed it into the UT2004 folder (rather than as a mod), and when I went back into AS, the first server I tried I was able to connect.

I don't know if installing jailbreak actually is why it worked, but meh.

Anyhow, would somebody care to explain why every server has Jailbreak installed? And makes us/me download it?
guspaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 05:08 PM   #17
Tankazz_
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 31
Cuz jailbreak is a fun mod
Tankazz_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 05:19 PM   #18
Dalai
Project Lead
 
Dalai's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 2,369
Hmm, sounds like someone is running a server with the Jailbreak packages in their ServerPackages= lines in the UT2004\AlienSwarm\System\AlienSwarm.ini - they should remove them!

This can happen if the Jailbreak lines were in UT2004's serverpackages= lines already when you went to install, I'm guessing Jailbreak doesn't use its own ini files?
Dalai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2004, 05:20 PM   #19
guspaz
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 15
I don't know, just a large number of the servers tried to download the package files.
guspaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2004, 08:23 AM   #20
Xersues
Member
 
Xersues's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 38
Same thing happened to me with the following:

Jailbreak
Carball
Red Orchestra

I suggest getting rid of RO if you don't play it, it screws with some of your files... After I installed it it reset a lot of my keys and settings. Also 3 of their U-Mods were corrupted. I can also swear it makes the AI dumb ;p

I suggest e-mailing the server admins and tell them what its doing. Or its a big conspiracy to get ppl to get jailbreak :p
Xersues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2004, 01:11 AM   #21
BoS
New Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
I get the same message while trying to join a server. It has never tried to d/l'ed a file though. I too have RO and I highly doubt that is the cause of the corruption as I have other mods installed that run just fine.
BoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jun 2004, 07:39 PM   #22
Meathook
New Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Thumbs up

http://www.ataricommunity.com/forums...nection+failed

check out this thread. I assume this would work for AS, but in Finewolf's second post he has

 Quote:
In your User.ini, section [GUI2K4.UT2k4ServerBrowser]
It changes the CurrentGameType value to xGame.xTeamGame
the 'xgame' stuff would be different for AS. if someone in the know could post that, then we could fix this. ;]

Last edited by Meathook; 4th Jun 2004 at 07:41 PM. Reason: forgot link ;[
Meathook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.