Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > The Archives > Archived Public Forums > Forge of Shadows

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Mar 2008, 11:32 AM   #1
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Alpha Release - 2008/03/29

A new release is available from Nightblade's Testing Page. The changelog lists what has changed, but give a brief summary:

- Changed doors so they don't block players when opening at full speed. They still block players when opened slowly, but don't push them out of the way. Doors also no longer push mines, whistlers, etc about.
- Added a subtle night-vision effect. If you stay in the dark shadows become a little lighter, and if you stay in the light shadows become a little darker.
- When you use an invisibility potion the screen loses some colour.
- Fixed some issues with KOs.
- Cleaned up some content packages.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 11:39 AM   #2
HawK047
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Posts: 41
 Quote:
Added a subtle night-vision effect. If you stay in the dark shadows become a little lighter, and if you stay in the light shadows become a little darker.
Just what ive always liked to see in Thievery, great stuff!

Edit: I just played a few games for testing (Havent found anything yet), the best lightning for this feature (imo) is 4 or 5, it almost leaves a black shadow when in light and is pretty much good to see almost anything with in the dark!=D

Last edited by HawK047; 28th Mar 2008 at 12:06 PM.
HawK047 is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 12:06 PM   #3
Firetiger
Member
 
Firetiger's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Above your head moving at high speed.
Posts: 1,074
That reminds me, would it be possible to make the flashbomb effect by artificially setting the camera exposure to some extreme low value? That'd be really cool.

I wasn't sure it if was possible with uscript, but seeing the nightvision feature, I'm starting to wonder again.

The guards with uber-dark-vision would have an increased effect when they're hit with a flashbomb, due to their eyes being adjusted to the dark and absorbing more light.
__________________
<-- Resident Nightblade suggestion attorney...
Firetiger is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 12:12 PM   #4
HawK047
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Posts: 41
That would indeed keep Gaurds more on their toes and out of the shadows
HawK047 is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 12:22 PM   #5
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
But today is the 28th!

- When you use an invisibility potion the screen loses some colour.

What is this for? Some sort of counterbalance visual effect while you are "high" on the potion?
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 12:26 PM   #6
Bandit
Member
 
Bandit's Avatar
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: 20°59' E 53°34' N
Posts: 508
IMO flashbomb shouldn't make screen white but black or grey. White is bad for eyes etc.
__________________
.:.S.e.r.v.e.r.B.r.o.w.s.e.r.:.
Bandit is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 12:41 PM   #7
]>CoD<[Chief
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: [E.D.G]Chief
Posts: 700
 Quote:
But today is the 28th!
Immortius' Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet

Galatic timezone differences. Though obviously an advanced race due to their use of UK date formats

 Quote:
White is bad for eyes etc.
But the eye is lazy and always attracted to white things, so a flash of white will always distract guards better than just reduced grey to black visibility.

Also I think flashbombs should work like CSS flashbangs myself


Though it seems to be all working, I get the following error:

Ambiguous package name: Using C:\Program Files (x86)\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\CookedPC\CustomEnvironments\NbScarab.upk' ,not 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\CookedPC\CustomGameplay\NBScarab.upk'

Scarab still can be added to walls etc despite the message.

Just so you know

Last edited by ]>CoD<[Chief; 28th Mar 2008 at 01:01 PM.
]>CoD<[Chief is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 12:43 PM   #8
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
I agree with the flashbang idea.. i think there should be a deafening ringing in your ears as well as being blinded.. whether its black/white/grey/... how about red!
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 05:28 PM   #9
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
 Originally Posted by -KewlAzMe-: ( link to post ) 
What is this for? Some sort of counterbalance visual effect while you are "high" on the potion?
Nothing so dramatic, just a secondary visual indicator that you are invisible.

Also, timezones KAM.

 Originally Posted by ]>CoD<[Chief: ( link to post ) 
Though it seems to be all working, I get the following error:

Ambiguous package name: Using C:\Program Files (x86)\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\CookedPC\CustomEnvironments\NbScarab.upk' ,not 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\CookedPC\CustomGameplay\NBScarab.upk'

Scarab still can be added to walls etc despite the message.

Just so you know
This would be a result of installing the latest alpha over the last alpha, as I moved the NbScarab package to a different directory. You can just delete the package under CustomEnvironment.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 05:28 PM   #10
FatRatHead
Member
 
FatRatHead's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 961
Very nice work with the lighting, though the transition can look odd on some thievery surfaces, I bet it won't be an issue with later maps.

I'll address some potential issues in the bug section.

Edit: I'd rather fit this one in here: Carpets in certain parts of house in DE aren't carpets at all, this issue is present in numerous maps in Thievery, I hope it is unreplicable in Nightblade proper.

Last edited by FatRatHead; 28th Mar 2008 at 05:58 PM.
FatRatHead is offline  
Old 28th Mar 2008, 11:12 PM   #11
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by immortius: ( link to post ) 
Nothing so dramatic, just a secondary visual indicator that you are invisible.

Also, timezones KAM.



This would be a result of installing the latest alpha over the last alpha, as I moved the NbScarab package to a different directory. You can just delete the package under CustomEnvironment.
Well it was 11:22AM for me.. I would think you'd have to be in Japan to get a 13hr difference on me.. but I'm no timezone expert. I thought you were in UK tho.. but I guess I'm wrong.
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
Old 29th Mar 2008, 05:32 AM   #12
modetwo
Webmaster
 
modetwo's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: .no
Posts: 5,059
 Originally Posted by -KewlAzMe-: ( link to post ) 
Well it was 11:22AM for me.. I would think you'd have to be in Japan to get a 13hr difference on me.. but I'm no timezone expert. I thought you were in UK tho.. but I guess I'm wrong.
Or perhaps Australia.
modetwo is offline  
Old 29th Mar 2008, 06:00 AM   #13
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Well, my timezone is +10GMT, +1 for daylight savings. I posted this thread at 2:30am.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline  
Old 29th Mar 2008, 11:43 AM   #14
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by mOdEtWo: ( link to post ) 
Or perhaps Australia.
According to the USA World Map.. there be only dragons there
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
Old 31st Mar 2008, 09:30 AM   #15
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
 Originally Posted by FatRatHead: ( link to post ) 
Edit: I'd rather fit this one in here: Carpets in certain parts of house in DE aren't carpets at all, this issue is present in numerous maps in Thievery, I hope it is unreplicable in Nightblade proper.

I'm afraid you need to clarify - in what way are these carpets not carpets?
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline  
Old 31st Mar 2008, 12:04 PM   #16
Trapmaster
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 315
The carpets are solid/semi-solid polygons only, placed one pixel above the regular floor. Since they react like non-solid brushes (no collision) the walking sound is taken from the floor texture.

Imo it's a slightly unclean level design technique, but it's not a bug. Also if you jump on a wooden floor in real, it doesn't matter you will still hear the wooden beams (like in Sk.Head).

Last edited by Trapmaster; 20th Jan 2009 at 03:26 PM.
Trapmaster is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 05:09 AM   #17
Gullonefox
Member
 
Gullonefox's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Location: Brighton
Posts: 389
 Originally Posted by Trapmaster: ( link to post ) 
The carpets are solid/semi-solid polygons only, placed one pixel above the regular floor. Since they react like non-solid brushes (no collision) the walking sound is taken from the floor texture.

Imo it's a slightly unclean level design technique, but it's not a bug. Also if you jump on a wooden floor in real, it doesn't matter you will still hear the wooden beams (like in Sk.Head).
It stopped nasty BSP holes - back in the day. *Wipes away tear of nostalgia*

DE was a nightmare of a map, had bap holes all over the place, almost half the map was removed - in the end what was left is the version as it was released. So many things had to be chopped down, including carpets - was a shame, and I totally agree.
__________________
Chimp off the old Block

Game Designer
Gullonefox is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 11:14 AM   #18
necros
Member
 
necros's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
Posts: 1,411
not being an unreal mapper, and finding the whole concept of primarily subtractive mapping extremely mind-boggling, i don't understand however, how simply using a seperate brush for the section of the floor that is carpeted would cause BSP holes?
__________________
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience
necros is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 12:36 PM   #19
Trapmaster
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 315
 Originally Posted by Gullonefox: ( link to post ) 
It stopped nasty BSP holes - back in the day. *Wipes away tear of nostalgia*

DE was a nightmare of a map, had bap holes all over the place, almost half the map was removed - in the end what was left is the version as it was released. So many things had to be chopped down, including carpets - was a shame, and I totally agree.
Pardon, I did not want to critisize you .

Yes I saw it - It must have given you a real headache. I think you scaled most brushes, did you?

I'm really excited to see DE2. Hope you are still working on it. It looks brilliant.

 Originally Posted by necros: ( link to post ) 
not being an unreal mapper, and finding the whole concept of primarily subtractive mapping extremely mind-boggling, i don't understand however, how simply using a seperate brush for the section of the floor that is carpeted would cause BSP holes?
I think the same about Quake mapping, to me, the additive mapping concept is very confusing. I once mapped for Q1 but that BSPbuilder made textures look weired on medium to long distances.

Placing single (semi-)solid polygon brushes is not very hygenic since they tend to react like non-solid polygons but might affect your BSP in a different way.

Last edited by Trapmaster; 2nd Apr 2008 at 06:18 PM.
Trapmaster is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 01:25 PM   #20
Denny
Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 158
Just want to inform to everyone that building levels around BSPs is the worst optimised way of doing things these days. I recommend learning to model and use static meshes as it's way faster performance wise and building times is way shorter. It's also way better looking.

Terrain + Static Meshes = Win!
Denny is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 01:53 PM   #21
]>CoD<[Chief
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: [E.D.G]Chief
Posts: 700
Though remember not to make huge single meshes but to chop 'em up if they're quite large.
]>CoD<[Chief is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 05:04 PM   #22
Gullonefox
Member
 
Gullonefox's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Location: Brighton
Posts: 389
 Originally Posted by Denny: ( link to post ) 
Just want to inform to everyone that building levels around BSPs is the worst optimised way of doing things these days. I recommend learning to model and use static meshes as it's way faster performance wise and building times is way shorter. It's also way better looking.

Terrain + Static Meshes = Win!
Oh yes - Modeling is the way forward - BSP = Archaic and highly painful, and to paraphrase, time consuming.

Chief! I have the tinternet again!
__________________
Chimp off the old Block

Game Designer
Gullonefox is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 05:12 PM   #23
Trapmaster
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 315
 Originally Posted by Denny: ( link to post ) 
Just want to inform to everyone that building levels around BSPs is the worst optimised way of doing things these days. I recommend learning to model and use static meshes as it's way faster performance wise and building times is way shorter. It's also way better looking.

Terrain + Static Meshes = Win!
True. Also that one was for the TUT version because Fat stated that the carpets are not working properly.
Trapmaster is offline  
Old 2nd Apr 2008, 05:25 PM   #24
]>CoD<[Chief
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: [E.D.G]Chief
Posts: 700
 Quote:
Chief! I have the tinternet again!
Good, you can get back to work on Underworld

And stop hanging round night-blade
]>CoD<[Chief is offline  
Old 5th Apr 2008, 09:42 AM   #25
Denny
Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 158
 Originally Posted by Trapmaster: ( link to post ) 
True. Also that one was for the TUT version because Fat stated that the carpets are not working properly.
My reply wasn't exactly a response to the actual map but rather a general statement how things should be done today.
Denny is offline  
Old 10th Apr 2008, 05:59 PM   #26
MontyPython
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 159
 Originally Posted by immortius: ( link to post ) 
Nothing so dramatic, just a secondary visual indicator that you are invisible.
In fact if you really were invisible you wouldnt see at all since light would go through your retinas
__________________
Wenn ist das Nunstück git und Slotermeyer? Ja! ... Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.
MontyPython is offline  
Old 10th Apr 2008, 10:59 PM   #27
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by MontyPython: ( link to post ) 
In fact if you really were invisible you wouldnt see at all since light would go through your retinas
quite the conundrum!
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpha Release - 2008/04/04 immortius Forge of Shadows 5 10th Apr 2008 05:21 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/22 immortius Forge of Shadows 4 24th Mar 2008 04:41 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/15 immortius Forge of Shadows 12 17th Mar 2008 04:23 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/08 immortius Forge of Shadows 16 11th Mar 2008 07:42 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/02 immortius Forge of Shadows 49 9th Mar 2008 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.