Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Community Forums > Community Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Jan 2003, 12:35 AM   #1
Biohazard
Member
 
Biohazard's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
I just upgraded my OS from ME to XP. Not sure whether I like it yet or not....
Let you know what I think later!

I also added an additional 512 RAM to my 256 RAM and the difference is amazing! Anybody who still only has 256 RAM out there should definetely consider an upgrade IMHO!
Biohazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 12:49 AM   #2
Lurox
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: It's been too long. I'm gone now.
Posts: 2,229
Upgrading soon to 512, over here. It -will- be worth it, as my server right now is a pathetic pile of s***.
__________________
JM
Lurox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 12:51 AM   #3
Jered
Member
 
Registered: May 2002
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 47
hope you did a format and total new install. upgradeing ME to XP sometimes causes sound prollems.
__________________
Modeller,
Thievery UT
www.jeredhunter.com
Jered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 12:56 AM   #4
Biohazard
Member
 
Biohazard's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
 Originally Posted by Jered:
hope you did a format and total new install. upgradeing ME to XP sometimes causes sound prollems.
Of course. Completely wiped out my drive!
Biohazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 01:00 AM   #5
Thwark
Member
 
Thwark's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Location: The Source
Posts: 706
(that part was an accident, though)
Thwark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 01:57 AM   #6
Buho
Member
 
Buho's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Hey guess what? Santa Hat season is coming...
Posts: 1,562
I plan on upgrading to 2 GB DDR RAM late spring. Hope this helps with Thievery!
Buho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 04:33 AM   #7
Yenzarill
 
Yenzarill's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Ost Ra'Leur
Posts: 1,258
 Originally Posted by Buho:
I plan on upgrading to 2 GB DDR RAM late spring. Hope this helps with Thievery!
Not unless you want to run it 5 times simultaneously.
Yenzarill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 10:17 AM   #8
Dalai
Project Lead
 
Dalai's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 2,369
Going from 95/98/Me to 2k/XP is the best thing you can do for you PC. Goodbye constant crashes, hello stability.

Current Windows XP uptime: 2wks 5days 12hrs 32mins 22secs
Dalai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 10:53 AM   #9
WildBill
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Shadows
Posts: 2,808
I had 512 until one stick went bad; now I'm at 256 and not really noticing much of a difference. This is on my -highly- streamlined version of 2000, though, optimized for games, so that likely has something to do with it.

Current OpenBSD Uptime: 1 year, 7 months, 23 days, 11 hours, 6 minutes.
(Sorry, Dalai, but that was required from an OSX/BSD guy ^_^)
__________________
Nearly all men can stand adversity -- if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.
WildBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 11:44 AM   #10
Ghostly apparition
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,715
[quote="Dalai"]Going from 95/98/Me to 2k/XP is the best thing you can do for you PC. Goodbye constant crashes, hello stability.

Current Windows XP uptime: 2wks 5days 12hrs 32mins 22secs [/quote}

absolutely the best advice
I have win xp and i am sure you will eventually like it better
with win 98 if UT crashes sometimes if not all the time your comp
will crash with it forceing a reboot.
with XP and the ntfs file system and the sys restore point feature
your life will be much easier.
Kudos on the memory upgrade too
isn't it much better now? : )
have 512 mb ram and considering getting more
when i can afford it/prices come down some
Ghostly apparition is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 02:18 PM   #11
Biohazard
Member
 
Biohazard's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
 Originally Posted by Thwark:
(that part was an accident, though)
Shhhh. Don't tell!
Biohazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 03:14 PM   #12
Ulukai
Member
 
Ulukai's Avatar
 
Registered: May 2002
Posts: 196
Don't even think of going back to ME from XP, Mistar BioHazard
__________________
<Gullonefoxy> I rekkon Ulus Like a mad Gothic french guy
Ulukai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 04:01 PM   #13
Biohazard
Member
 
Biohazard's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Doh. My files were corrupted somehow when I put them on a CD. Lost all of my family's emails in the process!

Biohazard &lt;------------

Goodbye world!
Biohazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 04:04 PM   #14
MrEricSir
Member
 
MrEricSir's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 330
 Originally Posted by Biohazard:
Doh. My files were corrupted somehow when I put them on a CD. Lost all of my family's emails in the process!
Put them on a CD? Why didn't you just leave them on your HD? :?
MrEricSir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 04:50 PM   #15
Jered
Member
 
Registered: May 2002
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 47
Operating System: {Windows 2000 Professional, Service Pack 3 (5.0 - 2195)} Uptime: {3w 6h 53m 57s} Record: {3wks 6hrs 54mins 38secs(Set on 19/01/03 using 2K)}

Windows 2000 is superior, clearly.

Best uptime pre-installaiton of the script: 6 weeks.

MrEricSir: because he formatted his HD, that's why.
__________________
Modeller,
Thievery UT
www.jeredhunter.com
Jered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 04:58 PM   #16
Biohazard
Member
 
Biohazard's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
 Originally Posted by MrEricSir:
 Originally Posted by Biohazard:
Doh. My files were corrupted somehow when I put them on a CD. Lost all of my family's emails in the process!
Put them on a CD? Why didn't you just leave them on your HD? :?
Because I had to wipe out my hard drive when I changed partitions.
Biohazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 05:15 PM   #17
Katra
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 91
It might just be my unstable system, but for me, it seems that XP is rejecting thievery in that it periodically crashes forcing the comp to restart. My advice...
BE CAREFUL you do not want to have thievery ruining your entire system... COUGH* my old comp *Cough*
Katra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 06:30 PM   #18
Biohazard
Member
 
Biohazard's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
I was told that the home edition of XP causes more problems with games than the pro edition does. So, I decided for the pro edition. I'm downloading Thievery now!

I forgot how BIG of a file it was!
Biohazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 07:40 PM   #19
BobTheDog
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 405
 Originally Posted by Biohazard:
 Originally Posted by MrEricSir:
 Originally Posted by Biohazard:
Doh. My files were corrupted somehow when I put them on a CD. Lost all of my family's emails in the process!
Put them on a CD? Why didn't you just leave them on your HD? :?
Because I had to wipe out my hard drive when I changed partitions.
Ah, yes, well NTFS is definitely worth the trouble.
__________________
BobTheDog says, "Now you've gone too far!"
BobTheDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 07:43 PM   #20
Sneaky
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 305
I just upgraded from WinME to XP pro....wow XP is awesome! No crashes so far, no memory leaks or bugs.
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2003, 07:44 PM   #21
LaughingRat
Member
 
LaughingRat's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,701
Congrats on the upgrade, BioH.

Now if only XP would work for me....
LaughingRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2003, 04:05 AM   #22
ZTx3
Member
 
ZTx3's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver,BC,Canada
Posts: 334
 Originally Posted by LaughingRat:
Congrats on the upgrade, BioH.

Now if only XP would work for me....
I will gladly take it off you're hands
__________________
ZT
Aka Trunks0,TrunksOfSuffering
ZTx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2003, 12:01 PM   #23
LaughingRat
Member
 
LaughingRat's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,701
 Originally Posted by ZTx3:
I will gladly take it off you're hands
Which version. I have three....
LaughingRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AS/UT Gentoo and recent upgrade Naib Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 7 17th Nov 2004 05:12 PM
Crackaz Server Upgrade Grank Thievery Discussion 7 27th Sep 2004 10:37 PM
New Idea: Crossbow Upgrade LameHamster Thievery Discussion 15 20th Feb 2003 06:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.