Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th May 2004, 09:49 AM   #1
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Help! Help! UT4MOD isn't working!

Ok, on some computers UT2k4 doesn't seem to set up Windows to recognise UT4mod files. To fix this:
  1. Open My Computer, and then in the menu select Tools->Folder Options...
  2. Choose the "File Types" tab.
  3. Find the ut4mod filetype. If it doesn't exist, click new and add it.
  4. After selecting the ut4mod filetype, click the "Advanced" button.
  5. Give it a name and set an icon if you like.
  6. Click "new..." to create a new action.
  7. Name the action "Install".
  8. For the "Application used to perform this action" box, enter:
    "C:\MyUT2004InstallPath\System\setup.exe" install "%1"
    (with quotes)
  9. Ok your way back to the File Types menu. Then click "Advanced" again check to make sure the Install option is there (Tests showed windows tended to ignore the first time the option was added). If it is gone, re-add it .

And there you go (hopefully)!
__________________
Immortius' Forge

Last edited by immortius; 24th Jul 2004 at 12:04 AM.
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2004, 04:44 PM   #2
Sporx
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 1
when i try to create the ut4mod extension it says ( The extension '.ut4mod' is already in use by file type 'UT2004.module'. Choose another extension. )

And ya im having the problem where nothing happens when i click on the aliensawrn_v1.ut4mod extension.
Sporx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2004, 05:29 PM   #3
Ephrom the Rabbit
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 2
I did everything above too, and mine says "C:/Alienswarm/Alienswarm_v1 is not a valid windows 32" or something, do i open it with something else?
Ephrom the Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2004, 05:58 PM   #4
Dalai
Project Lead
 
Dalai's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 2,369
Other solutions include:
  • Go into your UT2004 folder and choose file -> new -> text file. Open it in Notepad and put in: "Setup.exe install AlienSwarm_v1.ut4mod". Then rename the file to "install.bat" and double click on it.
  • Or, as stated in the readme, use this tool to manually extract the files to your UT2004 folder, e.g. target directory is "C:\UT2004\"
    http://www.acordero.org/projects/umodex/
Dalai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2004, 06:00 PM   #5
Monki
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 1
I fixed it

This is how I did it. Real simple and it worked for me... so maybe this'll work for everyone else.


Go to your main drive, or any folder at all on your HD. Click Tools on the menu at the top, then go to folder options. In the window that opens up click on the File Types tab.

Now scroll all the way down to the UT4MOD file type extension. Click on that, then click on the restore button. Fixed my UMOD files completely.

Tell me if this works for you. If what I have said doesn't work out, then I might have another way to get it fixed for ya.
Monki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jun 2004, 01:53 PM   #6
Ephrom the Rabbit
New Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 2
Okay i know have 3 folders from when i used the Umod thing.
One folder says UT2004AlienSwarm
Another on says UT2004systems
The last one says UT2004Music

These are in my UT2004 Folder and they appeared when i used the Umod.

When i run UT2004 and go to the user mods and run alien swarm this message pops up:

"UT2004 Build UT2004_Patch_[2004-05-10_17.18]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1533 MHz with 255MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 100/200 (5672)

Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2'

History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 00C80008 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free"
Ephrom the Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jun 2004, 04:55 PM   #7
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
I understand that's a problem with ut4mod installs.

You have to make sure the directory you install it to is:
C:\UT2004\

instead of:
C:\UT2004

Of course, in your case you could just rename UT2004AlienSwarm into AlienSwarm, and then move the stuff from UT2004system and UT2004Music into C:\UT2004\System and C:\UT2004\Music... altho you probably would have to delete those files manually later on if you uninstall.

[Edit: If you uninstall, not when ]
__________________
Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...

Last edited by DeepQantas; 2nd Jun 2004 at 01:31 PM.
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2004, 04:31 PM   #8
Azn_Boi
New Member
 
Azn_Boi's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 11
Unhappy

Hi, I'm a little new to these forums but...I'm having a problem getting my game started too... I think this has been said already...But I just want to make sure...When I start up the game...This is what comes up...


UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-03-03_02.42]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: GenuineIntel Unknown processor @ 1616 MHz with 511MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra (5216)

Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2'

History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine

Any ideas? Umm...Thanks

(Edit) Ok..I got the mod to work now...Buy when I press on Join Multiplayer...My game freezes...Anyone know what I should do?

Last edited by Azn_Boi; 2nd Jun 2004 at 06:48 PM. Reason: Add something
Azn_Boi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2004, 06:41 PM   #9
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Did you patch UT2004 before installing AS? If you haven't, patch UT2004 and then delete AlienSwarm.ini in UT2004/Alienswarm/System/

Alien Swarm requires the UT2004 patch for some of the mod support it introduces.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2004, 06:32 PM   #10
Melkinov
New Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
I did everything stated, but when I click it, it now says it cant find the setup.exe, what should i do?
Melkinov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2004, 06:50 PM   #11
Melkinov
New Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
i actually fixed that, but i have a diffrent problem. Im trying to install the game and it asks me where to install it to. So i tell it, the folder is E:\Program Files\UT2k4, which it is. But it tells me that UT2k4 is not installed there, help would be a appriciated.
Melkinov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jul 2004, 12:24 AM   #12
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Try installing to
E:\Program Files\UT2k4\
(with that last backslash).

If that doesn't work try moving your UT directory elsewhere temporarily. like maybe to E:\UT2004.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jul 2004, 10:10 PM   #13
madmerc
New Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
Sorry guys, but I'm stuck. I seem to have Melkinov's original problem: I followed the initial steps of altering the file type, but it says it cant find the setup.exe, it needs something to run it. Melkinov fixed it, but I can't . . .

Just out of curiosity, why is a mod so hard to install? I've patched ut2k4 to the latest, but I don't understand why a really good mod that gets a 2-page review in pcgamer is even this frustratingly difficult to get working.
madmerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2004, 12:07 AM   #14
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
My theory is this problem is caused when someone uninstalls the UT2k4 demo after installing UT2k4, but I'm not sure. It would also be caused if you just copied UT2k4 from another computer or something. At any rate, this is the standard UT2004 mod installer (many of the mods use it). Saying that it is hard to install is silly - it is easy to install for most people, you are just unfortunately suffering a bug with your UT2004 installation. This problem was recognised from before the release of the mod, which one of the reasons why a non-umod version of the mod exists. It is also why this thread was created shortly before the mod was released too.

Double check you filetype settings, make sure that the path to setup.exe is correct (that is the setup.exe under your UT2004/system path). Make sure you have a setup.exe in your UT2004/system directory. If their is a space in the path to setup.exe, try putting it in double quotes:
"C:\Program Files\UT2004\System\Setup.exe" install "%1"

If none of this works I guess one option is to download the umod extractor listed in the readme file and manually install AlienSwarm.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2004, 01:14 PM   #15
madmerc
New Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 6
the extractor collapses on me when i tell it to extract . . . it gets started then stops responding.
madmerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2004, 02:39 AM   #16
onecrazymoho
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 140
Angry

for some reason i dont a the setup.exe file...
wtf?
i have a "setup" a "setup.est" and many many more

i tryed extracting into the AlienSwarm folder in UT2004, which i made
when i completed downloading the UMOD v. 1.1 AS file from the AS homepage i got a zip folder with 3 files. i have no idea why this isnt working. i tried all the other things, like making the ut4mod ending and stuff.

no idea why this isnt working



and when i try use the UMODextraction tool it doesnt see the zip file
arrrgggh

*EDIT*

wait....could it be that you need the new patch for UT? oh please oh please make the damn thing work! im itching to play this mod already...

Last edited by onecrazymoho; 21st Aug 2004 at 02:59 PM.
onecrazymoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2004, 01:51 AM   #17
onecrazymoho
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 140
its not working....apparently i dont have my setup.exe file
what do i do??????
aaahhhhhhhhh

"windows cannot find the file setup.exe"
dammit...
onecrazymoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2004, 07:04 AM   #18
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
Well, the setup.exe it's referring to is the one in \UT2004\System\ directory.

I'm guessing it's that setup you said you had, but your windows is hiding the extensions of known filetypes.

Do you also have UT2004 instead of UT2004.exe ?
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2004, 04:44 PM   #19
[NK]~NcWolf
New Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Easy way to fix

HI this is all you need to do to fix. Extract AlienSwarm-v1.2 to your UT2004 folder. Then open it and find the AlienSwarm folder. Copy JUST this folder (NOT the Music or System folders) and past the AlienSwarm folder in to the UT2004 folder next to AlienSwarm-v1.2. Now open the AlienSwarm folder and dubble click on the AlienSwarm Application file and Play...

Hope it helps
NcWolf The NutKracker Invasion server
[NK]~NcWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jul 2005, 06:15 AM   #20
DarkLord75
Member
 
DarkLord75's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Peace on Earth!
Posts: 1,562
Or you could all just download the non-umod version... I didnt download the umod, because its even more bugged then Steam...
__________________
"Spera: Ooh! Ooh! You hear that? A bird singing out amidst our desolation. It's a miracle. The miracle called supper."

--Lucifer #28, Breaking & Entering
DarkLord75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2005, 10:54 AM   #21
Riccon
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Um...Ah...Yeah

Nothing's working. At all. Ever.

I downloaded the mod from one of the sites listed and put it in a folder called AlienSwarm in the UT2k4 folder. What now?

I've tryed double clicking everything I usefuly can. I followed the instructions above only to find that the mod was already recognised. This is realy beginning to bug me now. I've only had UT for three days now, and this is the first mod I've ever downloaded so is there something I'm missing?

Please help 'cos I realy wanna go and maybe a bit of but I can't to save my life.
Riccon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2005, 11:14 AM   #22
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
I think all that was needed to do for 1.2 was unzip the zip file to your UT2004 folder (generally C:\UT2004). Then you start up UT2k4 and click Community on the main menu, find Alien Swarm under the list of User Mods, click it, and then click the Activate Mod button. UT2k4 should then shutdown and restart as Alien Swarm.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2005, 12:33 PM   #23
Riccon
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Yay!

Ahhhh, right then. I was trying to do it from the windows explorer place.

Cheers,
Riccon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2005, 04:47 PM   #24
Baz
Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: 0xbaadf00d
Posts: 3,094
Welcome to City Aliens Swarm. Its safer here.
__________________
..it's safer here.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2005, 06:04 PM   #25
DeepQantas
Tester
 
DeepQantas's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,587
Someone unsticky this topic, seeing how there no longer is an up-to-date UT4MOD version of Alien Swarm?
__________________
Ah, to be a hero. Keeping such company...
DeepQantas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Aug 2005, 08:25 PM   #26
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
I kinda wish there was, my friends have computers that don't like zip files...
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2005, 04:53 AM   #27
Riccon
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Um...

Sorry to bother you again but...

Still not working too well. I must be missing something pretty basic, right? I can see where it say's Alien Swarm in the top right hand side of the Communtity Mod page, (although it doesn't appear on the list to the left. Maybe this is the problem...Does it need an install?) and I click Activate. The button highlights and...

Nothing. Zilch. Zippo.

Please help!
Riccon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2005, 09:06 AM   #28
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
You extract the zip to AlienSwarm inside the UT2004 directory, and then double click on UT2004\AlienSwarm\AlienSwarm.exe. That executable will launch UT2004 with the relevant mod options so you don't have to start vanilla UT2004 first and choose it from the community menu. If it doesn't work, the chances are you installed it wrong.
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2005, 12:19 AM   #29
Tsura
New Member
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
It's...Uh...Well, I have Alien Swarm on the mod list, along with the description of the mod. I double click it, it goes away, just like Frag Ops. Unfortunately, unlike Frag Ops, it doesn't come back as Alien Swarm. The executable also does nothing.

Last edited by Tsura; 18th Oct 2005 at 12:41 AM.
Tsura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2005, 12:44 AM   #30
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
Have you tried reinstalling BeOS? If so, well, there's your problem. Alien Swarm doesn't run on BeOS.
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.