Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Aug 2004, 04:41 PM   #1
coandco
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
AS Freezes on LAN Browser screen

Hi!
Hey, I just found out about Alien Swarm... Kick-*** game in singleplayer. However, for some reason I can't play multi, because my computer freezes solid every time I click the LAN Browser button under the Join Game screen. Any idea what the problem might be, or ways to get around it? I'm running patch 3236.

Are there any command-line arguments I can use to tell the game to connect to a specific IP apart from the LAN Browser? If there are, that would prolly be the easiest way of getting around the freezing problem.

Thanks!

Clint Olson
co-n-co at mochamail dot com
coandco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2004, 05:03 PM   #2
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
Hmm. I dunno why the LAN Browser wouldn't be working, but you can open the console and type "open 123.45.67.89" to connect to a certain IP address...

Also, I think the correct command line would be:

AlienSwarm.exe 123.45.67.89
or
UT2004.exe 123.45.67.89 -mod=AlienSwarm
__________________
Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2004, 05:30 PM   #3
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
Actually, I have the same problem with UT's LAN browser, but only when I'm not connected to the internet. Its seems that when you click on 'LAN' it feels it needs to connect to the master server, and it freezes until you connect, or until it times out (which seems to be a really long time.) If you wait long enough, it should work. Long enough being upwards of two minutes sometimes. Or you could try changing the connection options to 56k, this seems to help.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2004, 07:46 PM   #4
coandco
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
 Originally Posted by DeepQantas:
Hmm. I dunno why the LAN Browser wouldn't be working, but you can open the console and type "open 123.45.67.89" to connect to a certain IP address...

Also, I think the correct command line would be:

AlienSwarm.exe 123.45.67.89
or
UT2004.exe 123.45.67.89 -mod=AlienSwarm
The "open ip.address" method worked for me just dandy. Thank you very much for helping me!

Clint Olson
co-n-co at mochamail dot com
coandco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2004, 10:00 PM   #5
Taika
Member
 
Taika's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: SoCal, wayyy north of LA, USA
Posts: 469
D, i think before you can even go via lan you have to have at least some attempted connectiong with the master server...
__________________

Wait a sec...I thought you said Crash always died O.o....I'm not dead yet
Taika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Aug 2004, 10:14 PM   #6
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
It doesn't freeze until you go to LAN, and it doesn't unfreeze until you get the "Master server could not be reached" message.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.