Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st Jul 2004, 07:54 PM   #1
Thalaxasis
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
N/a

I'm seeing a huge number of N/A servers.

Why?
Thalaxasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2004, 09:12 PM   #2
fluffy
Member
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 613
I think thatís what happens when a firewall isnít correctly configured for hosting online games. The only thing that gets through is the serverinfo messages to the masterserver. Also, if you see people playing on N/A servers, or see the same server never working, they are probably LAN games that havenít disabled the advertising function. I could be way wrong about this but I recall overhearing something like that, and it makes sense to me. It's kind of silly that these servers are enlisted by default though...
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2004, 12:18 PM   #3
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
I think servers that ping out show as N/A as well?
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2004, 12:55 PM   #4
Sohtaraz
Member
 
Sohtaraz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 285
 Originally Posted by Carth:
I think servers that ping out show as N/A as well?
PING NOT AVAIBLE might sound like ping out(="PING NOT AVAIBLE DO TO HIGH PING OR TOO MANY NUMBERS") might have something to do with it... Its the game engine that dosnt want more then 3-4 numbers on the ping list, and its quite stupid to ping a server what has over 10k of ping...
Sohtaraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2004, 02:11 PM   #5
valle
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Hello. I tried to host an internet server on WinXP and got the help to open up all ports needed on my firewall but I still get N/A and no one can connect. Anyone know what I can do ?

Ports open:
7777 UDP/IP Game Port
7778 UDP/IP Query Port
7787 UDP/IP GameSpy uplink
28902 TCP/IP Master Server uplink

edit > Sorry for posting here by the way

edit2 > I just tried turning off the firewall and I still experience the same problem.
valle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2004, 03:15 PM   #6
Taika
Member
 
Taika's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: SoCal, wayyy north of LA, USA
Posts: 469
i do not know how to help and, don't mean to sound harsh, you will probably get better answers by making a new thread in the tech help section.
__________________

Wait a sec...I thought you said Crash always died O.o....I'm not dead yet
Taika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2004, 04:21 PM   #7
tank hunter
Member
 
tank hunter's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: I am not here. If anyone sees me, it is mission failed.
Posts: 780
The N/A thing may also happen when the server "blocks" incoming pings from outside (possibly doing lan game but using IP address for the "join" or they got firewall up as well...)
__________________
I am gone...Radars won't pick me up
tank hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.