Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Mapping

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Aug 2005, 04:38 PM   #1
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Smile Mapping help

Hey, I'd really like to map for AS, but I am really stuck, I don't have a clue now to.

I have mapped for the unreal engine before, so I know it reasonably well, although I could do with touching up on a few bits, but I am still completely lost for AS.

I have searched for tutorials, and help for AS mapping is shit/non-existant from what I have seen, there aren't any tutorials I can find on the web.

So far the most I have managed is to open the AS editor.

Can anyone help me, what should I do to get a map going?

Thanks for any help.
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2005, 04:42 PM   #2
NoData
Member
 
NoData's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 889
What about official web site? http://www.blackcatgames.com/swarm/mappingdocs
__________________
My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2
NoData is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2005, 04:43 PM   #3
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
Plus, there's a whole section in the unofficial FAQ dedicated to it... http://forums.blackcatgames.com/showthread.php?t=4814#2
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2005, 04:53 PM   #4
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
This lack of Googling skillz does not bode well for you, I'm afraid.
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2005, 05:07 PM   #5
DarkLord75
Member
 
DarkLord75's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Peace on Earth!
Posts: 1,562
Buchus had a very good link about mapping, thats how i made my first map... Hmm. Now that i think of it it was a mapping guide for the original UT. Maybe thats why my map sucked.
__________________
"Spera: Ooh! Ooh! You hear that? A bird singing out amidst our desolation. It's a miracle. The miracle called supper."

--Lucifer #28, Breaking & Entering
DarkLord75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Aug 2005, 06:09 PM   #6
UArchitect
Member
 
UArchitect's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 710
 Originally Posted by NoData:
What about official web site? http://www.blackcatgames.com/swarm/mappingdocs
seconded!
UArchitect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 05:46 AM   #7
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Thanks all.

I have tried to google but I only got FAQ's that didn't actually help, I can only seem to find things about mapping for further on, things about people asking how to make doors etc. Where as I am still trying to find the first thing to do after opening the editor.

I tried reading the basic principles on the mapping docs when I first tried to map for it, but I didn't really understand it, I was hoping there was a more noob-friendly way of doing it.

Because I don't really get the fact that it already has a map donei n the first screenie, I kinda meant more of a 'First click ... to do ...' kind of thing so I'd pick it up, but this seems to jsut kinda drop you into it.

I don't understand how there isn't ceilings on the rooms, or how you carve into the map, when there isn't anything there to carve? Or does carve mean something different to what I thought it does? Or if once you've done all that, the camera is up there already, or if you have to place a camera there or what.

Sorry dudes for being a uber-noob, but I wanna learn how to map for AS as I like mapping for things, but I can't get my head around it.

I'm reading up on some ut2k4 tutorials at the moment.
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 06:36 AM   #8
fluffy
Member
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 613
I thought you mentioned knowing the basics of UT mapping. ASw mapping isn't that much different and the mapping docs on the Alien Swarm homepage should be enough to make your first box.

When you start a new project, the entire map is solid mass (think rock perhaps). You have to carve the space (air) where your players, static meshes etc will be. Since the camera moves above your carved rooms, a carved space is required for the camera as well. And you don't place the camera yourself, so don't worry about that. All this is explained in the ASw specific docs together with doors, spawners etc. If it doesn't come to you through words, open the most basic ASw map you know and have a look at it.

So, in order to test a ASw box you need to carve a room, carve camera space, place a light(actor) and place a player start(actor).

If you need help getting started with general UT mapping and have the bandwidth, I recommend downloading the VTMs from www.3dbuzz.com. Or read about basics in the Architectonic guide. After the first few lessons, read the Alien Swarm mapping docs. Good luck!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 06:37 AM   #9
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
You start with a block of everythingness. Click the cube tool and make it a suitable size, then click subtract to remove some of the everythingness, and there you have a room. Continue subtracting areas to make more rooms, connecting corridors etc.

Select surfaces and then click a texture in the texture browser to apply that texture.

Put a player start where you want the map to start.

You can read stuff like that in any UT2004 tutorial, the only way ASw is different, are you need to add aliens, set up doors, and make room for the camera, and those are what are explained in the Alien Swarm mapping docs.

To make room for the camera, make a giant box, about 512 units high, and place it above all of the rooms, then subtract it. It's a good idea to choose Engine.Black as the texture before subtracting, because you want anything that isn't part of your map to appear black. Just as when you subtract a box next to another box to connect them, subtracting this one next to the ceiling will remove the ceiling (or raise it actually).

When making the map, think of the camera looking down and what it sees.

Sorry I can't explain it any better, if you're still not sure about the whole ceiling thing, just ask again

Edit: Fluffy beat me to it
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 10:59 AM   #10
Phantaloz
Member
 
Phantaloz's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Not France
Posts: 1,754
Ao-2NiceBoxesofShit will give you a good start! Take a look at it
__________________
The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy
Phantaloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 11:52 AM   #11
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Thanks everyone, that is awesome, I shall try it now.

The main thing I was confused about was the whole camera and seeing inside the rooms, but I guess I get it now.

Thanks all.
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 11:54 AM   #12
Bucchus
Member
 
Bucchus's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Visitor centre
Posts: 1,517
 Originally Posted by DarkLord75:
Buchus had a very good link about mapping, thats how i made my first map...
Are you sure? I don't recall linking any mapping tutorials. I'm not a mapper, I've read maybe a few pages of such a thing but never gotten farther.
__________________
My cats are black! How about yours?
Bucchus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 01:08 PM   #13
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Hmm, can anyone explain this to me please? I don't quite understand what the red builder brush is.

You will also need to place a BlockingVolume in the space above the rooms, so the player can't jump his marines out the top of the rooms and run about on top of the walls. To place a BlockingVolume, position your red builder brush and click the Volume button on the left. Set the BlockingVolume to bClassBlocker=true and add AoMarine to the BlockedClasses list. This way the volume will just block the marines and not the camera.
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 01:18 PM   #14
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
The "red builder brush" is the red wire frame cube you get when you go to subtract something from the map's everythingness. It's kind of like your tool. It can also be a sphere, cone, cylindar, etc. but you'll only ever have one.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 01:27 PM   #15
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Thanks all, I have made a very basic map, which works.

It is only a square 256 x256 x256 with a light and spawn, but it has the black space above it for the camera and a blocking volume.

__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 06:37 PM   #16
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Hey, I need *more* help.

I am onto trying to put doors into my map, does anyone happen to know where it is located in static meshes?
I can't find anything obviously labelled 'Doors', they are all obscure names, so does anyone know??
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 07:17 PM   #17
fluffy
Member
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 613
Open a map with the door type you want, I think that if you right click the door mesh and select properties the source package name is revealed. Simply search for the package in the StaticMeshes folder. Another sollution is to copy and paste the door meshes directly from another map (cheating) but it probably ruins a healthy exercise.
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 07:58 PM   #18
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Sorry, I don't understand what you mean.

I have made a map, and I wanan put a door in, it is a static mesh, and there are a load of packages of static meshes, do you know which one the doors are in?

Or can you explain your method a bit more? :S
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 08:18 PM   #19
fluffy
Member
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 613
I can't remember if the doors normally used in ASw are from UT2004 or custom Alien Swarm doors (I think they are custom). If they are custom they should be easy to find in one of the packages in UT2004/AlienSwarm/StaticMeshes/. If they are in UT2004/StaticMeshes/ i realize it can be a bit overwhelming to search for them.

So I repeat, open a map that contains the door you like. Select the door mesh (not the actors sparkcylinder/doorarea, but the mesh itself) and right click it -> select properties. I'm quite positive the name of the package it came from is somewhere in the window that pops up.

Or select the mesh -> righ click and choose copy, open your map and paste the door.

I'm not a mapper myself, and I'm not by a computer that has UT installed, so I can't check for exact names of options and so on. If you still can't figure it out, please check one of the many tutorials we linked you. You are the one mapping after all
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Aug 2005, 10:25 PM   #20
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
 Originally Posted by fluffy's avator:
Brains...
The zombification continues! Dumbrella Corporation is powerless to stop it!

Milla Jovovich to the rescue!
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 06:44 AM   #21
MjrHuRTz
Member
 
MjrHuRTz's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 576
AlienSwarm/StaticMeshes/AoDeco (i think)
And theres a few basic doors in there.
In AlleriaHardware in UT2004/Staticmeshes/ is the ones used in Research, and if you want to dig through PC_ConvoyStatics you can find some more in there.
MjrHuRTz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 08:11 AM   #22
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Ah, thanks, I found some.

I am having trouble with the doors now.

I have made a door, with a frame and all.
And it says to make it a mover and choose which mover suits the door best, I chose A)-stormdoor or whatever, and then the mapping docs say to right click, go to properties>objects, then set the initial state and set that as 'TriggerOpenTimedNoCloseIfNearby', but I don't seem to have that option there, the only option is 'none'.

I've done what the tutorial says, and got as far as making the door, but I got to this bit, and the option to do what it says isn't there.

Can anyone help with that?
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 08:15 AM   #23
UArchitect
Member
 
UArchitect's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 710
sounds like you placed a staticmesh not a mover
UArchitect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 08:29 AM   #24
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
But it said the doors where static meshes.

'To place one, select the mesh you want from the Static Mesh browser, then right click the Add Mover button on the left toolbar.'
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 08:33 AM   #25
UArchitect
Member
 
UArchitect's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 710
yes, it said click "add mover" not "add staticmesh"

the movers will use staticmesh for their appearance, rather than bsp (like in the older versions of the engine)

but a mover is a different entity to a staticmesh
please read carefully ;P the sentence you quoted already gave you all the info you need,

heres a diagram:

http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/7...almover3ll.jpg

EDIT: take no offence from the rather silly diagram, its my style \o/
UArchitect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 08:53 AM   #26
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Ah, I see thanks.
I misunderstood the sentence.

Rofl at diagram .
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 01:22 PM   #27
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
So when you said you'd mapped for the Unreal engine before...
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 01:55 PM   #28
Accident
Member
 
Accident's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Yeh I had, but it was ages ago on Unreal Tourney I think, and I didn't really get very far into mapping for it, because I started mapping for Half-Life Instead.
__________________
With Great Power Comes Great Authority, But Absolute Power Rocks, Absolutely.
Accident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 04:37 PM   #29
DarkLord75
Member
 
DarkLord75's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Peace on Earth!
Posts: 1,562
"I have tried to google but I only got FAQ's that didn't actually help, I can only seem to find things about mapping for further on, things about people asking how to make doors etc. Where as I am still trying to find the first thing to do after opening the editor."

Exactly what happened to me - most of the creators think we know a basic of mapping. We dont.
__________________
"Spera: Ooh! Ooh! You hear that? A bird singing out amidst our desolation. It's a miracle. The miracle called supper."

--Lucifer #28, Breaking & Entering
DarkLord75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Aug 2005, 06:32 PM   #30
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
And there is links in the FAQ to places to learn the basic mapping...
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mapping. Bah. CrouchingDork Nightblade Discussion 20 5th Nov 2004 05:16 PM
Need help with mapping Darkdibblez Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 12 4th Jun 2004 05:31 AM
Mapping pack Dalai Nightblade Discussion 68 8th May 2004 01:34 PM
mapping HarvesterUT Nightblade Discussion 8 1st Dec 2003 06:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.