Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Sep 2007, 05:52 AM   #1
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
Exclamation WWW.ALIENSWARM.DE is online

http://forums.blackcatgames.com/showthread.php?t=10286
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2007, 08:55 AM   #2
V@MVampirE
New Member
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Hi Felix.
IP in http://www.alienswarm.de/ have a mistake.

78.47.173.82:7777 will give connection failed.
78.47.173.182:7777 like in Rob's post :]

Last edited by V@MVampirE; 28th Sep 2007 at 09:11 AM.
V@MVampirE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2007, 01:56 PM   #3
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
Cargo is fully unlocked. Frolic in your glee.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2007, 02:12 PM   #4
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by V@MVampirE: ( link to post ) 
Hi Felix.
IP in http://www.alienswarm.de/ have a mistake.

78.47.173.82:7777 will give connection failed.
78.47.173.182:7777 like in Rob's post :]
True . Fixed
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2007, 05:48 PM   #5
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
RIFTS doesn't seem to be enabled .. surely this is an oversight?!
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2007, 07:14 PM   #6
Baz
Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: 0xbaadf00d
Posts: 3,094
Shirley you mean Ubersight? (see what I did there?)
__________________
..it's safer here.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2007, 08:21 PM   #7
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by Moses2k: ( link to post ) 
RIFTS doesn't seem to be enabled .. surely this is an oversight?!
No, due to server crashes on Rob's I dont want to install it.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2007, 08:37 PM   #8
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
Man, who beta-tested that stuff? =\

Oh wait...
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Sep 2007, 04:00 PM   #9
V@MVampirE
New Member
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Rift on Rob's work fine to me. It have problems sometime but, when we play last time rift code works good. And Mustard Mod is L33T :]
__________________
I'm out!
V@MVampirE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2007, 06:15 AM   #10
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by V@MVampirE: ( link to post ) 
Rift on Rob's work fine to me. It have problems sometime but, when we play last time rift code works good. And Mustard Mod is L33T :]
Yes, it works fine. But when certain circumstances occur the server crashes.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Sep 2007, 03:26 PM   #11
cerevox
New Member
 
cerevox's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 20
could you just tell us what those circumstances are and we avoid them?
__________________
"Children in the back seat cause accidents. Accidents in the back seat cause children."
cerevox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Oct 2007, 01:53 AM   #12
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by cerevox: ( link to post ) 
could you just tell us what those circumstances are and we avoid them?
Not realy I could not find a pattern and it's kind of hard to debug it.

Last edited by Felix; 1st Oct 2007 at 03:33 AM. Reason: New Information from Rob
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Oct 2007, 03:32 AM   #13
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
Rob's server crashed again yesterday. It never did before (always ISP issues when it was not reachable), so this must be because of RIFT. We had it disabled a while and it was stable again.

Sorry, but this means no RIFT (in this version) on alienswarm.de
New weapons are cool, but it's not worth the effort.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Oct 2007, 08:10 AM   #14
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Originally Posted by Felix: ( link to post ) 
Rob's server crashed again yesterday. It never did before (always ISP issues when it was not reachable), so this must be because of RIFT. We had it disabled a while and it was stable again.

Sorry, but this means no RIFT (in this version) on alienswarm.de
New weapons are cool, but it's not worth the effort.
One server running them is quite enough.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2007, 01:03 PM   #15
SqUEE
Member
 
SqUEE's Avatar
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 230
 Originally Posted by Felix: ( link to post ) 
New weapons are cool, but it's not worth the effort.
No, they are not cool, they are dumb.

All the new weapons are a disgrace
SqUEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2007, 05:31 PM   #16
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
Pistol phasers suck. Photon torpedoes suck. Krypton sucks.

Also, "so's yer ma".
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2007, 07:41 PM   #17
Baz
Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: 0xbaadf00d
Posts: 3,094
I think you'll find the phase is "an' yer ma".
__________________
..it's safer here.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Oct 2007, 07:18 AM   #18
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
I think I found a "reproduceable" (not realy, but it happend twice now) bug: when Del used the modded GL, switching to 2nd firemode and exploding lots of cluster-granades the server crashed.
That happend before.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2007, 09:16 AM   #19
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
New Server "WWW.ALIENSWARM.DE #2 RIFTCODE" is running on this box with the IP 78.47.173.181:7777 HAVE FUN!!!

RiftCode seems to run just fine on it. No crash yet.

Maybe Bill Gates is wrong and Linux is way more awesome as he thought.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2007, 11:28 AM   #20
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Would you consider disabling the EFR code and items in non efr maps on the other server? I say this because everyone uses EFR stuff and it sucks outside of donators EFR maps.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2007, 12:51 PM   #21
Hybrid
Member
 
Hybrid's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,957
Nuh-uh. I can't live without my landmines.
Hybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2007, 04:02 AM   #22
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by Ki!ler-Mk1: ( link to post ) 
Would you consider disabling the EFR code and items in non efr maps on the other server? I say this because everyone uses EFR stuff and it sucks outside of donators EFR maps.
I dont know.
I personaly like to have the shield for example. It does not kill the balance of the maps and makes so much fun. Also it's not map specific.
Landmines are useless and dont change anything.
Site-ex is a difference, but why have it on EFR and not on other maps? It's not map specific.

I think the only item that changes it all a lot is the akira. Though, I guess I would rather leave it up to the team if they want to use it or not.

If there are a lot votes for disabeling the EFR stuff then we might turn it off.

@Rob your opinion to this?
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2007, 04:51 AM   #23
Rob
Member
 
Rob's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posts: 56
EFR stuff makes more variations of the maps...

Team can decide to take EFR stuff or not...

I vote "NO" to disable EFR.
__________________
Just for fun
alienswarm.de

Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2007, 02:32 PM   #24
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Originally Posted by Rob: ( link to post ) 
EFR stuff makes more easier variations of the maps...

Team can decide to take EFR stuff or not...

I vote "NO" to disable EFR.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2007, 02:36 PM   #25
Rob
Member
 
Rob's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posts: 56
 Originally Posted by Ki!ler-Mk1: ( link to post ) 
One variation is: pimp my gun for best TK
__________________
Just for fun
alienswarm.de

Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2007, 04:23 AM   #26
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
Even on the Linux-Box it is not running 100% stable
Curse you Donator!!!
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2007, 04:25 AM   #27
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
Blame Moses, he was the beta tester.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2007, 04:40 AM   #28
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by Fuzzy Bunny: ( link to post ) 
Blame Moses, he was the beta tester.
No, it runs for hours even days but then the server crashes. No single man could have found that bug. That is not toooooo bad but for e.g. the "main" server without rift runs 100% stable. It has never crashed on this machine.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2007, 07:41 AM   #29
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
I'm more machine than man, these days.
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2007, 05:15 PM   #30
reemulmyu
Member
 
reemulmyu's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: uk:somewhere in the verse
Posts: 587
yes we know darth2k4
__________________
also known as mega ,On the internet, everyone can hear you scream - it's just that no-one cares.except moses{also been known to use rapidfire}was also here before fuzzy and moses
reemulmyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can i get AlienSwarm for UT2003? lehusan Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 8 2nd Jul 2006 01:25 AM
Its the AlienSwarm map quiz! reallybadplayer Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 33 25th Nov 2005 05:52 AM
THN Alienswarm down. Pestcontrol Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 19 15th Oct 2005 09:41 AM
Can't get alienswarm to start Infammo Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 2 2nd Jul 2004 06:18 PM
Mac AlienSwarm scotty512 Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 9 18th Jun 2004 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.