Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Mapping

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Feb 2005, 12:07 PM   #1
TR Team
New Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Out in the provences
Posts: 3
Arrow New campaign

We are trying to make a new campaign for AS and we have several maps and a campaign lobby done but we don't know how to make it all into a campaign.

Specificaly we would like a way to get a new campaign in with out changing the the base AS code, and how to tie the maps together as a unit.

BTW we are a team using one account so the faces go with different people. TNX for understanding.

There will be some screen shots on the site once I get off my lazy bum.
TR Team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Feb 2005, 12:15 PM   #2
Butters
Member
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: >:D-/-<
Posts: 593
You could use the custom campaign mutator to tie the maps into a campaign just by editing an ini file. With some additional modifications you could also hook in a custom lobby screen. You could catch either smattbac or me in irc.starchat.net if you want help doing this.
__________________
--

Last edited by Butters; 16th Feb 2005 at 12:25 PM.
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Feb 2005, 12:38 PM   #3
fluffy
Member
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 613
Very exciting news TR Team, I'm really looking forward to see those screenshots!
Whats is the url btw?

Oh yeah, and the starchat channel is simply called #alienswarm
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Feb 2005, 04:40 PM   #4
Behind You
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Where do you think?
Posts: 508
Excellent, two new campaigns coming out soon
So many campaigns, so little time
__________________
Behind You Durandal Traikan in game.
Behind You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Feb 2005, 11:27 PM   #5
TR Team
New Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Out in the provences
Posts: 3
Thanks for the rapid response. But now I have another question, is there any way to add or edit characters?
TR Team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2005, 12:19 AM   #6
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
Not easily. It would be a big-time code hack, and likely quite difficult to do.

EDIT: On second thought, I do remember seeing a character edited to have a different name/picture/appearance/etc. but I think it involved editing the base Swarm code, which you don't want to do.
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2005, 02:05 AM   #7
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
I think Dalai has said a couple of times that if someone makes a proper campaign, he'll put it in the game. Or maybe it was about proper support for custom campaigns if someone actually makes one.

Something along those lines.
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2005, 02:34 AM   #8
fluffy
Member
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 613
Yup, I've read something like that too. The future of Alien Swarm looks bright.
2 custom campaigns and official material in the making

EDIT: I wanna see screenies now!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2005, 01:37 PM   #9
steroids
Member
 
steroids's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 48
cool
steroids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2005, 06:28 PM   #10
WildBill
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Shadows
Posts: 2,808
 Originally Posted by DeepQantas:
I think Dalai has said a couple of times that if someone makes a proper campaign, he'll put it in the game. Or maybe it was about proper support for custom campaigns if someone actually makes one.

Something along those lines.
Proper support, I believe it was.
__________________
Nearly all men can stand adversity -- if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.
WildBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2005, 06:49 PM   #11
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
 Originally Posted by Dalai:
I will add support for this, if a (good quality) campaign is made.
http://forums.blackcatgames.com/showthread.php?t=4295

That was a long time ago though, the trouble now is how it will fit in with smattbac's custom campaign mutator.
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2005, 07:27 PM   #12
Butters
Member
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: >:D-/-<
Posts: 593
Easy.. if it's already in the game, there's no need for a mutator
__________________
--
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2005, 11:45 AM   #13
TR Team
New Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Out in the provences
Posts: 3
The web site is up.
the TR page
Complete with the much requested screenies.
Even though our maps aren't nearly as leet as some of the others going around.
TR Team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2005, 12:29 PM   #14
Behind You
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Where do you think?
Posts: 508
Looking very good, I can't wait for the release
__________________
Behind You Durandal Traikan in game.
Behind You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Feb 2005, 01:04 PM   #15
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
Looks nice

 Quote:
even don on some EV suits to take on missions outside the station
Sounds good
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2005, 09:36 AM   #16
Butters
Member
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: >:D-/-<
Posts: 593
Looks hmm.. original.

I think outdoor maps are be very tricky to design for ASw. The two other custom maps that attempted outdoor settings (BugPlanet and BugCity) are full of problems and have a high performance hit. If they're done well they'd be a welcome change from the usual environment though. Keep it up.



PS. LostContact is set mainly indoors, the outdoor terrain areas are just for transit.
__________________
--

Last edited by Butters; 22nd Feb 2005 at 11:40 AM.
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2005, 09:58 AM   #17
Johnathan
Member
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz and Moses
Posts: 556
*pokes butters*
Lost contact?
__________________
Johnathan, the archetype Front Line Medic
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.