Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Thievery Forums > Thievery Discussion > Thievery Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Oct 2005, 04:02 PM   #1
sky-fiwa-
Member
 
sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 824
Thievery Map Editor

i was trying to get in the Thievery map editor to see if i can make a map, but i had a critical error. The error said:

General Protection Fault!

Histroy: UEditorEngine::Init <- Init Engine

Anyone here have a clue what this is about. What does the Init mean? I've also figured why my connection is screwed up. It's the Router, i don't know whats wrong with it but can anyone give me any advice on my router plz tell me.
__________________
My Profile Sux.
sky-fiwa- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 05:17 PM   #2
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
It looks like the editor failed to start. I think that's what the "Init" means. For the router, maybe try restoring it's settings to the basic config.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 05:19 PM   #3
sky-fiwa-
Member
 
sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 824
it's on the basic config but still, i think it broken or something like that
__________________
My Profile Sux.
sky-fiwa- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 05:21 PM   #4
WildBill
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Shadows
Posts: 2,808
If you want people to help you, you're going to have to provide a lot more details about your setup. "It's broken! Fix it!" will get your thread mostly ignored.

Make a seperate thread in the Tech Help forum about the router, following that same advice.
__________________
Nearly all men can stand adversity -- if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.
WildBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 05:36 PM   #5
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
Did you install the 451 patch for UT? If you did, no UED for you.
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 05:46 PM   #6
sky-fiwa-
Member
 
sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 824
 Originally Posted by WildBill:
Make a seperate thread in the Tech Help forum about the router, following that same advice.
This IS the Technical Help place, and your saying put the thread into the Tech Help forum.
__________________
My Profile Sux.
sky-fiwa- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 05:55 PM   #7
sky-fiwa-
Member
 
sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 824
 Originally Posted by BiG_D:
Did you install the 451 patch for UT? If you did, no UED for you.
Yes, i did install the 451 patch but what does the patch do to effect the UED?
__________________
My Profile Sux.
sky-fiwa- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 05:58 PM   #8
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
It breaks it.
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 06:56 PM   #9
Rythmix
Banned
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Posts: 510
451 is teh breaker. you will need to reinstall UT to use it.
Rythmix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2005, 07:06 PM   #10
Radamanthus
Member
 
Radamanthus's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Playing with his blades.
Posts: 3,606
451 if goblin food.

Even if you do reinstall though, the UED goblin hates anything to do with sky or boxes, or meshes, or anything involving UT for that matter. He'll eat your children, and slowly devour your body piece by piece with no utensils but a dull spoon.

Good luck!
__________________
"Just off the border of your waking mind there lies another time, where darkness and light are one. As you tread the halls of sanity, you feel so glad to be unable to go beyond. I have a message from another time."
Radamanthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 12:43 AM   #11
Thebos
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: You know that voice in your head? Well...
Posts: 1,023
Unless you are running a server, you only need the 436 patch.

451 is security fixes. For whatever reason, UED breaks when the patch installs (known issue they are working on)

If you want use UED and run a server, recommend two installs.
__________________
Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.
Thebos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 02:11 AM   #12
Shug
Member
 
Shug's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Play Hard. Go Pro.™
Posts: 3,293
451b allegeldy fixed the UED problem, but a pile of people reported that it's still broken.
__________________
Nightmaster,
.:Mockers Thievery Guild:.
- "until the cat is skinned"
Shug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 06:30 AM   #13
Rythmix
Banned
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Posts: 510
 Originally Posted by necros:
451b does not fix unreal ed, however if you patch TO 451b from 436, it does not break.

if you have ever been to 451 normal, unreal ed is permenantly screwed
Looks like you have to go directly from 436 to 451b and skip the original 451
Rythmix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 07:18 AM   #14
Thebos
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: You know that voice in your head? Well...
Posts: 1,023
That may work, but would check UED functionality before making the switch to 451b.
 Originally Posted by UTPG.org:
There are reports that have been confirmed that UnrealEd still doesn't function after putting 451b on. The fix would be to make a backup copy of UT (just copy your UT folder) and then use that 436 for UnrealEd and the 451 for play/servers. We will be digging further into the UnrealEd bugs and try to get a fix out for it.
__________________
Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.
Thebos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 08:32 PM   #15
Radamanthus
Member
 
Radamanthus's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Playing with his blades.
Posts: 3,606
451b has screwy errors in Unrealed. For example, the Ued goblin eats your memory and CPU usage if you look at something incorrectly (at a bad angle). You have to get the task manager to beat it with a stick to get him to leave.
__________________
"Just off the border of your waking mind there lies another time, where darkness and light are one. As you tread the halls of sanity, you feel so glad to be unable to go beyond. I have a message from another time."
Radamanthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2005, 08:49 PM   #16
sky-fiwa-
Member
 
sky-fiwa-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 824
i reinstalled UT, then reinstalled Thievery. I just figured out that making maps is confusing if your new to it
__________________
My Profile Sux.
sky-fiwa- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2005, 08:20 AM   #17
necros
Member
 
necros's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
Posts: 1,411
Unreal is very confusing to a newb mapper

Unreal is extremely confusing to a QE mapper

You should google around for Unreal Mapping TUTs
As a note, if you have ever mapped for a Quake Engine, or Source, don't try to apply your knowldge of that into unreal, because you will fail. Compared to those, unreal is completely backwards and twisted. Instead of building the world up from the "void", you have to create a huge block of "everythingness" and subtract what you want to do from the everythingness, also you do this using CSG, rather than simply directly placing brushes as BSP, and have to use staticmeshes to add detail, rather than building that out of BSP also.

If you are serious about mapping, http://www.map-center.com/ may aid you in your endeavours.
__________________
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience
necros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2005, 04:57 AM   #18
Convict
Member
 
Convict's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Back in Oz...
Posts: 2,138
Yeah I found the HL editor easy to map in - so nice to make maps in with little knowledge. UT editor is hard and I couldn't be bothered.
Convict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2005, 06:12 AM   #19
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
I actually found UEd easier than any of the quake engine editors. I just find it more obvious to carve a space for a room than build 6 walls. *shrug*
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2005, 01:45 PM   #20
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
I've got a fix for the router problem: buy a new one.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2005, 08:01 PM   #21
Radamanthus
Member
 
Radamanthus's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Playing with his blades.
Posts: 3,606
Yes, prepare to be completely dazed at the terror that is UED. Unfortunately, if you're asking for help on this board, yo'ure off to a horrid start. I mean, there IS a public Wiki link at the top of every page...
__________________
"Just off the border of your waking mind there lies another time, where darkness and light are one. As you tread the halls of sanity, you feel so glad to be unable to go beyond. I have a message from another time."
Radamanthus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2005, 02:28 PM   #22
DiP
Member
 
DiP's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,702
 Originally Posted by sky-fiwa-:
What does the Init mean?
Im sure it means Initialise(as in start)
Meaning that it cant actaully open UED.
__________________
Your order has been dispatched!
DiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Nov 2005, 01:34 PM   #23
Master-Builder
Member
 
Master-Builder's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Stuck in a crate factory!
Posts: 2,870
 Originally Posted by Convict:
Yeah I found the HL editor easy to map in - so nice to make maps in with little knowledge. UT editor is hard and I couldn't be bothered.
Think you might have switched HL and UT around there.
Master-Builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Nov 2005, 03:52 PM   #24
Baz
Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: 0xbaadf00d
Posts: 3,094
UnrealEd is really confusing when you 1st use it. I had no idea how to move actors around. But once i understood the basics of moving things around it all became clear =)
The best thing about unrealed is that its just 1 app. no need to worry about your lighting and bsp programs or whatever
__________________
..it's safer here.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Nov 2005, 08:54 AM   #25
Convict
Member
 
Convict's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Back in Oz...
Posts: 2,138
 Originally Posted by Master-Builder:
Think you might have switched HL and UT around there.
Nope I found HL editor easy to work with (after a few basics were shown by a friend) but I don't understand the UT editor.
Convict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Nov 2005, 10:10 PM   #26
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
Personally, I think the Starcraft editor is easiest editor to use.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2005, 05:35 PM   #27
DiP
Member
 
DiP's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,702
No way! The Warcraft 3 Reign of Chaos Editor is the best!
__________________
Your order has been dispatched!
DiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2011, 12:40 AM   #28
Gaelwyhn
Member
 
Gaelwyhn's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: United States, North America
Posts: 36
But will it help make maps for Thievery, and is it free?
__________________
Loot - That's what I want and that's what I'll have. I'll get what I want because I know how to get it.
Gaelwyhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2011, 04:51 AM   #29
Keggie
Member
 
Keggie's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: following your foot falls...
Posts: 2,003
 Originally Posted by Gaelwyhn: ( link to post ) 
But will it help make maps for Thievery, and is it free?
if you have thievery you have the thievery editor, its in start menu next to the thievery button, "thievery unrealed" with the green button, will it help? well you cannot map without it so yeah i guess it does.

http://www.thieveryut.com/Mapping/index.htm for thievery mapping related tutorials.

http://www.birrabrothers.com/drac/index.php?dsps=3 for general unreal mapping tutorials
__________________
[E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
Videos - YouTube
Keggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2011, 02:29 PM   #30
Gaelwyhn
Member
 
Gaelwyhn's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: United States, North America
Posts: 36
Okay. Thanks for the links. But my problem is that I got the game in a zip folder, and didn't install it. I just extracted the folder. Where can I get it to install it?
__________________
Loot - That's what I want and that's what I'll have. I'll get what I want because I know how to get it.
Gaelwyhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thief III Editor RELEASED !!! Thief13x Community Chat 38 27th Feb 2005 12:52 AM
Thief 3 editor is IN WORKS!!) Antero90 Community Chat 21 29th Oct 2004 05:12 PM
WAY better face editor. CrouchingDork Community Chat 4 20th Jan 2004 07:30 PM
Thief III to be packaged with Editor? Buho Nightblade Discussion 12 15th Oct 2003 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.