Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Thievery Forums > Thievery Discussion > Thievery Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th Apr 2010, 09:01 AM   #31
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Sorry for late response here. I was out due to real life problems (Programming VSM controller as shown on pic below), but now I am back in business...
Attached Images
File Type: png Opicatko_v2_08.png (313.8 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Apr 2010, 09:08 AM   #32
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Ok but back to the drawing board. I attached few screenshots of new LightSource meshes for the interrior. I will post additional screenshots of progress tomorrow (becuase I left these home on my PCs hdd due to my stupidity), Now there are gardens partially done (aprox 50-60%) severs (nearly finished) and some household and furniture stuff here and there (need finish twoo more rooms) and place loot on the map.

Up to this date there are six guards and two additional NPCs (probably should be additional guards in the outskirt...)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lampa_1.jpg (136.2 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg Lampa_2.jpg (141.9 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg Lustr_4.jpg (140.8 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg Lustr_5.jpg (147.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg Lustr_7.jpg (149.4 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Apr 2010, 10:33 AM   #33
]>CoD<[Chief
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: [E.D.G]Chief
Posts: 700
Nice models, though I think they'll look nicer with ceiling mounts as opposed to their being chandelier like chains going up through the ceiling (that's my opinion anyway).

Oh and nice signiture, you should show it to Mordengaard sometime...
]>CoD<[Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Apr 2010, 04:37 PM   #34
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
ah yeah, looks good, a lot better then crappy vanilla models we've got on all the maps.
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 04:00 AM   #35
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Ok. Now for some real work.
First of all I would like to introduce enhanced light trigger capable of changing not only the state of lightsource but alos a state of corona/fake corona (using dummy actor) and light/unlight and scale glow of lantern object.

Images below show turn how the lightsource is looking turned off and turned on respectively.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shot0000.jpg (37.3 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0001.jpg (79.2 KB, 16 views)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 04:03 AM   #36
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Now some additional production screenshots of the Th-Villa map.
Showing few interrior places, parts of the gardens (partially finished), severs and so on...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shot0009.jpg (170.8 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0010.jpg (139.4 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0011.jpg (158.2 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0012.jpg (132.4 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0013.jpg (66.5 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 04:04 AM   #37
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
additional screenshots...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shot0014.jpg (43.8 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0015.jpg (79.8 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0016.jpg (70.8 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0017.jpg (77.0 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0018.jpg (93.1 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 04:05 AM   #38
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
and final batch for today...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shot0019.jpg (110.4 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg Shot0020.jpg (95.1 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 04:23 AM   #39
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
looks pretty nice, but when i'm looking at maze, i do fear lag, used to much small/short brushes, when you could use more big/long ones, to reduce lag, check Th-Gerome maze, has good performance and looks good as well.
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 05:15 AM   #40
Bandit
Member
 
Bandit's Avatar
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: 2059' E 5334' N
Posts: 508
Maze looks like mesh to me so it shouldn't decrease fps like brushes do.

 Originally Posted by mcfarrel: ( link to post ) 
Ok. Now for some real work.
First of all I would like to introduce enhanced light trigger capable of changing not only the state of lightsource but alos a state of corona/fake corona (using dummy actor) and light/unlight and scale glow of lantern object.

Images below show turn how the lightsource is looking turned off and turned on respectively.
Does it work with torches?
__________________
.:.S.e.r.v.e.r.B.r.o.w.s.e.r.:.
Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 05:15 AM   #41
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Maze is made of meshes, not brushes !!! So no BSP just pseudo-static mesh objects (unreal mesh objects with possition fixxed to the grid)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 05:18 AM   #42
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Bandit current version of Enhanced light trigger works with thievery trigger lights (as far I know from what I have ahd tested), if the ThieveryLightTrigger works with torches then th ERnhancedLightTrigger will do (otherwise) I have to (probably) write one on my own to fix this...

I have jsut checked the Thievery mapping section on ThieveryUT.com and from what I have read there I suggest this trigger would not work with ThieveryTorches. Instead this will need an enhanced ThieveryTorch (maybe later I will do something, maybe when I move to Th-Church/ThConvent map...)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 07:23 AM   #43
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 218
Hmm meshes playing the role of a wall?
i think there are some issues.
1.light is not casted uniform on all the meshes so its created a kinda creepier effect
2.the fps may be bigger since the engine loads whats behind the mess too (not sure about this )
3.have you tried to lean on one of these messes? most probable that you are able to see through them, which will spoil thieves position (maybe increasing the blocking radius)
4.in case the maze is supposed to let thieves vine it and climb it, you'll have to use extra invisible brushes with grass texture

and btw, oh yeah these chandeliers looks much more better. nice work out there
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 08:44 AM   #44
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
 Originally Posted by Bandit: ( link to post ) 
Maze looks like mesh to me so it shouldn't decrease fps like brushes do.


Does it work with torches?
umm ok, but it looks weird, i preffer geromes maze look, not many tiny blocks like here.
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Apr 2010, 10:51 AM   #45
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
OK will do if the BSP count allows me to do so...
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2010, 09:03 AM   #46
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Updated version of ThieveryMcFmappack just uploaded...

Last stable version:
FileFront -> ThieveryMcFmappack_v2.1

Previous versions:
FileFront -> ThieveryMcFmappack_v1.1
FileFront -> ThieveryMcFmappack_v1.0

Also available on Thievery-Customs -> http://www.thievery-customs.com/
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...

Last edited by mcfarrel; 28th Jul 2010 at 03:25 AM.
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2010, 02:09 PM   #47
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 218
Congrats on the release
Mappack uploaded on [TRS] Thievery UT 3 IN 1 (85.122.82.26:8888)
Whats with the th-convent.unr ? filesize 0 bytes

EDIT1:Hmm cant open Villa

Warning: Failed to load 'ThieveryMcFDecoPack1': Can't find file for package 'ThieveryMcFDecoPack1'

Log: Failed import: Class Class ThieveryMCFcrew.TFemaleServant3 (file ../System/ThieveryMCFcrew.u)

Last edited by Edy94; 26th Jul 2010 at 02:43 PM.
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2010, 03:04 PM   #48
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
i'm having same error with TFemaleServant3, pls check
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2010, 02:26 AM   #49
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Th-Convent is a placeholder file, for upcomming map Th-Convent I will post some devel shots in few days (I am relaivelly bussy right now).

ad Th-Villa error (dependencies) seems to be my fault, I have had forgot to update system packages, sorry for this mistake of mine I will fix this during this or the next day (depends on whether or not I have the right system packages on my portable UT installation - but I have the nasty feeling I have these only on my home PC).

Sorry for this - this is exactly what will happen when You are doing five (or more) things simultaneously... Shame on me...

[EDIT1] I have searched my portable UT install and I have not got updated system folder here (same as in archive). Fixxed version update will be added (reuploaded) tomorow) [/EDIT1]

[EDIT2] Fixed (hopefully)
Last stable version:
FileFront -> ThieveryMcFmappack_v2.1

Previous versions:
FileFront -> ThieveryMcFmappack_v1.1
FileFront -> ThieveryMcFmappack_v1.0

Also available on Thievery-Customs -> http://www.thievery-customs.com/
[/EDIT2]
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...

Last edited by mcfarrel; 28th Jul 2010 at 03:25 AM.
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2010, 06:47 AM   #50
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Fixxed and uploaded to FilePlanet, ThieveryCustoms approvement pending...
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2010, 09:51 AM   #51
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
nice work on that map Farrel! Me and Getty tested it abit, and found some bugs, going gather em together and send as report here.
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2010, 09:59 AM   #52
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
OK... I will see (when feedback arrive) what I can do with these bugs... Thanks for testing...

Anyway:

1) any other mapper (are there still any these days) is allowed to use pieces of script, objects and so included in packages of this mappack.

2) if any other mapper is interrested in, he/she is allowed to use props/brushes from my maps (If so just contactme and I will upload t3d archive)...
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2010, 10:37 AM   #53
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
ok, bugs we found so far:

almost all elevators are buged, or can be activated only at some floors
buttons disappear at kitchen elevator (dont put them in the movers way or they will get atacked to it ), also texture missing in it.
ThSmallSwitch51 and ThSmallSwitch4 are in the same place. remove one of them
ThPlainDoorknob6 not Attached to the door.
some sewer doors can't be opened.
the objectives items are stored 1 by 1 in inventory, filling it up. maybe you can
make some group
In house with servant somewhere outside, beds and some items are complete black in rooms.
if u are on the balcony and try jump over to the roof, u'll get stuck


suggestions:
lots of empty/unused spaces outside, some trees/bushes/grass/rocks, and other objects could be added for more detail
maybe only one exit, instead of 3, will be more balanced for T vs G gameplay, like only at gates outside.
To much lights outside, delete some of map (around house mostly), is to bright, looks a bit unrealistic, also kills the atmosphere (thievery likes more darker areas.
Fill that main hall/entry room with furniture and other things, looks to empty.
Check movements speed of new AI models, they run to fast.
Also textures on that new models look to bright, maybe use level control function in photo editing program (white/black levels), it makes in my opinion look things better.
Also adding map or location strings would be good.
Every map must have eastereggs and secrets, pls add!

OK! I think thats enough for now...
Bug and suggestion report has been done by me and Getty.
Cheers.
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2010, 03:52 AM   #54
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
OK will see what I can do with these bugs. Thanks for feedback...
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Aug 2010, 03:55 PM   #55
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
no problem, if you need a tester, i could be one.
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2010, 03:20 AM   #56
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
It is typical... Programmer/mapper will always make mistakes whenever writing a pieces of code, designing level or linking things together. It is definitelly wise to have at least one person capable of trying to test foolproof state of "final" work...

OK stop talking and do debugging...
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...

Last edited by mcfarrel; 3rd Aug 2010 at 04:23 AM.
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2010, 04:11 AM   #57
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
Debug:

ThPlainDoorKnob6 not attached - missing attach link of correspponding ThDoor - fixxed
ThSmallSwitch51 duplicate switch deleted (copy-paste artefact) - fixxed
Lift1/2 - fixxed some minor problems (tester probably messed and mixxed feature for bug)
MainKitchenLift - button possition problems, button event-tag link i kitchen problem - fixxed
ShowerDoor missing tSwitchGlassTexture - fixxed
kitchen elevator - texture missing in it - fixxed

Not Found:

some sewer doors can't be opened. ???
if u are on the balcony and try jump over to the roof, u'll get stuck ???

NeuroFunker please send me exact location (I could not find these...)

Some Problems still occure (build or so):

In house with servant somewhere outside, beds and some items are complete black in rooms.
- do not know why, Rebuild replaced but still invis collis hull blocks light emmiters Strange ???

the objectives items are stored 1 by 1 in inventory, filling it up. maybe you can
make some group
- in matter of fact there are groups but the core thinks subgroups are separate objects (6 types of glasses)
this is pain in ass... As usual I tried to make little bit nonstandard and variable environment and this is
exactly what I have obtained... :-D
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2010, 04:52 AM   #58
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 218
some sewer doors can't be opened. ???
-ThDoor330 and ThDoor329 dont have a 2nd moving state, only Base

in matter of fact there are groups but the core thinks subgroups are separate objects (6 types of glasses)
-maybe u can make 6 spawn which will spawn only 1 type of glass but with different meshes

In house with servant somewhere outside, beds and some items are complete black in rooms.
-try use the object's block colision option and delete the invisible brush (only for the bugged objects)

if u are on the balcony and try jump over to the roof, u'll get stuck ???
-any chance seeing u online?
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2010, 10:12 AM   #59
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
 Originally Posted by Edy94: ( link to post ) 
...
if u are on the balcony and try jump over to the roof, u'll get stuck ???
-any chance seeing u online?
Maybe on monday, but I am in Prague so I can be online (form work with my portable (T)UT 9-17 approx (+1 for GMT+1 resp +2 when summer time is on) so 10-18 GMT only...
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2010, 10:14 AM   #60
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
 Originally Posted by Edy94: ( link to post ) 
in matter of fact there are groups but the core thinks subgroups are separate objects (6 types of glasses)
-maybe u can make 6 spawn which will spawn only 1 type of glass but with different meshes
Ah shit... More scripting 'assues'... OK maybe later (aligator)
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.