Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Community Forums > Community Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th Jan 2003, 09:55 PM   #1
Kiech Bepho
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,462


Man is UT taking forever to install...and its just putting in stupid maps i'll prob never use. 2, TWO, cd's geez I hope I don't have to install them both...no jewel cases either, just cover slips. Ugh. Probably doesn't help that I am online at the same time...with 4 browsers open, and a computer that needs to be rebooted. Oh well.

OOO!!! It's done! Now to get directx, the mod, reboot...ugh.

Anyways, I am here anouncing that I am no longer a wanabe n00b with balanced views. I am here to TAFF BABY!!!! YEA!!!! 8)

See you soon!!!

Kiech
Kiech Bepho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 10:05 PM   #2
LaughingRat
Member
 
LaughingRat's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,701
LOL! Good luck!
LaughingRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 10:18 PM   #3
Kiech Bepho
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,462
OMG...I am NEVER going to be able to play this game...

A HUGE download for the UT patch.

122M download for the UT mod.

Then the patch? Another 34M???

And the little 'extra helping' files, several megs there too.

I should be DONE with my just concieved today TUT map by the time I actually get to play at all!!!

But getting to play...priceless.

BTW gave up on directx 9...UT says I should get 'standard' resolution.
(yea right!)
Kiech Bepho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 10:22 PM   #4
LaughingRat
Member
 
LaughingRat's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,701
Are you on dialup?

Do play some UT before installing TUT, though. Make sure your UT installation is working properly. You don't have to waste the bots or anything, just run around and shoot some.
LaughingRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 10:39 PM   #5
BrokenArts
Administrator
 
BrokenArts's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 4,712
If you are on dial-up, I was when I first got into Thievery, I did the DL at night, and let it go all night. DSL now. I highly recommend a DL manager, like Get Right DL manager or something. You can stop the DL, or pause, and resume the DL, at a later time, if need be. That's what I used, glad I did. Sorry if you know all this.
It's a pain to not use something like that, get to 99% of a DL and have it screw up on you.
BrokenArts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 10:42 PM   #6
Tankazz
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dalai's Brainstem
Posts: 154
I AM on Dial-up. Don't let these fools tell you any different, download until ya drop! i recently d/l a 500mb file... that I couldn't use. So what you're going through is nothing, trust me
__________________
*Leader of the 56k rebellion*
*Slowing down cable and DSL users, everywhere*

LikitaRenn:"I wanna be added to as many people's sigs as will add me to... their.. sigs.. um.. something..."
Tankazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 10:57 PM   #7
Kiech Bepho
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,462
It's 56k for me all the WAY!!! OK, here's the update:

I did try to see if UT would start, I haven't actually played yet. I got a lot of Chineese and bad graphics, so now I am using UT's renderer, on LOW resolution, it looks OK now.

Apparently I have the latest version on the CD, I wish it would have actually said that in the readme file...

Gonna let this baby go all night and hope its done in the AM.

UGH...dude, this game better rock. I can see now why you get a bunch of ragers all of the time. Damn this takes forever.

Maybe the topic for this shoulda been: I won't be around for a couple of days...

Kiech
Kiech Bepho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 11:02 PM   #8
Thwark
Member
 
Thwark's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Location: The Source
Posts: 706
 Originally Posted by Kiech Bepho:
I can see now why you get a bunch of ragers all of the time.

of course, we have a 0-tolerance policy toward ragers, so i'd steer well clear of that idea if i were you - regardless of what you think of the game 8)
Thwark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 11:12 PM   #9
Kiech Bepho
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,462
Don't worry Thwark, I can take my aggression out in other ways. But still...damn, I thought this was gonna be all lollipops and candy corns after I installed UT.
Kiech Bepho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 11:14 PM   #10
DarkProject
Member
 
DarkProject's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: CA, USA born in Lithuania
Posts: 1,554
i deleted all my UT maps...except entry (it won't run without entry)
__________________
http://profiles.myspace.com/users/7360475
-=:ToB:=- / :]eDe[: Site: www.endarkend.net
-=:ToB:=-Forums: www.endarkend.net/phpbb/
-=:ToB:=-PayingSins (TUT MAP)- http://www.endarkend.net/downloads/m...oB_Payback.zip
DarkProject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 11:16 PM   #11
DarkProject
Member
 
DarkProject's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: CA, USA born in Lithuania
Posts: 1,554
 Originally Posted by Kiech Bepho:
It's 56k for me all the WAY!!! OK, here's the update:

I did try to see if UT would start, I haven't actually played yet. I got a lot of Chineese and bad graphics, so now I am using UT's renderer, on LOW resolution, it looks OK now.

Apparently I have the latest version on the CD, I wish it would have actually said that in the readme file...

Gonna let this baby go all night and hope its done in the AM.

UGH...dude, this game better rock. I can see now why you get a bunch of ragers all of the time. Damn this takes forever.

Maybe the topic for this shoulda been: I won't be around for a couple of days...

Kiech
wow...how bad are your pc stats?
__________________
http://profiles.myspace.com/users/7360475
-=:ToB:=- / :]eDe[: Site: www.endarkend.net
-=:ToB:=-Forums: www.endarkend.net/phpbb/
-=:ToB:=-PayingSins (TUT MAP)- http://www.endarkend.net/downloads/m...oB_Payback.zip
DarkProject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jan 2003, 11:24 PM   #12
LaughingRat
Member
 
LaughingRat's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,701
 Originally Posted by Thwark:
of course, we have a 0-tolerance policy toward ragers, so i'd steer well clear of that idea if i were you - regardless of what you think of the game 8)
I hardly think we need to worry about that here, Thwark. Kiech has been around for a bit, and seems quite a good-natured fellow.

 Originally Posted by DarkProject:
wow...how bad are your pc stats?
He's on 56K. Duh.
LaughingRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2003, 12:56 AM   #13
LeatherMan
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 422
 Originally Posted by LaughingRat:
Kiech has been around for a bit ....
So why didn't Kiech download Thievery and patches (UT and TUT) before now? Could have been playing already ... :roll:
LeatherMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2003, 01:02 AM   #14
Kiech Bepho
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,462
"Why didn't he already have the patches"

There was no point till I had the game...
Kiech Bepho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2003, 01:17 AM   #15
Thwark
Member
 
Thwark's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Location: The Source
Posts: 706
confusco say "Wise man download hundreds of megs over time so they be ready when 10bux goes bye-bye."

at least, i think he does. I haven't talked to him in awhile, that fucker never returns my phone calls.
Thwark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2003, 04:50 AM   #16
Nachimir
Member
 
Nachimir's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,461
 Originally Posted by Thwark:
confusco
I love it
Nachimir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2003, 01:19 PM   #17
Roll
New Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 9
 Originally Posted by Kiech Bepho:
I did try to see if UT would start, I haven't actually played yet. I got a lot of Chineese and bad graphics, so now I am using UT's renderer, on LOW resolution, it looks OK now.
If UT itself is running that badly, you're going to have a hell of a time running TUT... I can run UT at 1280x1024 with all the details maxed fine, but TUT is unbearable at anything over 800x600, with detail textures and the like turned off.
Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2003, 02:26 PM   #18
act smiley
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 61
I think TUT is more connection based in its speed than PC based... a mate of mine has it running pretty well on his Celeron 333 with a Geforce 2mx at 800x600 with max settings on a 128k connection.
act smiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2003, 03:34 PM   #19
Roll
New Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 9
It runs horribly for me whether online or off. I don't understand why. I had to tweak it to all hell just to make it acceptable. Even UT2003 runs better with all the details maxed :P

I know it runs worse on my computer than most, but TUT always runs somewhat worse than UT itself :P
Roll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fun little game, sorta free Alpha-Omega Community Chat 4 19th Jul 2005 05:17 AM
Want a free game? I got "one" Phantaloz Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 21 25th Apr 2005 09:18 PM
WoW - Obsessed? beast Community Chat 114 2nd Mar 2005 03:16 AM
Unofficial Alien Swarm FAQ Carth Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 3 11th Jul 2004 11:46 AM
Why this project is doomed... DOOMED I say! twistedzed Community Chat 106 7th Feb 2003 12:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.