Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th Apr 2007, 02:04 PM   #1
deathbringer
New Member
 
deathbringer's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
can't find 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2'

UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-03-03_02.42]
OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: GenuineIntel Unknown processor @ 3003 MHz with 1022MB RAM
Video: RADEON X300/X550 Series (6614)
Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2'
History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine
deathbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2007, 05:57 PM   #2
NoData
Member
 
NoData's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 889
You probably wrongly extracted the archive. The path should be like this:

"dir/UT2004/AlienSwarm/AlienSwarm.exe"

Many ppl extract the archive in the wrong folder, most of the time because they created a folder called "AlienSwarm" (and extract the archive in). The archive have been compiled to be extracted directly in your dir/UT2004/ folder.

Wrongly, it could look like this:

"dir/UT2004/AlienSwarm/AlienSwarm/AlienSwarm.exe"

Good luck and welcome!
__________________
My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2
NoData is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2007, 06:09 PM   #3
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
That error also commonly appears if you haven't patched UT2004, in which case you need to patch UT2004, remove Alienswarm and then reinstall it.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2007, 07:19 PM   #4
deathbringer
New Member
 
deathbringer's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
hmmm

my goodness.. i swore i updated my ut2004. Apparently that was the problem. thanks again.

my sole purpose of buying ut2004 was to play alien swarm.
deathbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2007, 06:39 AM   #5
=IRON=CORVUS
Member
 
=IRON=CORVUS's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: central Poland, Łódź, second floor, my room
Posts: 477
in such cases you can always try to replace the file with anny other .ut2 file. make sure name is thesame and it will work
__________________
www.damarus.deviantart.com
=IRON=CORVUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2' DarkLord75 Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 10 8th Dec 2006 07:15 PM
were can i find ut2004 bazzaro135 Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 1 24th Sep 2006 12:55 AM
[ LINUX ] Can't find file 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2' VERSUS Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 4 30th May 2004 03:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.