Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Oct 2005, 12:14 PM   #1
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Noob server setup

Basicly, I would like to set up an alienswarm server - I need the exact locations of the mutator files ie where to put them. and 1 command line or how ever many are need to acctivate the resslots 1.2, the minimuts 1.0,SSmutsv1.0, cust camp 1.4.

Moved but no sticky?

The below post WORKS.

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 13th Oct 2005 at 07:20 PM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Oct 2005, 06:18 PM   #2
NoData
Member
 
NoData's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 889
Files:
-Resslot Mutator v1.2:

Extract the AoResslot.u file to UT2004/Alienswarm/System
Extract AoResslot.ucl, Resslots.u and Resslots.ini to UT2004/System

Open UT2004/Alienswarm/System/AlienSwarm.ini and add the following section to the file:
Code:
[AoResslot.MutAoResslot]
bCanTakeLeadership=true
bDebug=false
bRestrictedServer=false
ExtraSlots=0
-Fix Voip (Minimuts 1.0):

*Fixed in v1.3 of AlienSwarm. Info removed.

-FF indicator (Minimuts 1.0):

Extract the AoMiniMuts.u file to UT2004/Alienswarm/System
Extract the AoMiniMuts.ucl file to UT2004/System

-SSmuts v1.0

Extract SSMuts.u, SSMuts.ucl SSMuts.int to UT2004/System

-Custom Campaign Mutator v1.5:

Now directly included in v1.3 of AlienSwarm. Server admin need to install a little fix, you can find it
here

From the console:

open AO-Research?Mutator=AoResslot.MutAoResslot,SSMuts.Mut AdminStuff,AoMiniMuts.MutAoFFIndicator?AdminPasswo rd=XXX -mod=AlienSwarm

From the RunServer.bat file:

Code:
@echo off
:10
ucc server AO-Research?Mutator=AoResslot.MutAoResslot,SSMuts.MutAdminStuff,AoMiniMuts.MutAoFFIndicator?AdminPassword=XXX -mod=AlienSwarm
copy server.log servercrash.log
goto 10

Important:


-Change the server password form "?AdminPassword=XXX" to "?AdminPassword=WhateverYouWant"
-Add the number of reserved slot you want before you lunch the server.

Thats all you need to run a good server! Plus 2-3 littles tweaks in AlienSwarm.ini for the net speed...

Code:
[IpDrv.TcpNetDriver]
AllowDownloads=True
MaxInternetClientRate=10000 *
NetServerMaxTickRate=15 *
*: Minimum acceptable, under this, ppl are probably gonna lag.

Best setting is:
Code:
MaxInternetClientRate=20000
NetServerMaxTickRate=25
But cost a lot of upload bandwitdh & heat up the cpu...

Need more info? PM me... Good luck!
__________________
My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2

Last edited by NoData; 26th Dec 2005 at 09:11 PM.
NoData is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2005, 06:26 AM   #3
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
Sticky this!

And actually, netspeed is a little more complicated. It's merely a cap, when it exceeds the limit it will stop replicating the least important things, a bit of this is acceptable, too much is somewhat akin to packetloss. It is better to limit netspeed than run out of bandwidth, so set this value to a bit less than your upload bandwidth devided by the number of slots on your server. You see the effect of too low netspeed a lot in Onslaught games with over 16 players where the default netspeed of 10000 is vastly insufficient. There's also some new things in ut2003/4 with regard to compression being applied which would trade bandwidth use for CPU use, but i don't think that's very relevant here as ASw isn't that heavy anyway.

Tickrate on the other hand directly influences the amount of bandwidth used at any given time, so if you're bandwidth starved, i think your best bet is a low tickrate (~15) to prevent lag.
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2005, 05:09 PM   #4
NoData
Member
 
NoData's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 889
About net speed...

MaxInternetClientRate=8000 is really the minimum acceptable for a server with 6 players on a standard map. Under this, in huge instant of action, server refuse to send important package to client. 1 player alone need only 2-3000 maximum, 2 players need 3-4000 each, 3 players needs 4-5000 each... More player theres online, more bandwith per player your server will need. For 8 players, 10000 is ok, 15000 is great and 20000 kicks some ass (can be really usefull for "server killer" map, but be sure to have an high upload capacity before using high settings). Higher than this is not really usefull, except for server with excessive TickRate, 30 and more.

NetServerMaxTickRate=20 is the minimum to use with 6 players at 8000. You can try a TickRate of 15, but lag can occur if there too many action. In fact, TickRate is the "frequence" of cpu in time to refresh information. Better TickRate give better ping, but use more cpu/bandwith. You need a good balance between each. Anti-hyper-dooper-lag-free LAN setting? TickRate of 40 and Banwith of 30000! And a really fockin good machine

"Standard" map:
Campaign: Sigma, Ortega, Phalanx (all exect Phl3-Greenhouse) and Upsilon (all exect LostContact-SE8).
Single map: 2NiceBoxesofShit, BehemothTournament, DanselResearchFacility, WeaponFacility and every DeathMatch maps.

"Server Killer" map: Depot, LostContact-SE8, BugCity, HoldOut, HoldOutEXTREME, BugPlanet2, DM-CrabShack, Paranoia, Phl3-Greenhouse...

Correct me Pest if im wrong
__________________
My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2
NoData is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2005, 07:22 PM   #5
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
I dont think that much more bandwidth is used as you play with more players, most of it is the swarms of aliens.

And yes, tickrate does increase the reported ping, but this alone does not make it any more laggy. Because movement is extrapolated, its not like a lower tickrate will cause stuff to happen later on your screen, and the client still replicates to the server every frame or every two frames (if your fps are high), so the critical path is unaffected in most cases. I can imagine ASw being a little bit more sensitive though because of the hordes of aliens with sometimes unpredictable movements, as opposed to players walking and jumping in deathmatch, or vehicles in onslaught.

The only way to make truly valid claims is to test. I do know THN sometimes ticks below 20 as other games are taxing the cpu, which doesn't always cause lag. The first thing you usually notice is map loading times increasing. I've never seen bandwidth swell over 10000 except in bugcity, but i don't always monitor it, so it may have on normal campaigns as well. It's usually 3-6k regardless of the number of players. But again, this is only from quick glances whilst playing with stat net enable (which i do about half the time).
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2005, 02:21 PM   #6
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Quote:
"Server Killer" map:
You missed infested.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Oct 2005, 02:46 PM   #7
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Exclamation

I have set up a jolt server at.

195.149.21.75:7777

The server's install is at has 3339 with the ons things that you're forced to download..

The fix for anyone that needs it is at:

http://forums.blackcatgames.com/showthread.php?t=5530

Spy on it at:

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 15th Dec 2005 at 04:05 PM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Oct 2005, 08:46 PM   #8
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
Ah, nice. I was wondering who's the jolt server was.
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 02:57 AM   #9
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Quote:
It is de-branded, I need your help to fix the MOTD, I figured the jolt in the name would get people to join.
Fixed

 Quote:
Does anyone know where I download lostcontact both versions as zip files?
Jolt dont have win rar.
Fixed

P.S. We can take infested

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 16th Oct 2005 at 05:46 AM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 03:19 AM   #10
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
You could un-rar them first on your own compy, then upload the files invidually or zip them up and upload them all at once.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 06:59 AM   #11
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
I am going to upload some more maps in a few days when I a round my mates house, unless he gives me access at home.

 Quote:
Also is the server size 0/6 or 0/8, the resslots are set too 2.
0/6 +2

 Quote:
and motd is not in the middle like other servers and i dont know how to do that.
Fixed

Theres a few tweaks i need to do, and i need to know about server maintanance, i can backup resslot.in and alienswarm.ini, buts thats it. Atm i dont have ftp access to the server, cus my mate isnt alwasy there when i go over.
 Quote:
But the server has IE so i can download files to it, anyone intrested in hosting lostcontact and lostcontact-se8 as zip files.
Fixed

The jolt server's ut2004 folder has no music folder so its missing any music files anyone needs. Although i made one for the maps(and ASw) that come with music.

 Quote:
I also dont know how to work webserver - i did enable it.
Fixed

Teamspeak is also running at the location for the SOAT clan(soat.servegame.com).

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 16th Oct 2005 at 05:46 AM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 12:07 PM   #12
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Quote:
It seems that my friend is running a full 64 player BF2 server, FFS.
Fixed this

Some errors are poping up regarding missing files, im guessing music files, jolts install had no music. i dont know which are needed, but behomoth touney wont work - there are others.

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 15th Oct 2005 at 12:54 PM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 08:53 AM   #13
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
The campaigns are saved in the alienswarm.ini. That's probably why it does that at first.


Also...
 Quote:
The server's install is at has 3339 with the ons things that you're forced to download..
Is that still a problem? You should fix it server-side by removing the OnslaughtBP from alienswarm.ini server packages.
__________________
Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 09:47 AM   #14
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
If it's a windows machine and you can download things with internet explorer, just download and install winrar?

I could also recommend patching to 3355, http://download.beyondunreal.com/browse.php?cat=3 is a good place to get all these things.
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 12:37 PM   #15
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Quote:
i'll just wait till my friend can be bothered to load it up by ftp.
Fixed

DQ - see above.

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 16th Oct 2005 at 05:47 AM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 01:51 PM   #16
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
No one wants to download the Onslaught Bonus Pack shit.

I'm talking about fixing the server.


Also, I'm confused, but that's nothing new.
__________________
Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 03:47 PM   #17
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
the only problem that affects anyone is that it doesnt have prority over the bf2 server, and ppl dl maps from it SLOW.



or so they say
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 11:20 PM   #18
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
You could ask Pest for access to the redirect server
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2005, 05:11 AM   #19
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
No, I just need to increase the speed. I know its a setting somewhere.


 Quote:
[IpDrv.TcpNetDriver]
AllowDownloads=True
MaxInternetClientRate=8000 *
NetServerMaxTickRate=20 *
I belive i did this instead of:

 Quote:
MaxInternetClientRate=20000
NetServerMaxTickRate=30
Whats the commands to change ingame?

 Quote:
And actually, netspeed is a little more complicated. It's merely a cap, when it exceeds the limit it will stop replicating the least important things, a bit of this is acceptable, too much is somewhat akin to packetloss.
I belive this can be observer on the jolt server when the textures refesh as such. they appear at different times on screen i think.

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 16th Oct 2005 at 05:42 AM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2005, 06:01 AM   #20
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
ND; where can i get the unlock mutator?
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2005, 06:31 AM   #21
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
On windows i don't think it's a very wise idea to increase the tickrate above 20 for a public, 8 player server. Just my 2c.

Up the clientrate to 60000 or something, only downloads will be affected because as i said before, it's a cap, it'll never actually use that much for the actual game, anyway.

And surely jolt offer some sort of http redir service, too?
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2005, 10:38 AM   #22
NoData
Member
 
NoData's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 889
 Originally Posted by Ki!ler-Mk1:
ND; where can i get the unlock mutator?
Here!
__________________
My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2
NoData is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2005, 11:54 AM   #23
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
You guys are so helpful. I wish the moerater was
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2005, 06:20 PM   #24
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
It isn't a politician's job to be honest.
It isn't an executioner's job to be kind.
It isn't an admin's job to be nice.
It isn't a moderator's job to be helpful.
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2005, 10:36 AM   #25
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Shnooter shut down the asw server because it was using up 100,000K in the "mem Usage" collum in the windows task manager.
hesaid that his 32player joint ops server was lagging becasue of it with only a few ppl in it, he also said the asw server was causing this lag when it was empty. when 1.3 comes out we're gonig to review the problem, so basicly i need to drop it below 80,000k at all times and below 60,000k empty.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2005, 07:25 AM   #26
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Can this receive 1.3 & Telic updates?
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2005, 08:43 PM   #27
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
And a sticky?
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2005, 09:02 PM   #28
NoData
Member
 
NoData's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 889
 Originally Posted by Fuzzy Bunny:
And a sticky?
Now fixed on some point: VOIP is fixed and custom camp. mutator is now included, but need to be fixed with the fix 1.5b (for server only)
__________________
My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2

Last edited by NoData; 26th Dec 2005 at 09:12 PM.
NoData is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I setup a private LAN server Venus Thievery Discussion 4 26th Nov 2004 11:35 AM
UT2k4 mods and setup.exe Firetiger Troubleshooting & Technical Help 4 21st Nov 2004 01:49 PM
EDG Vs KYO match setup & aftermath DhaThief Thievery Guilds 18 5th Apr 2003 03:15 PM
TuF/KYO Match Setup DhaThief Thievery Guilds 44 15th Mar 2003 10:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.