Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Thievery Forums > Thievery Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Oct 2006, 12:21 PM   #1
Kyle_K_ski
New Member
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
How to use mutators?

Hello All,

It's been a very long time since I last posted a request for help. My schedule's pretty overwhelming right now, but after several months of not playing Thievery, I decided this week to finally play an offline game or two. I came back to these forums and read a posting regarding Brody's Th-Custom Map Pack. I downloaded it and instantly fell in love with a couple of the new maps I've tried, particularly Th-Cult.

There is one particular aspect of said download that's really frustrating me, and after conducting a rather thorough yet unsuccessful search of these forums I'm hoping someone can give me a detailed walkthrough on how to get the mutators to work that came in the Map Pack.

Just so it's known, I did try to activate the mutators through the in-game "Mod" menu. When I highlighted the "Thievery Mod Config" listing, and then released my mouse button, nothing happened, when I was expecting another new menu to then pop open.

My search for help on this matter has also led to a point of confusion for me in regards to how mutators work in Thievery. I remember reading that for the Zombie mod, one had to add it to Theivery's .exe's command line. Do all mutators work like this, or just a portion of them? Any detailed feedback regarding this point would be generously welcomed.

I'm very eager to try out the loads of new equipment that came in Brody's Custom Map Pack, so any detailed assistance on this matter would be GREATLY appreciated.

Yours!

Kyle
Oct. 7, 2006

Kyle_K_ski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2006, 12:52 PM   #2
Sneaky
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 305
As far as I know, mutator support is disabled in single player mode. There used to be a mutator button for single player many versions ago but was taken out recently. The only way I know how to run mutators is to click on "Multiplayer" -> "Start new multiplayer game". Then there is a mutator button where you can add mutators. Assuming you have some sort of firewall nobody else would be able to join your server and it would be exactly like single player but with mutator support.

I've never heard of adding mutators to the .exe command line unless you are talking about a server's batch file. The mutators are added to the "Server Packages" section of thaux.ini if you were running a server for others to play on. They are also listed in the ThieveryServer.bat file if running a server.
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2006, 12:54 PM   #3
Keggie
Member
 
Keggie's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: following your foot falls...
Posts: 2,004
 Originally Posted by Sneaky: ( link to post ) 
The only way I know how to run mutators is to click on "Multiplayer" -> "Start new multiplayer game". Then there is a mutator button where you can add mutators. Assuming you have some sort of firewall nobody else would be able to join your server and it would be exactly like single player but with mutator support.
id agree with that as thats how iv managed to get it to work - also set yourself a password so even if people can see it they carnt join if you wish to play sp
__________________
[E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
Videos - YouTube
Keggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2006, 11:00 PM   #4
Kyle_K_ski
New Member
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Thank you all for your kind help! The mutators are available if one chooses to setup a multiplayer server. I played my game offline (and thus "singleplayer") by making it private by not announcing its presence.

The new mutators are intriguing. It's way too early to tell whether or not they're overpowered, and sadly, with my time at a premium it may take quite a while before I can come to such a decision.

But boy am I happy that I'm able to test them out, whenever I can.

The Zombie mutator works through the in-game menu system as well. Too bad that they're all wearing modern clothing for Thievery's aesthetics.

Again all, thank you!

Yours,

Kyle
Oct. 7, 2006

Kyle_K_ski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pestcontrol's mutators Pestcontrol Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 47 4th Aug 2006 10:58 AM
Mutators BiG_D Nightblade Discussion 0 24th Mar 2004 08:34 AM
Hmm.. mutators... Radamanthus Thievery Discussion 3 28th Jan 2004 08:39 AM
Mutators, mutators, mutators MortalMonkey Community Chat 71 23rd Nov 2003 04:47 PM
Mutators and add-ons??? KewlAzMe Community Chat 23 1st Apr 2003 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.