Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Community Forums > Troubleshooting & Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th Aug 2007, 06:59 AM   #1
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Unknown error.




All the other files(downloads) in that folder work fine, also if an admin identifies the error please change title.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 08:44 AM   #2
westy
Member
 
westy's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 444
My money goes on it being a corrupt file or incomplete download. Re-download the file from a different source.
__________________
Kept an xmas avatar for 3 year(s).
westy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 10:21 AM   #3
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Righto.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 11:41 AM   #4
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
Yup, corrupt download for sure.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 11:48 AM   #5
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
I dunno, it could be windows' "security." If you right click on the file, can you get at the properties window? (And if so, is there an "unblock" button near the bottom?)
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 12:00 PM   #6
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Nah, thanks for that tip D but it isnt the fix, but im glad i now know about that.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 01:32 PM   #7
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Redownloaded got same error.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 02:47 PM   #8
Baz
Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: 0xbaadf00d
Posts: 3,094
Maybe that's what the program is designed to do.
__________________
..it's safer here.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 07:19 PM   #9
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
Maybe Microsoft Windows Search Dog Animated Character wants to teach you about image cropping and it teamed up with Mr. Firewall to get what it wants?
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2007, 07:37 PM   #10
SpamSlayer
Member
 
SpamSlayer's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,023
Trackmania Nations?! tried running from different location?
__________________
SSSSSPPPPPAAAAAMMMMM 44444 EEEEEVVVVVEEEEEAAAAA!!!!!
SpamSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2007, 07:48 AM   #11
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
 Originally Posted by Ki!ler-Mk1: ( link to post ) 
Redownloaded got same error.
Please tell me from another source?

Failing that- check if you have DEP disabled for ALL programs if you're on XP (go to Properties of My Computer, Advanced tab, Settings of Performance, then the Data Execution Prevention tab) switch it to 'Essential Windows Programs' only mode.

Failing that- Fuck it off, the game sounds like a crock of shit anyway.

Failing that- What Baz said.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2007, 08:44 AM   #12
westy
Member
 
westy's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 444
I downloaded it from file front and the setup ran okay if that is any help to this situation.

http://files.filefront.com/TmNations.../fileinfo.html

Failing that, check hard drive space, disable virus checker, disable spyware protection, disable download managers, re-install internet explorer, update windows, uninstall all applications, empty recycle bin, align icons on desktop and sort start menu order.
__________________
Kept an xmas avatar for 3 year(s).

Last edited by westy; 16th Aug 2007 at 09:25 AM.
westy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2007, 12:44 PM   #13
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
Wouldn't you rather play a nice game of chess?
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2007, 06:38 AM   #14
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Originally Posted by Ki!ler-Mk1: ( link to post ) 
Redownloaded got same error.
Redownloaded from same place.

Chess, on yahoo games(clocks), sure

Just downloaded from fileshack, got same error.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List

Last edited by Ki!ler-Mk1; 17th Aug 2007 at 07:24 AM.
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2007, 07:26 AM   #15
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
I copied it to the desktop my docs and program files, got same error every time.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2007, 08:45 AM   #16
westy
Member
 
westy's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 444
I think it's time for me to take wild guesses...

Your not running ZoneAlarm by any chance?

http://forums.zonealarm.com/zonelabs...ssage.id=43737

Trusted site list after upgrading to IE7 (also other stuff)

http://techrepublic.com.com/5208-623...sageID=2170888

It might be worth trying to close every program you have in the system tray like virus checkers/spyware protection etc untill it works.

Turns out alot of things can cause that error, including "you probably have a virus/spyware", but it's againest my beliefs to blame any computer problem I don't understand on viruses.
__________________
Kept an xmas avatar for 3 year(s).
westy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2007, 10:36 AM   #17
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
 Originally Posted by westy: ( link to post ) 
Your not running ZoneAlarm by any chance?
Well i no idea why it auto blocked.

Thanks westy.
I have to turn it off to play battlefield games because the stupid way dice designed it so that if ZL complains i cant minimise and it just dies on me.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2007, 07:25 AM   #18
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
Zonealarm... installed... must... resist.... barfing...
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2007, 08:06 AM   #19
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Whats barfing?
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2007, 11:35 AM   #20
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
..being sick, up-chucking, popping, retching... etcetera. Zonealarm is a pretty poor software firewall IMO.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2007, 11:41 PM   #21
NoData
Member
 
NoData's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 889
I disagree with you. Zone Alarm is good basic firewall. Ok, the software is too simple and dont let you setup many things, but that kind of setup is perfect for a lot of users. Example; my mother in law. Not really a computer expert, but she have a mail box, friends and family members on MSN messenger, she browse for receipes, ect. She understand in part what the firewall do, but not much. And in fact, she doenst really care. So Zone Alarm is perfect. The software do it all for her. She even do the updates without calling me for help (tx god!). A simple software that work for ppl that want it simple no?
__________________
My AS2K4 map: Sulfure-SE
And a fixed one: BehemothTournament-TE2
NoData is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Aug 2007, 05:30 AM   #22
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
In my experience, it just gets in the way. It uses to much system resources for what it actually does, and probably could stop any of the really malicious viruses from executing.

But, as you say, for the average person, or in-laws- Its fine. For business- No.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Aug 2007, 09:15 AM   #23
BrokenArts
Administrator
 
BrokenArts's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 4,712
I've read on various sites, that compare top 10 firewalls, ZoneAlarm Pro rates, for some #1 or is in the top 10. (yes I know I am talking pro, not basic ZA)
BrokenArts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Aug 2007, 04:39 PM   #24
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
got pro!
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2007, 12:52 PM   #25
Thebos
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: You know that voice in your head? Well...
Posts: 1,023
Used to use the basic version of Zone Alarm. Found it was great for normal surfing, but created significant lag issues when gaming online.
__________________
Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.
Thebos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2007, 12:58 PM   #26
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Rename the thread to "Poor zone alarm feedback" or something

I dont get lag, but if zone alarm has a problem while bf2 is running or 2142 thats a computer restart, battlefield game's non gameplay interface is poorly made.
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2007, 04:28 AM   #27
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Biggest problem with Zone Alarm has always been that when you uninstall it, it leaves all your ports, etc blocked. Dunno if this is still the case though.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2007, 07:57 AM   #28
Ki!ler-Mk1
Member
 
Ki!ler-Mk1's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, England
Posts: 2,013
Im guessing the answer is obvious, but does windows retain a program to manually reverse that effect?
__________________
Alien Swarm Map List
Ki!ler-Mk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Aug 2007, 09:08 AM   #29
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
Don't believe so, from memory Zone Alarm had to be reinstalled, disabled and then uninstalled.

This was years ago so it may have changed, but someone at the LAN party I went to last weekend had this issue.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runtime Error Ki!ler-Mk1 Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 7 15th Sep 2007 08:11 PM
Help me, i've got an error Nok Thievery Discussion 2 13th Feb 2007 09:47 PM
What's with this error? xxSludgexx2 Alien Swarm 2K4 Mapping 5 18th Oct 2006 04:58 AM
CD Key Error in AS SineWaveMaster Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 2 22nd Aug 2004 04:55 PM
Help! Error! Azrael Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 7 28th May 2004 03:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.