Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > The Archives > Archived Public Forums > Forge of Shadows

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Apr 2008, 11:27 AM   #1
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Alpha Release - 2008/04/25

A new release is available from Nightblade's Testing Page. The changelog lists what has changed, but give a brief summary:

- It is now possible to bind keys through the midgame menu (make sure you launch Nightblade with the launcher, otherwise UT3 will crash if you are playing Nightblade for the first time and you try to set the keys)
- Started work on integrating Denny's new thief animations into Nightblade. At this stage the basic movement should work, as well as a frob animation, but there is no climb animation.
- Marios now KO instead of kill.
- Did some work on tag bolts, the bolts should no longer stick into rock (although the effect will stay). Also they should interact with water correctly.
- Changed Nightblade so that Post Process Volumes in maps work again. Removed the NightVision and Invisibility desaturation effects for now.
- Fixed a bug where guards were waking up crouched in netgames.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 12:31 PM   #2
Appollonius
Member
 
Appollonius's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 175
Fallen a bit out of the loop recently, but great work anyway.
Appollonius is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 01:03 PM   #3
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by ChangeLog:
- Stopped blood splatter when hitting team mates.
is this when TeamKill is set to false only?
Speaking of blood splatter.. is it possible to add blood splatter to the sword or mace when hitting an enemy?
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic

Last edited by -KewlAzMe-; 25th Apr 2008 at 01:16 PM.
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 01:17 PM   #4
Denny
Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 158
Just went on a run to test things. Noticed some misses;

Don't go to the bind window! I noticed that the bind list has duplicate entries for the controls, so it will bugg you about crucial actions not being bind, even if they are! (there's two entries for each action and you can't bind the same button to both duplicates, so you enter a loop where you can't exit the bind configuration screen because it tells you to bind the crucial action even if you can't)

There's also a miss, mostly from my part, dealing with the AnimTree. I just noticed a value for animation blending between walking and running is wrong, so when you sneak the model will try to blend to run constantly and the player will look jerky. I'm on to fix this.

So I ask not to feedback on weird animations as they haven't been sorted out correctly.
Denny is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 01:20 PM   #5
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by Denny: ( link to post ) 
Don't go to the bind window! I noticed that the bind list has duplicate entries for the controls, so it will bugg you about crucial actions not being bind, even if they are! (there's two entries for each action and you can't bind the same button to both duplicates, so you enter a loop where you can't exit the bind configuration screen because it tells you to bind the crucial action even if you can't)
Sounds like the UT3 bug that does the same thing about Hoverboard not being bound, but it is.
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 01:30 PM   #6
Denny
Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 158
No, I see it like this;

Normal bind list
Move Forward W
Move Backward S
Strafe Left A
Strafe Right D

As it appears for me
Move Forward W
Move Backward S
Strafe Left A
Strafe Right D
Move Forward Not bound
Move Backward Not bound
Strafe Left Not bound
Strafe Right Not bound

In short, I need to bind all actions a second time to a unique key to even be able to exit the page. I shut it down the classic way (ctrl+alt+del).
Denny is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 03:05 PM   #7
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
ahh i see what you mean
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 04:23 PM   #8
Denny
Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 158
It might be something with local development files, but until Immortius has looked into it I think it's safest to say that people should be aware of the problem that it might appear.
Denny is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 07:11 PM   #9
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
I haven't been able to replicate this issue on my end. Can you check you UTGame.ini and make sure that the [Engine.UIDataStore_GameResource] section looks like this:

Code:
[Engine.UIDataStore_GameResource]
ElementProviderTypes=(ProviderTag="GameTypes",ProviderClassName="Engine.UIGameInfoSummary")
ElementProviderTypes=(ProviderTag="KeyBindings",ProviderClassName="UTGame.UTUIDataProvider_KeyBinding")
ElementProviderTypes=(ProviderTag="NBKeybindings",ProviderClassName="NightbladeMod.NBUIDataProvider_KeyBinding")
And check through the UTNightbladeMod.ini and make sure it doesn't have duplicate
[MoveForward NBUIDataProvider_KeyBinding] sections.

Thanks.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 07:29 PM   #10
Denny
Member
 
Denny's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 158
Found it. ElementProviderTypes=(ProviderTag="NBKeybindings", ProviderClassName="NightbladeMod.NBUIDataProvider_ KeyBinding") Were duplicated, and the only difference were NBKeybindings as NbKeybindings.
Denny is offline  
Old 25th Apr 2008, 07:37 PM   #11
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Ok, I believe I know what caused that and I'll fix it for next alpha. It shouldn't be an issue most of the time though.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpha Release - 2008/05/02 immortius Forge of Shadows 4 6th May 2008 12:29 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/22 immortius Forge of Shadows 4 24th Mar 2008 04:41 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/15 immortius Forge of Shadows 12 17th Mar 2008 04:23 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/08 immortius Forge of Shadows 16 11th Mar 2008 07:42 PM
Alpha Release - 2008/03/02 immortius Forge of Shadows 49 9th Mar 2008 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.