Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Community Forums > Troubleshooting & Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st Jul 2005, 03:05 PM   #1
The Creator
Member
 
The Creator's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: We are The Lemmings On The Run
Posts: 492
AGP question

If someones motherboard has 4x AGP, are they able to use an 8x AGP card with it? Thanks in advance!
__________________
Salsa: The Z axis is the Acromaster's domain
The Creator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2005, 04:10 PM   #2
Hybrid
Member
 
Hybrid's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,957
Most, if not all 8x AGP video cards also support 4x. My Radeon 9800 Pro is like that, so it runs on my motherboard that only supports 1x-4x.

Last edited by Hybrid; 31st Jul 2005 at 04:54 PM. Reason: minor clarification
Hybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2005, 05:33 PM   #3
Thebos
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: You know that voice in your head? Well...
Posts: 1,023
Earlier AGP cards (1-4X) ran at a higher voltage (3.3V?) then current cards (4x/8x)(1.5V). Would check to see if your motherboard provides the correct voltage. May or may not be an issue.
__________________
Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.
Thebos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2005, 05:37 PM   #4
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
Also, the slots may vary in size, no?
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2005, 07:25 PM   #5
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
If i remember correctly:
AGP 1.0: 1x & 2x: 3.3v
AGP 2.0: 2x & 4x: 1.5v
Universal AGP: 1x, 2x, 4x: 3.3v & 1.5v
AGP 3.0: 4x & 8x: 0.8v

Most 4x cards are Universal AGP.

All AGP 8x cards are backwards compatible with 1.5v AGP 2.0 (not Universal AGP!!), but not 1.0. There are certain Universal AGP motherboards that are 4x, but 3.3v only, AGP 8x cards will not work in these boards! But thanks to keying you cannot insert them either. Confused yet?

About half a year ago i built a shiny new A64 system for a friend. His radeon had broken, so i gave him an old S3 Virge PCI card to use while his radeon would be replaced. He wanted to play games though, so he took an old ATI Rage AGP card from work. It's so old it was 3.3v only, which modern motherboards no longer support, and the keying prevented him from inserting it.

However....

It would fit backwards! Being the untechnical m0ng he is he inserted the card backwards, and the resulting short circuit blew his motherboard and memory to smithereens.

ATI Rage drivers for Windows XP do not support 3d acceleration, the card, despite being AGP, is too slow for that anyway. Playing games wouldn't have been possible even if it worked.
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

Last edited by Pestcontrol; 31st Jul 2005 at 07:58 PM.
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2005, 07:31 PM   #6
Bandit
Member
 
Bandit's Avatar
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: 2059' E 5334' N
Posts: 508
Yes, "AGP Pro" is longer.
__________________
.:.S.e.r.v.e.r.B.r.o.w.s.e.r.:.
Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2005, 07:50 PM   #7
Pestcontrol
Member
 
Pestcontrol's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: The Hague
Posts: 1,881
AGP Pro only adds extra power pins. It's always backwards compatible (an only actually used on a handful of workstation cards, most cards that require extra power just have a molex connector on them). All normal AGP slots & cards are the same length even when incompatible, they are keyed to differentiate between the different voltage signaling modes.

Slots can be as follows:

--|----- 3.3v (AGP 1.0 and 3.3v-Universal AGP)
-------- 3.3v & 1.5v (Universal AGP)
-----|-- 1.5v (AGP 2.0 and AGP 3.0)

For AGP Pro:
-|--------|-
etc. I'm not sure if AGP Pro slots exist for all versions of the AGP spec, or Universal AGP only.

Cards are:

--|----- 3.3v (AGP 1.0)
--|--|-- 3.3v & 1.5v (Universal AGP)
-----|-- 1.5v (AGP 2.0 & AGP 3.0)

0.8v signaling is used instead of 1.5v when both the card and motherboard support it. AGP 2.0-only cards do not actually exist as far as i'm aware, they're all Universal AGP.
__________________
[THN] Gaming community - www.thehavennet.org.uk
Proud admin of the THN AlienSwarm server #3 at 82.156.164.3:7777 and #4 at 87.117.203.96:7777. Teamspeak at: teamspeak.thehavennet.org.uk (def. port)

Last edited by Pestcontrol; 31st Jul 2005 at 08:01 PM.
Pestcontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Aug 2005, 02:42 AM   #8
Machine
Member
 
Machine's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: TuF Forums
Posts: 5,829
I have a Radeon 9600 Pro, the MoBo goes up to 4x but the card is 8x, it works just fine.
__________________
~TuF~
Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.