Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Thievery Forums > Thievery Discussion > Thievery Mapping

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Jun 2011, 08:20 AM   #1
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
I am restarting my project (the map formerly known as TH-Library)

Right, so after many years I got really nostalgic and felt like trying to do the map I wanted to do so long ago.

Unfortunatley I can no longuer use the name I intented. But no worries, congratulations to the creators of TH-Library. I will consider a new name once it gets turned into a proper map.

Why I am doing this? Because I have this bad habit of finishing things. I wrote that I would do this map and do it I shall. So in homage to the game I am playing now this project will be known as TH-DNF until a new and proper name shows up.

There are a few obstacles, I lost the partial maps many years ago. But I consider that minor. I had few skecthes around that I am sure I scanned and I fail to find the backup CD I still have much of the ideas fresh on my head.

To start I shall install TuT once more, OS is no problem since I made the (sound) decision of dual booting my desktop with Windows XP and the later flavour, but if I can I will try to install TuT in Windows 7 so that I can work on the map on the laptop as well.

The aproach will be (for now) the same as in 2002, I will draw the maps of each floor on papper and then try to build each one of them individually.
I will start at the general geometry and then go the stuff like carpets. I intend to test the map at each stage, final bit will adding the AI. My idea is to completly build each floor before starting another. At the end I will try to merge the floors.

I am still aiming at a 3 storie building, the 2 lower floors would be the usually stuff already found in other missions and the top floor is what I consider the core of the map and it may well be the biggest issue, I am saving it for last. All other stuff is still subject to revision but as for now the map is aimed at being about action indoors with a area outside for a couple entry points.

Back then Ued was kinda scary, I remeber asking for help to someone to build a part of the map. It took me some time to understand the whole carve and shape stuff but now that I am older and there are tons of videos I am more confident, getting the AI stuff is probably the last obstacle.

I will continue to post updates about progress, issues and whatever I feel sharing. Today is dedicated at installing and backup hunting, current ETA for the overall project is none.

Oh, and tips coments are more then welcome, but do not expect payment
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jun 2011, 10:36 AM   #2
FatRatHead
Member
 
FatRatHead's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 961
Welcome back, cadet.
FatRatHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jun 2011, 05:21 AM   #3
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
First update.
I found the backup CD, I got all the drawings back except the UED tests. To my surprise the CD even contained some random text I had written for books.
So I got the basics, time to install TuT. Any issues with Windows 7?
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jun 2011, 05:47 AM   #4
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
 Originally Posted by Antero90: ( link to post ) 
First update.
Any issues with Windows 7?
not at all, it didn't work for me with ThAux.exe and thaux.ini for some reason, so i had to use unrealtournament.exe instead, but after reinstalling windows, everything is working as it should.

Btw.I was one of comakers of Th-Library actually.

And yes, good luck with your map!
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jun 2011, 09:50 AM   #5
FatRatHead
Member
 
FatRatHead's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 961
Works in Win 7 for me without any modifications or hassle.
Happy mappin'
FatRatHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2011, 08:04 AM   #6
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
Small sidenote.

I found some more stuff on the CD, one of them is, I think a darkengine to ut mission converter. If anyone wants it feel free to ask.

Last edited by Antero90; 19th Jun 2011 at 10:02 AM.
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2011, 08:22 AM   #7
WTaFa
Banned
 
Registered: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 574
 Originally Posted by Antero90: ( link to post ) 
Small sidenote.

I found some more stuff on the CD, one of them is, I think a darkmod to ut mission converter. If anyone wants it feel free to ask.
sounds interesting!
can you give a link and some additional info about it?
WTaFa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2011, 10:02 AM   #8
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
 Originally Posted by WTaFa: ( link to post ) 
sounds interesting!
can you give a link and some additional info about it?
Sorry, for some stupid reason I mistyped, its not darkmod, its darkengine. Aparently its a set of scripts to be used with pearl, im not sure where I found them, but I do remember testing this and it kinda works, the converter only translates geometry all else needs to be redone manually. From memory I recall testing the chatedral level and it got halved in size. Im not sure if further work was done, this got into my hands around the time of Thief 3.
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2011, 11:18 AM   #9
BrokenArts
Administrator
 
BrokenArts's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 4,712
Welcome back Antero!
BrokenArts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2011, 12:25 PM   #10
Gaelwyhn
Member
 
Gaelwyhn's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: United States, North America
Posts: 36
Yes. Welcome back to the dark shroud we call a brotherhood.
__________________
Loot - That's what I want and that's what I'll have. I'll get what I want because I know how to get it.
Gaelwyhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2011, 01:47 PM   #11
Keggie
Member
 
Keggie's Avatar
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: following your foot falls...
Posts: 2,003
cool, post pic's of the map in the making
__________________
[E.D.G]Keggie - All that is yours is allready mine
Thievery - Hanse's, Market, Mutator List
AlienSwarm2k4 - Nighide Research Facility
Videos - YouTube
Keggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2011, 02:22 PM   #12
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
 Originally Posted by Keggie: ( link to post ) 
cool, post pic's of the map in the making
This was taken while testing the 2d shape editor, more will follow once I got some stuff to show.

Right now im relearning the basics of UED, im less rusty than I thought, just need to get the hang of that rotating tool and keep adding lights. I also need to recheck my numbers, my original measurings are very muddy.

I am still looking at my notes and drawings and it's insane the amount of stuff I tried to do. I also realised that I did not map the outisde area AND there are about 5 or 6 empty rooms! I already have an idea for those. Tragically, one of the prototypes that a fellow taffer did for me was the outside area but I have no idea where that map could be.

Once I get the basic operation back on track I plan on building two test rooms. This map project is built around corridors and its critical that those corridors have the right size, this test map will also serve for learning the best way to add everything else that isnt walls. I will do some cheating and look at some maps on how to add the decorations I planned.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (325.0 KB, 21 views)
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2011, 08:42 AM   #13
NeuroFunkeR
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Location: My headphones
Posts: 637
you could make the brush so long as this corridor itself, no need to substract it trice.
NeuroFunkeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2011, 09:43 AM   #14
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
 Originally Posted by NeuroFunkeR: ( link to post ) 
you could make the brush so long as this corridor itself, no need to substract it trice.
You just confirmed my suspicion that longuer is better. Anyway, its not quite apliable on that shot, you cant see it from that perspective but it's actually 3 (slightly) diferent brushes. I think I got that size right now, just trying to figure out the best overall lenght, once that is done it's down to carving and placing stuff. (May need to read more about ambient light, I forgot everything about this part, so imagine my horror when I fired up a completly pitch black map)

Im taking this time at work to write the rest of the back story (it's amazing how the background is still very fresh in my head).

The only downside of the 2d shape editor is that I always get stuck with it at the top perspective and it's still a pain to rotate the whole thing.

Another thing I noticed is that the editor divides two sides of the square faces. I read that you can do this in various ways, but what is the best fix for these situations?
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2011, 11:21 AM   #15
Schleicher
Member
 
Schleicher's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: not in the Playboy Manor =(
Posts: 3,174
If you dont see all parts of a big brush at once it can be beneficial to make several smaller ones, since the engine wont render the parts which are hidden from view - moreso if its something complex - in the case of your corridor there it wont help since youll always see everything of it. Dunno anymore if that applies with or without zoning.

At least thats bsp theory as far as i remember

2dshape is pretty powerful but dont go overboard with it. Best make everything you do with it semisolid and theres also some option with merging faces or something i cant remember which also helps performance. Iirc theres some option somewhere which dictates on which plane the shape you draw gets rotated or something, just experiment.
Schleicher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2011, 01:03 PM   #16
]>CoD<[Chief
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: [E.D.G]Chief
Posts: 700
As an aside, if anyone else is still after the mis2t3d (dark engine > unreal/thief3 format) you can still download it:

http://www.thief-thecircle.com/downl...ols/cowgen.zip

All you need is to install Active Perl to use it.

That .zip contained the very last updated version by Tels (the script author).

Chief
]>CoD<[Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2011, 01:29 PM   #17
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
 Originally Posted by Schleicher: ( link to post ) 
If you dont see all parts of a big brush at once it can be beneficial to make several smaller ones, since the engine wont render the parts which are hidden from view - moreso if its something complex - in the case of your corridor there it wont help since youll always see everything of it. Dunno anymore if that applies with or without zoning.

At least thats bsp theory as far as i remember

2dshape is pretty powerful but dont go overboard with it. Best make everything you do with it semisolid and theres also some option with merging faces or something i cant remember which also helps performance. Iirc theres some option somewhere which dictates on which plane the shape you draw gets rotated or something, just experiment.
I dont think its quite that.

Here is what I am currently experiencing.

See? there is a line that splits that face in half, the same is happening on the faces directly oposite, the other sides are fine.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (94.7 KB, 10 views)
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2011, 04:15 PM   #18
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
Another shot from ingame (windows 7 doesnt seem to like the native Ut bmp), first serious test at making a doorway, perhaps the ceeling could be lower...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (130.6 KB, 17 views)
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jun 2011, 04:34 PM   #19
Edy94
Member
 
Edy94's Avatar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 218
 Originally Posted by Antero90: ( link to post ) 

Here is what I am currently experiencing.

See? there is a line that splits that face in half, the same is happening on the faces directly oposite, the other sides are fine.
Yes that will cause texture issues even if you use texture alignment.

The only way i can think of is using 2 cubes, the lower one would be normal but for the upper one you need to use the vertex edit and then use texture alignment to make the wall's texture uniform.
Edy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2011, 11:19 AM   #20
]>CoD<[Chief
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: [E.D.G]Chief
Posts: 700
Or just do it with a cube and a split hexagonal cylinder so that it's two brushes and then texture align them as required.
]>CoD<[Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2011, 03:52 PM   #21
FatRatHead
Member
 
FatRatHead's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 961
I'd do it CHief's way.
FatRatHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jun 2011, 04:40 PM   #22
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
 Originally Posted by FatRatHead: ( link to post ) 
I'd do it CHief's way.
I will get to it shortly, today I dedicated the day to messing up with textures. It was a pain to get all textures to show, but finally got the ones I wanted.

Still got some time to mess around with doors. Like the 1st time I am taking some time to get the hang of it. Im sure im missing something, time to go back to reading. Im leaving one other shot with semi textured corridor, door needs a lot of tweeting still.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (149.7 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Feel the power of the
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2011, 10:26 AM   #23
Schleicher
Member
 
Schleicher's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: not in the Playboy Manor =(
Posts: 3,174
TEXTURE ALIGNMENT!!! jk

Sizewise that looks abit off, might be perspective tho?

Normal door height 128ish, room 256ish? 16 units too fat for a door frame but thats just imo.
Schleicher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2011, 10:40 AM   #24
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
 Originally Posted by Schleicher: ( link to post ) 
Sizewise that looks abit off, might be perspective tho?

Normal door height 128ish, room 256ish? 16 units too fat for a door frame but thats just imo.
In my original drawing the ceeling was a bit higher than normal since it's suposed to be a reconstructed building, but im still experimenting with sizes. I will post an ingame screenshot later today.

And yes, the door is not the right size yet, the door frame got out of control and im still relearning how to add working th-doors.

It's ocurring to me now, wasnt there an option for the grid size? Maybe im using a bad grid size, there is no way I wiull be able to add the meshes I had planed with such a large grid.
__________________
Feel the power of the
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2011, 01:15 PM   #25
Schleicher
Member
 
Schleicher's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: not in the Playboy Manor =(
Posts: 3,174
Ya can adjust grid size with the little dropdown field in the lower middle if thats what you mean.

Meant standard wooden door frame. 16 is ok for a heavy set stone frame for example - again just imo, thats down to your artistic vision but i wouldnt make a standard wooden frame larger than 8 units.
Schleicher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2011, 05:30 PM   #26
Antero90
Member
 
Antero90's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Unreal Editor 2
Posts: 1,463
 Originally Posted by Schleicher: ( link to post ) 
Ya can adjust grid size with the little dropdown field in the lower middle if thats what you mean.

Meant standard wooden door frame. 16 is ok for a heavy set stone frame for example - again just imo, thats down to your artistic vision but i wouldnt make a standard wooden frame larger than 8 units.
Units were too hight, setting the drid to 1 unit really unlocked the poer to make all sorts of slimm stuff. I was able to create a muhc cleaner door way wiith no trouble.

There will be no updates during the next days. I will be out for personal reasons, once I get back and do more substancial advances I will post them here.
__________________
Feel the power of the
Antero90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2011, 07:08 PM   #27
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
You're going to anger the goblin with gridsize like that...
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jun 2011, 09:05 PM   #28
Schleicher
Member
 
Schleicher's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: not in the Playboy Manor =(
Posts: 3,174
MULTIPLES OF TWO MULTIPLES OF AAAUUUEEEEIII *chompy noises*
Schleicher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2011, 11:05 AM   #29
Gaelwyhn
Member
 
Gaelwyhn's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Location: United States, North America
Posts: 36
 Originally Posted by Schleicher: ( link to post ) 
16 units too fat for a door frame but thats just imo.
Are you sure? I'm used to making door frames at 32u. And the doors at 16u.
__________________
Loot - That's what I want and that's what I'll have. I'll get what I want because I know how to get it.
Gaelwyhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2011, 11:31 AM   #30
Schleicher
Member
 
Schleicher's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: not in the Playboy Manor =(
Posts: 3,174
A player is about 64x64 wide and depth and 128 high. If you port that 32 over to reality a normal doorframe would be half as thick as a person. Unless you mean like the passage thru the wall? Ugh werds, i drew something to illustrate
Attached Images
File Type: jpg doooor.jpg (10.4 KB, 13 views)
Schleicher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project 'RIFT' Donator Alien Swarm 2K4 Mapping 73 22nd Aug 2014 03:36 PM
Th-Library Edy94 Thievery Mapping 13 28th Dec 2010 08:35 PM
Project Offset! Sexual.Sam Community Chat 10 22nd Apr 2007 06:06 PM
The 30-Second Bunnies Theatre Library... Ki!ler-Mk1 Community Chat 10 24th Nov 2005 11:38 AM
Need help for TH-Library Antero90 Nightblade Discussion 2 23rd Jul 2004 06:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.