Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm Forums > Alien Swarm SDK Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Jul 2010, 03:53 AM   #1
pnx
New Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Overwrite Textures in the game

hey everyone

I got the following problem:

After editing the Marine skin's, i want to view them ingame.
But i cant figure out a way to get the game use my textures instead of the ones in the vpk files.
Even if i create a mod and put them in there in the materialsrc they are not used.

can someone help me with that?

thanks, pnx!
pnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2010, 11:53 AM   #2
Dalai
Project Lead
 
Dalai's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 2,369
To override files in the base VPKs, you have to put them into a VPK of your own.
Dalai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2010, 11:57 AM   #3
pnx
New Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
hm, okay.

Where does the vpk has to be placed? is the addons/mymod/ folder the right one?
and then in the vpk the folder structure like "materials/models/etc"?
thanks!

edit:

I just tried putting the new vpk into the addons folder: doenst work (even with checked mod in the addons dialog ingame)
tried to put the vpk into the swarm folder, also does not work

Last edited by pnx; 28th Jul 2010 at 03:45 PM.
pnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jul 2010, 09:43 PM   #4
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
There was an update on this issue so you might want to try again.
"- Addon VPKs get priority over base VPKs"

The vpk file needs to be placed like this:
\swarm\addons\teslapower.vpk



When creating your addon the developer wiki says to make the folder structure like:
\swarm\addons\TeslaPower\
\swarm\addons\TeslaPower\addoninfo.txt
\swarm\addons\TeslaPower\models\
\swarm\addons\TeslaPower\materials\
etc.

However, since you're gonna pack it into a VPK file anyway it doesn't really matter where that TeslaPower folder is located. I like to have my stuff at:
\swarm\TeslaPower\

The game itself won't find the files there (and thus I won't have two addons listed in-game) and when I drag'n'drop that folder into vpk.exe I'll just move the resulting teslapower.vpk into the \swarm\addons\ folder manually.

[/rant]
__________________
Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jul 2010, 10:08 PM   #5
Stein
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 102
Dalai also added the command line option -override_vpk, which, if I'm not mistaken will allow it to work without using a VPK (if you want to test things first before packaging it, this is very useful).
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2010, 03:21 AM   #6
pnx
New Member
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Yeah i just tried out to use my mod again and it worked
The -override_vpk will be pretty damn useful
thank you !
pnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Textures and models Shiro Alien Swarm Discussion 26 3rd Apr 2006 02:35 PM
High resolution textures for Thief:DS Skull Community Chat 12 24th Jun 2004 11:54 PM
What have I done to my textures? Entropy Troubleshooting & Technical Help 20 22nd Jul 2003 07:03 AM
Theif Textures and model THrͧt UpʮT Troubleshooting & Technical Help 4 9th Jun 2003 04:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.