Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Mapping

Notices

Old 24th Apr 2007, 05:48 AM   #1
babyface

Question How to create your own weapons mutator?

Hi ,
a friend of mine should me this game 2 weeks ago and i love it.
So i decided to do to a little more then just playing the game. I'm a programmer in RL and would like to know, if someone have some hints to get started or the libaries to use the basicfunctions.

Later i would like to create some maps,but i'm just know the Hammer-editore very well, so i'll wait with that projekt till AS:I is released.

Primary it would be nice if someone can give me some hints to create my own weapon mutator...
babyface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2007, 07:00 AM   #2
lightfoot

After a year of learning unreal things I personally think that it is better to start the other way around. To start and learn mapping and using the Editor. To get a feel for the different things populating the Unreal world.

Sure you have seen the FAQ, containing some mapping links. The BCG mapping pages cover the basics of what is different to AlienSwarm. One of the first things those pages teach you is to set up your Ed to have the AlienSwarm recources loaded.

The UnrealEd is a mighty tool, but its is prone to do strange things, and to throw buggy mischief at its user. It certainly needs some time getting used to.

As you are a programmer, things may look a bit different. But still, you would need to know exactly WHAT IS ALREADY THERE, and HOW IT WORKS before modding anything.