Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Community Forums > Troubleshooting & Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st Jun 2009, 10:27 PM   #1
monolithAU
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 390
Thievery on lcd display

Hi folks
I think I've asked this question before but couldnt find the post, but is it at all possible to play TUT on a widescreen lcd display? I find that the shadows are just too dark, even with adjusting gamma and other settings (although I may not be doing that properly).
I've an itching to jump back in and play a few games but have been held back by this tech issue.
Any help would be appreciated...
__________________
Yenz: "It's only murder if they say stop"
Mono's wife: "What if they are mute?"
Yenz: "There are internationally recognized hand signals for 'stop killing me you bastard!'"
monolithAU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jun 2009, 11:26 PM   #2
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
LCD monitors are 50times brighter than CRTs in my experience. I upgraded to an LCD because my CRT was too dark for playing TUT (among other reasons).

First off, are you using DirectX or OpenGL?
If using OpenGL you should have no problems with brightness. However, I've noticed DirectX is very dark as well on TUT. Try OpenGL with these added settings in your thaux.ini file under the OpenGL section:

Code:
[OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
Translucency=True
VolumetricLighting=True
ShinySurfaces=True
Coronas=True
HighDetailActors=True
DetailTextures=True
TruFormMinVertices=4
TruFormTessellation=2
UseTruForm=False
NumAASamples=2
UseAA=True
AAFilterHint=2
RequestHighResolutionZ=True
MaskedTextureHack=True
FrameRateLimit=0
SwapInterval=-1
UseVertexProgram=False
UseCVA=False
UseMultiDrawArrays=False
TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
UseTexPool=True
UseTexIdPool=True
UseSSE=2
BufferClippedActorTris=True
SinglePassDetail=False
ColorizeDetailTextures=False
DetailClipping=False
UseDetailAlpha=True
RefreshRate=75
MaxTMUnits=0
NoFiltering=False
MaxAnisotropy=4
UseTNT=True
Use4444Textures=False
UseS3TC=True
UseAlphaPalette=True
AutoGenerateMipmaps=True
UseTrilinear=True
UsePrecache=False
AlwaysMipmap=True
ShareLists=False
UsePalette=True
UseMultiTexture=True
UseBGRATextures=True
UseZTrick=False
MaxLogTextureSize=8
MinLogTextureSize=0
MaxLogVOverU=8
MaxLogUOverV=8
OneXBlending=False
GammaCorrectScreenshots=False
GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
GammaOffset=0.000000
LODBias=-1.500000
DescFlags=0
Description=Radeon X850 512MB
DisableSpecialDT=False
UseFilterSGIS=True
UseVertexSpecular=True
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2009, 01:14 AM   #3
monolithAU
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 390
Thanks Kewl - I'll try that out!

I'm using Dirext X by the way - can I switch to OpenGL using my Nvidia panel?

__________________
Yenz: "It's only murder if they say stop"
Mono's wife: "What if they are mute?"
Yenz: "There are internationally recognized hand signals for 'stop killing me you bastard!'"

Last edited by monolithAU; 2nd Jun 2009 at 01:35 AM.
monolithAU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2009, 02:31 AM   #4
Machine
Member
 
Machine's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: TuF Forums
Posts: 5,829
I used OpenGL because DirectX was too dark.

One trick I used to use was get to the menu, alt+tab out the game, and go back in again. That increased the gamma for some reason on my old box.
__________________
~TuF~
Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2009, 05:52 AM   #5
Bandit
Member
 
Bandit's Avatar
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: 2059' E 5334' N
Posts: 508
Default OpenGL driver will not make a change.
You will need this: http://www.cwdohnal.com/utglr/

Some settings descriptions

How to switch driver:
Click on [Start] menu and go to Programs > Thievery > Change Video Options

or make a shortcut:
"X:\UnrealTournament\System\Thievery.exe -changevideo"

Click on "Show all devices" select "OpenGL support" and click next, next...
__________________
.:.S.e.r.v.e.r.B.r.o.w.s.e.r.:.

Last edited by Bandit; 2nd Jun 2009 at 06:13 AM.
Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2009, 06:47 PM   #6
monolithAU
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 390
Thanks guys! Hopefully it will all work out and you might see a bit of a very rusty mono back in the fray for a while!!
__________________
Yenz: "It's only murder if they say stop"
Mono's wife: "What if they are mute?"
Yenz: "There are internationally recognized hand signals for 'stop killing me you bastard!'"
monolithAU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2009, 08:59 PM   #7
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by Machine: ( link to post ) 
I used OpenGL because DirectX was too dark.

One trick I used to use was get to the menu, alt+tab out the game, and go back in again. That increased the gamma for some reason on my old box.
This is something I used to have to do too.

 Originally Posted by Bandit: ( link to post ) 
Default OpenGL driver will not make a change.
You will need this: http://www.cwdohnal.com/utglr/
Bandit might be right.. I faintly remember using this.

One other point of interest is that sometimes if TUT crashes or doesn't close right, it might leave your monitor in super-bright mode. You can dl a program called SetGamma.exe to fix it. Just run it after the game is over.. or make it part of a batch file that runs after tut ends.
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2009, 09:15 PM   #8
monolithAU
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 390
Again, thanks. Now I just need to stay up late for the next few nights so I can find someone online!!

EDIT: apparently that means 3-5am my time, so it wont be anytime soon!

On a more relevant note, all is fine on my LCD screen, switching to openGL and using that modified dll file worked a charm!!
__________________
Yenz: "It's only murder if they say stop"
Mono's wife: "What if they are mute?"
Yenz: "There are internationally recognized hand signals for 'stop killing me you bastard!'"

Last edited by monolithAU; 3rd Jun 2009 at 06:37 PM.
monolithAU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2009, 01:34 PM   #9
skolapper
New Member
 
skolapper's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Thievery on lcd display

When importing other than .lrf into the Library how does one get the title and author to display properly - can you edit the file parameters before importing or somehow edit the entry display after importing?

don
skolapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2009, 07:11 PM   #10
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
In before advertising follow-up post?
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2009, 08:51 PM   #11
Salvage
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: In the conservatory with the lead pipe.
Posts: 1,374
Add 2-3 inches to your cheap meds from Canada!
__________________
Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia, n. See also Irony.
Salvage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2009, 04:48 AM   #12
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,051
sat.is.fy he r to nite !

genuine rolex!
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2009, 08:55 AM   #13
BrokenArts
Administrator
 
BrokenArts's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 4,712
I don't have to ban him, you guys are certainly doing his job for him. Keep going! ;-)
BrokenArts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2009, 04:11 PM   #14
DarkLord75
Member
 
DarkLord75's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Peace on Earth!
Posts: 1,562
There are a variety of free, open source programs that allow you to organize typical ebook formats such as .lrf into a library.


the more you know
__________________
"Spera: Ooh! Ooh! You hear that? A bird singing out amidst our desolation. It's a miracle. The miracle called supper."

--Lucifer #28, Breaking & Entering
DarkLord75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display/Video card troubles Bulletstopper Troubleshooting & Technical Help 5 8th Dec 2008 04:13 AM
no display on new card Spidey Troubleshooting & Technical Help 14 8th Oct 2008 12:09 AM
Thievery MA and Thievery Full Map Pack Antero90 Thievery Discussion 18 9th Nov 2004 05:42 PM
Doesn't Display Ping! The Spac Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 2 1st Jun 2004 06:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.