Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Thievery Forums > Thievery Discussion > Thievery Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Jun 2009, 12:14 PM   #1
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 219
Th-Whispers

I've been working on this map just few hours so far.
I don't have too many info about it. In this early stage all i can say is that the style is like in th-Asylum but with a lot more creepyer atmosphere.
Ill come with new info and screens when i got some .

One of the corridors:


~Getty
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jun 2009, 01:32 PM   #2
Schleicher
Member
 
Schleicher's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: not in the Playboy Manor =(
Posts: 3,174
Looks more like TH-Novaprospect ;D

Eh jk, noice. The right map in the wrong place can make all the diff..erence in the world
Schleicher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2010, 09:28 PM   #3
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 219
Some updates





Still much left to be done. I hope ill be able to work some in the easter break

Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2010, 11:39 PM   #4
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
that looks like ummm... nice! I like it!
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Mar 2010, 05:16 PM   #5
Trapmaster
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Posts: 315
Looks great Good detailing too.

As I always said Get, you got lots of potential and are able to greatly
improve that skill, not many people can do that - practise is everything.
Trapmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2010, 01:33 AM   #6
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 219
Heh thanks for the compliments Also i'm verry glad you liked it. Ill do my best
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Apr 2010, 03:48 PM   #7
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 219
Fast question: Is there a way in making a brush/surface only visible in a mirror? im having a evil idea xDD
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Apr 2010, 06:27 PM   #8
Thebos
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: You know that voice in your head? Well...
Posts: 1,023
Been a while since I fooled with UED, and although I do not think that is possible, you might be able to replicate the effect:

A) Add invisible brush, if required, for any kind of direct interaction.
B) Make the mirror translucent.
C) Behind translucent mirror, create a portal to another room that is dimensionally the mirror image of that main room except the "invisible" object is present/visible, and the room is otherwise empty.

Main thing is to have the object oriented in the mirror room so that it looks like it is reflected.

Would expect the effect to be helped by low light and the "invisible" object being in a position that nothing else can get behind (unless it is supposed to looked ghostly since all items behind it are visible in the mirror. Also, suspect the best effect would be if the lighting of the overall mirror room is low/nil, but the object itself is very bright.

Main issue that might kill the effect is if something is supposed block the object as it moves past (such as the player). This could be prevented by clever placement I think.
__________________
Give some taffer fire, and you'll keep him warm for the night with one less reason to cause trouble for the master.
Set a taffer on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life, and have no need to bother the master.
Thebos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2010, 11:29 AM   #9
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 219
 Originally Posted by Thebos: ( link to post ) 
B) Make the mirror translucent.
Marking the "translucent" option on the mirror's surface dont make the objects behind it visible. Tried doing it in other ways too but didnt worked.
Anyone some ideas?
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2010, 05:40 PM   #10
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 219
The mirror scene is on hold untill i figure smth else.

Heres 2 new rooms:

(possible the doc's room. not yet sure if ill make a "kill the doctor" objective)

~god! love the lighting

(one of the objectives room which will include random vacs and body placements)

~none of these stuff is finished so the final product may be way impoved

Hope you like it
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2010, 06:38 PM   #11
Sly
Member
 
Sly's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Location: The tallest rooftops.
Posts: 150
That's looking real nice, especially the lighting. Nice creepy look.
__________________
>Thievery Stealth<
Sly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 10:10 AM   #12
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 219
Thanks. glad u like it

I got more questions xd
Q1. I need a actor which will make a Dispatcher stop working when its triggered by a trigger actor. Does exist any? i once heard something about a "destroyer" actor. dont know what he does.

Q2. Is it possible to atach a teleport actor to a mover? i mean when mover moves, it moves with the teleporter too. Maybe theres same techique as for doorknobs? never atached doorknobs.
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 07:52 AM   #13
mcfarrel
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Telč and Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 153
 Originally Posted by Edy94: ( link to post ) 
Thanks. glad u like it

I got more questions xd
Q1. I need a actor which will make a Dispatcher stop working when its triggered by a trigger actor. Does exist any? i once heard something about a "destroyer" actor. dont know what he does.

Q2. Is it possible to atach a teleport actor to a mover? i mean when mover moves, it moves with the teleporter too. Maybe theres same techique as for doorknobs? never atached doorknobs.
Q2 Answer - Attach mover should work

Q1 Answer - I have to check the Dispatcher src, but just to ensure I am getting Your idea. Do You want to stop the dispatcher list of "commands" (during execution routine) befor it terminates itself, right?
Maybe I should make some daughter class of externally controlled dispatcher...
__________________
Mappers do thier hard work for other people (game players namely), but if none of these other people give them feedback, there is no power to do what have to be done.

Be kind to Your mappers because they are doing it for You and give them hope...
mcfarrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 04:57 AM   #14
lightfoot
Member
 
lightfoot's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: *teleports up front*
Posts: 576
Dunno about UT, but in 2k4 I would try a Triggertrigger, setting the initial trigger (the 1 calling the dispatcher) to inactive. Nothing needs to be destroyed then.
lightfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.