Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Community Forums > Troubleshooting & Technical Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Dec 2003, 11:56 AM   #1
SworDMaster
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Hey,
I got problems when i will connect to a server.
You know if i will join:
1. theres athief with a sword (Background)
2.There is writtenrecaching
3.Then theres written:Connecting
At this part he must go into the game,what he has done every time,but now it doesn't connect! :cry:
What'z the Problem ???
Can you help me ?

BYE!
SworĐMasteR*=FAG=> ( )
SworDMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2003, 01:24 PM   #2
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
Im not a guru but...
What you described is what is suposed to happen. Its UT's loading screen.
You probably have 1 of 2 problems:
- You have not setup your conection accordingly (check your conection setup in Preferences -> Network)
- Server is full (no help in that case, wait until someone leaves)

It would help if you described what you see after the loading sequence you just described. Does the game crashes? Does it go back to the intro and displays a message? (intro is that fade in fade out sequence with music you see once you start thievery)
__________________
Feel the power of the
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2003, 01:24 PM   #3
Thebos
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: You know that voice in your head? Well...
Posts: 1,023
1) When you say that it does not connect, what exactly happens? Do you get "connection rejected by server" message? Does TUT crash? Does it simply hang? If it hangs, then how long do you wait?

2) What servers does this happen on?

3) Have you added any programs or otherwise changed your computer since you last played online?

4) Does Unreal tournament connect okay by it self?

5) Is your overall internet connection seem slow at the moment?

6) What kind of connection do you have (ie. dial-up, broadband)?
__________________
Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.
Thebos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Dec 2003, 08:57 AM   #4
SworDMaster
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Its on all servers.
theres no message
only connecting,that doesnt move until i go out of the game
speed is 56k,but that never happened before,i can play normally,but now it crashed,dont know why.
its really no crash,because in windows is written "progress is working"
i can do all in thievery,its not crashed(thievery)
windows isnt crashed ,too.
What can it be?
brody means its a mistake of the installation,which at an exact time(timerelated)
comes.That happened by one of his relation happened to at similar problem

You know now what it is ?
__________________
Twinkle,twinkle,little pain in my hand and in my brain,down so low and up so high,will you live or will i die ?
SworDMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Dec 2003, 09:32 AM   #5
impulse
Member
 
impulse's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 650
Just try reinstalling thievery and ut if you like.

If you can ping the server and you're not joining, you must have a really poor connection if it just hangs like that on 'Connecting".
impulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Dec 2003, 10:40 AM   #6
Thebos
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: You know that voice in your head? Well...
Posts: 1,023
Agree with impulse- it might be a bad connection. I have used 56k, and normally it would take a minute or two to connect. However, there where times when I would have to wait more then 10 minutes to connect. Check with your provider- they may be upgrading the system, overloaded, etc. That was my problem. Maybe that is yours too, but not sure.

1) How long do you wait?

2) Have you added any new drivers, software, or otherwise changed your computer since you were last able to play?


If it is not too difficult for you, re-install of UT (patch 436) and Theivery as suggested. From what you say, sounds like Brody knew someone who had the same problem and it helped them, so it might be worth a try.
__________________
Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.
Thebos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Dec 2003, 06:14 AM   #7
SworDMaster
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Emmmm......
No,i havent installed some other software!
But i have tried to reinstall all,but the same happened again....
i always wait 10 minutes
__________________
Twinkle,twinkle,little pain in my hand and in my brain,down so low and up so high,will you live or will i die ?
SworDMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Dec 2003, 10:23 AM   #8
Joker
AI Coder
 
Joker's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Corinth, Greece
Posts: 460
Do you have a firewall on? Try to shut evrything down.
__________________
Abraham Lincoln: "Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt."
Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Dec 2003, 01:42 PM   #9
LaughingRat
Member
 
LaughingRat's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,701
Make sure your firewall, if any, has a permission set allowing thaux.exe access through it.

During the wait while your connecting, is there a download going on? If there's a percentage counting up onscreen while connecting, it means the server is trying to send you a file or files. If it's a big file (like a map) or if your connection speed is slow, it may take a while to download, and that may be causing the pause you're experiencing.
LaughingRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2004, 09:03 AM   #10
SworDMaster
New Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
No theres no download and i have load him 10 minutes.. nothing happens.
i tried to close the firewall and deactivated it but there was the same mistake and i gave my firewall to give th.aux the access to go online.
Nothing happens
everytime the same mistake.
__________________
Twinkle,twinkle,little pain in my hand and in my brain,down so low and up so high,will you live or will i die ?
SworDMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2004, 08:43 AM   #11
Sandman
Member
 
Sandman's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: in the shadows
Posts: 1,191
yo... but I still dunno... :|
__________________
"Blockheads never learn, Clever learn by his own mistakes, Intelligents learn by mistakes of others."
Sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2007, 07:07 PM   #12
The Dragon
Member
 
The Dragon's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dodging 6 guards in the streets of Bourgeois
Posts: 1,400
I think I am experiencing this same problem.

I got a new laptop about a year ago, and yesterday I installed Thievery on a whim. At first, the game was doing some weird jerky stuff, but after searching the forums a bit I realized it was a dual core problem and it was easily fixed by changing the affinity of thaux (is there a way to permanently do this, or do I always have to start thievery, then minimize and change the affinity before I do it?)

BUT...now that it's working fine (in solo, at least), I have tried to connect to multiplayer and it's not working. When I tried to connect to Brody's servers last night, the music would stop playing and it would say "Precaching" briefly, just like I remember. It then says "Connecting," but instead of the game remaining frozen until I enter the server (like it used to when I played it years ago), it just sits there. I can escape back to the menu, and if I hit escape again it just takes me back to that brownish screen that says "Connecting" in red letters. But it isn't connecting.

System Specs:

Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Gateway
AMD Turion(tm) 64x2 Mobile Technology TL-50, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~1.6 GHz
958 MB RAM
DirectX 9.0c

Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce Go 6100
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC, 256 MB


I have also tried disabling both my Norton Firewall AND my windows firewall, but it hasn't made a difference.
__________________
Dragon: Unforgiven Keeper. Swift, silent, smooth-talking. Militaristic, a formidable opponent. Winner.
The Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2007, 07:57 PM   #13
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by The Dragon: ( link to post ) 
I think I am experiencing this same problem.

I got a new laptop about a year ago, and yesterday I installed Thievery on a whim. At first, the game was doing some weird jerky stuff, but after searching the forums a bit I realized it was a dual core problem and it was easily fixed by changing the affinity of thaux (is there a way to permanently do this, or do I always have to start thievery, then minimize and change the affinity before I do it?)
Drago,

Options:
  1. Use the imagecfg program, following Salvage's rules for use on the Thief2.exe game executable. Be sure to backup the main ThAux.exe executable first.
  2. Use WinXPLauncher to create a profile for that executable and tell it to use only one core.

I use the imagecfg method for Thievery and have never had a problem.
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2007, 08:27 PM   #14
John dillinger
Member
 
John dillinger's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: On A large Island that spans 3,794,101 Square Miles
Posts: 42
The problem could be thievery itself
Check if the intro plays right before alt tabing out of thievery to disable 1 CPU
If it hangs then restart thivery again.
Also OpenGl locks up, Use direct3D8, Then run thievery once under Direct3D8
then exit and edit ThAux.ini, at the bottom use these settings or you will not see crack clouds.


[D3D8Drv.D3D8RenderDevice]
ZRangeHack=False
NoAATiles=False
NumAASamples=0
UseAA=False
RequestHighResolutionZ=True
UseSoftwareVertexProcessing=False
UsePureDevice=False
UseTripleBuffering=False
MaskedTextureHack=False
SmoothMaskedTextures=False
FrameRateLimit=0
SwapInterval=-1
UseVertexProgram=False
TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
CacheStaticMaps=False
UseTexPool=True
UseTexIdPool=True
UseSSE2=True
UseSSE=True
BufferTileQuads=True
BufferClippedActorTris=True
SinglePassDetail=False
SinglePassFog=False
ColorizeDetailTextures=False
DetailClipping=False
UseDetailAlpha=True
DetailMax=0
RefreshRate=0
MaxTMUnits=0
NoFiltering=False
MaxAnisotropy=0
Use565Textures=False
Use16BitTextures=False
UseS3TC=False
UseAlphaPalette=False
UseTrilinear=False
UsePrecache=False
UsePalette=False
UseMultitexture=True
MaxLogTextureSize=8
MinLogTextureSize=0
MaxLogVOverU=8
MaxLogUOverV=8
OneXBlending=False
GammaCorrectScreenshots=False
GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
GammaOffset=0.000000
LODBias=0.000000
DetailTextures=True
DescFlags=0
Description=
HighDetailActors=True
Coronas=True
ShinySurfaces=False
VolumetricLighting=False
John dillinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2007, 09:39 PM   #15
The Dragon
Member
 
The Dragon's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dodging 6 guards in the streets of Bourgeois
Posts: 1,400
so...without changing anything, I was randomly able to connect to a server with Rodent and Illusion. But it wasn't Brody's. Could there be something on Brody's servers preventing me from connecting?

there wasn't anything downloading when i tried to connect to Brody's, either.
__________________
Dragon: Unforgiven Keeper. Swift, silent, smooth-talking. Militaristic, a formidable opponent. Winner.
The Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2007, 09:45 PM   #16
John dillinger
Member
 
John dillinger's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Location: On A large Island that spans 3,794,101 Square Miles
Posts: 42
Well it could be some mutators
that don't allow you to stack but could be other things

Last edited by John dillinger; 28th Nov 2007 at 11:08 PM.
John dillinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2007, 04:08 AM   #17
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
Alright Dragon!

From what you've said, we can rule out;

Any graphical settings or quirks- As TUT works in SP on on other servers.
Internet Connection - You can join another server quite happily

Yeah, sounds like Brodys servers might be the problem. There are a few mandatory mutators on there you need, but some setting in a TUT ini file might stop the downloading? Someone else might be able to confirm.

Other than that, you've been inadvertently banned off Brodys Which of course, I can correct if is the case.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2007, 05:30 AM   #18
The Dragon
Member
 
The Dragon's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dodging 6 guards in the streets of Bourgeois
Posts: 1,400
I don't think I've been banned from Brody's, cause it doesn't say connection failed, but rather just sits on the "Connecting" screen (right after precaching). Tomorrow I will see if there are any mutators on Brody's site that I might need, although I think I already have a few.

Also, when I connected on another server I was frequently lagging out of the game. I don't think the problems are related...but either my university's internet is shit (which I don't think it is, it's super fast), or I need a new ethernet cable. I will try to deal with that as well and see if it makes a difference.

Fix, let's play a few games when I get this sorted, eh? I played today and couldn't even get through some of the maps on solo without dying like 5 times...sad.
__________________
Dragon: Unforgiven Keeper. Swift, silent, smooth-talking. Militaristic, a formidable opponent. Winner.
The Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2007, 05:41 AM   #19
Bandit
Member
 
Bandit's Avatar
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: 20°59' E 53°34' N
Posts: 508
You need to install UTPatch 4.51B
__________________
.:.S.e.r.v.e.r.B.r.o.w.s.e.r.:.
Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2007, 05:54 AM   #20
necros
Member
 
necros's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Yorkshire, The Land of Gods
Posts: 1,411
false. you need 436.

451 is a serverside patch, nothing more - and serves only to break UED on clients.
__________________
Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience
necros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2007, 05:55 AM   #21
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
 Originally Posted by The Dragon: ( link to post ) 
Fix, let's play a few games when I get this sorted, eh? I played today and couldn't even get through some of the maps on solo without dying like 5 times...sad.
I'm certainly going to be on the TUT scene until the new year, due to funding for a new GPU, so you're damn straight we'll get some games sorted * points * "Immense!"

Install teh patch.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2007, 07:20 AM   #22
Bandit
Member
 
Bandit's Avatar
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: 20°59' E 53°34' N
Posts: 508
True. First you need install 4.36 but also 4.51 because it's not only serverside patch.
__________________
.:.S.e.r.v.e.r.B.r.o.w.s.e.r.:.
Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2007, 05:00 AM   #23
The Dragon
Member
 
The Dragon's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dodging 6 guards in the streets of Bourgeois
Posts: 1,400
without installing 451, i can suddenly connect to brody's now. i already have 436. I don't know what changed...really weird.

i'm still lagging out a lot so i need to get that fixed before i can play online. i don't know what the reason could be.
__________________
Dragon: Unforgiven Keeper. Swift, silent, smooth-talking. Militaristic, a formidable opponent. Winner.
The Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2007, 06:45 AM   #24
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
I've found Brodys to a be bit unstable lately. Keep getting the connection symbol in the right had area of the screen.

Not sure what the deal is.

Other servers seem fine.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2007, 07:40 AM   #25
Bandit
Member
 
Bandit's Avatar
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: 20°59' E 53°34' N
Posts: 508
What is your traceroute to Brody's IP?

Here you can find good tool for check this.
__________________
.:.S.e.r.v.e.r.B.r.o.w.s.e.r.:.
Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2007, 03:52 PM   #26
-KewlAzMe-
Member
 
-KewlAzMe-'s Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,593
 Originally Posted by The Dragon: ( link to post ) 
without installing 451, i can suddenly connect to brody's now. i already have 436. I don't know what changed...really weird.

i'm still lagging out a lot so i need to get that fixed before i can play online. i don't know what the reason could be.
You have the ipdrv.dll fix right? Tho I think its just for servers.. but couldn't hurt
__________________
I'd Be More Apathetic... If I Wasn't So Lethargic
-KewlAzMe- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2007, 05:03 PM   #27
FixXxeR
Member
 
FixXxeR's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: UK, Manchester
Posts: 4,052
 Originally Posted by Bandit: ( link to post ) 
What is your traceroute to Brody's IP?

Here you can find good tool for check this.
Tracert drops at about 20 hops.

Was playing this evening and FRH was sword thieving. When he stood next to me the game was unplayable! Just lagged everywhere.

mmmpfh.
__________________
-TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
- Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
- #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
FixXxeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Problems The Dragon Troubleshooting & Technical Help 28 5th Nov 2004 10:11 AM
2 problems in linux: joining a server and loading-screen booiiing Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 3 19th Sep 2004 04:47 PM
Map problems... Kiech Bepho Troubleshooting & Technical Help 4 29th Aug 2004 12:24 AM
Problems Hosting Campaigns Falcon_of_Light Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 2 2nd Jun 2004 08:34 AM
Multiple Problems with mod!!! Assassin X Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 8 29th May 2004 08:24 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.