Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Thievery Forums > Thievery Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Mar 2003, 01:13 PM   #1
Kiech Bepho
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,462
Using the thin wall bug, you can relight torches in the next room.
Kiech Bepho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2003, 01:20 PM   #2
MortalMonkey
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: A + Normal( B - A ) * ((( B - A ) dot ( P - A )) / VSize( A - B ))
Posts: 921
Yes, that one got me once when I was in gerome's bathroom and guards kept lighting the torches from the outside by running past with flares & fire.
__________________
]V[]V[
MortalMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2003, 02:02 PM   #3
-=V12US=-
Member
 
-=V12US=-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Netherlands Parasite: Yes
Posts: 2,577
Seems more like a bug and not a hack...

Possibly not even a bug either, because the flares and firebolts use a specified radius in which they can relight torches. To make walls block this radius will use up a lot of CPU power I think, or more CPU power than they'd like.

Maybe this is allready fixed in 1.3 when they fix the (thin) wallbug.
-=V12US=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Mar 2003, 06:06 PM   #4
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
I'm pretty sure you can also put out that torch in gerome from outside the room too...
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Mar 2003, 11:52 AM   #5
MortalMonkey
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: A + Normal( B - A ) * ((( B - A ) dot ( P - A )) / VSize( A - B ))
Posts: 921
 Originally Posted by -=V12US=-:
To make walls block this radius will use up a lot of CPU power I think, or more CPU power than they'd like.
Actually it takes little more processing power than figuring out if a zero-hour projectile (IE UTs sniping rifle) hit an object (in fact, the process is very similar). I think the coding is the bad part though.
__________________
]V[]V[
MortalMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Mar 2003, 11:44 AM   #6
KewlAzMe
Banned
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,408
A bigger part of this problem is with Firebolts. They can relight torches that are on the opposite side of a wall, and they can even start thieves on fire who are hiding behind the wall/door. Dunno if thats fixed in 1.3 yet.
KewlAzMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hack the planet? Fuzzy Bunny Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 4 23rd Apr 2005 03:38 AM
Speed Hack.. Cigs Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 6 14th Feb 2005 10:53 PM
Anyone know how to find a CD key hack for Half Life 1? Convict Community Chat 4 18th Nov 2004 09:15 AM
Speed Hack Problem The Red Duke Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 2 15th Jul 2004 07:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.