Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Oct 2005, 01:19 AM   #31
Tsura
New Member
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
What's BeOS? I meant the mod list in UT2K4.
Tsura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2005, 09:49 AM   #32
Baz
Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: 0xbaadf00d
Posts: 3,094
Bit odd its in the modlist but the exe does nothing. Do the usual stuff make sure your using new drivers, latest patch of swarm and unreal, and delete and reinstall swarm. if all else fails, you need to buy more harddrives
__________________
..it's safer here.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Oct 2005, 09:53 AM   #33
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
It would be helpful to know if there are any errors listed in the UT2004.log after trying to run the mod.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2005, 07:09 AM   #34
Nok
New Member
 
Nok's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
 Originally Posted by Carth:
You extract the zip to AlienSwarm inside the UT2004 directory, and then double click on UT2004\AlienSwarm\AlienSwarm.exe. That executable will launch UT2004 with the relevant mod options so you don't have to start vanilla UT2004 first and choose it from the community menu. If it doesn't work, the chances are you installed it wrong.
Thats what I did, after it finished downloading it saved it to WinRAR, so I extracted it to the UT2K4 folder, clicked on its icon and it gave me this error message:

"UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-03-03_02.42]

OS: Windows 2000 5.0 (Build: 2195)
CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1532 MHz with 511MB RAM
Video: RADEON 9800 PRO (6553)

Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file 'AlienSwarmStartup.ut2'

History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine"
Nok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2005, 07:48 AM   #35
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
 Originally Posted by Nok:
Thats what I did, after it finished downloading it saved it to WinRAR, so I extracted it to the UT2K4 folder, clicked on its icon and it gave me this error message...
As is already stated in this thread (and the alienswarm readme, incidently), you need to have a PATCHED version of UT2004. At least version 3270.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2005, 07:53 AM   #36
Nok
New Member
 
Nok's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
 Originally Posted by immortius:
As is already stated in this thread (and the alienswarm readme, incidently), you need to have a PATCHED version of UT2004. At least version 3270.
Ok I updated it to 3355, but its still giving me an error, not the same from before:

UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-02-15_17.02]

OS: Windows 2000 5.0 (Build: 2195)
CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1532 MHz with 511MB RAM
Video: RADEON 9800 PRO (6553)

Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file for package 'AlienTech'

History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
Nok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2005, 08:55 AM   #37
Nok
New Member
 
Nok's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Posts: 19
I updated from the first version to 3355, should I have gotten 3270 before 3355?
Nok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Oct 2005, 09:21 AM   #38
immortius
Member
 
immortius's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: NX128EZ061 - The main planet
Posts: 3,117
after patching you'll need to remove alienswarm and then re-install it.

I'm also assuming you're installing it to Ut2004/Alienswarm.
__________________
Immortius' Forge
immortius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2006, 04:23 PM   #39
Kuzzeddie
New Member
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Unhappy oh for f*** sake lads lookie here

UT2004 Build UT2004_Patch_[2004-07-27_14.28]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1501 MHz with 1023MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 (8198)

General protection fault!

History: UObject:rocessEvent <- (AoMarine AlienSwarmStartup.AoMarine1, Function AoPrototype.AoMarine.PostNetBeginPlay) <- BeginPlay <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free

general protection fault?? whats this??
Kuzzeddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2006, 05:53 PM   #40
Bucchus
Member
 
Bucchus's Avatar
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Visitor centre
Posts: 1,517
Hmm, did you try to use the server browser while in game?
__________________
My cats are black! How about yours?
Bucchus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 07:27 AM   #41
Phantaloz
Member
 
Phantaloz's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Not France
Posts: 1,754
General Protection Fault is just the normal error that UT2k4 gives when it does something wrong/it doesn't give a shit about what you want/you've done something wrong

(For me they were the two first ones...On the old computer. Haven't got them anymore )
__________________
The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy
Phantaloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 11:17 AM   #42
DiP
Member
 
DiP's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,702
Immortuios(or however you spell your name), Just to say. That UT4Mod's dont work because you unistalled Ut2004 Demo and installed the ful game, Because all i did was get a (cracked) version of ut2003, Then when ut2004 came out i firstly uninstalled ut2003, Deleted all the things that came with it. Restarted, And installed ut2004(DVD, This is waht i think causes it) and my UT4Mod's dont work. I just use a UT4MOD extractor. If anybody else's umod's don't work then try those things first. If it still doesn't your like me. Millions of reinstalls(or uninstalling and installing) doesnt work either. Your stuffed basicaly. As i said, I think it has something to do with buying the DVD version of it. Or if you bought a cd version, Then it was basicaly the first shipment of the game. This is what i think, It may not be true, it may be true. How to get UT4MODS working is like asking someone "Whats the speed of an unladen swallow?"
__________________
Your order has been dispatched!
DiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 11:44 AM   #43
Phantaloz
Member
 
Phantaloz's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Not France
Posts: 1,754
 Originally Posted by deathispainfull:
"Whats the speed of an unladen swallow?"
"What is the average airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow"!
__________________
The *mean French look* haunts...everywhere.

Look mom, I double A'd Moses -2kmix- heavy
Phantaloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 03:30 PM   #44
DiP
Member
 
DiP's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,702
 Originally Posted by Phantaloz:
"What is the average airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow"!
11mph.
__________________
Your order has been dispatched!
DiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 06:11 PM   #45
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
How wrong can you be?
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 06:13 PM   #46
DiP
Member
 
DiP's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,702
There is half a chance im wrong, But then again, Thats another 50% that i'm right. 50%, You can't beat that can ya!?
__________________
Your order has been dispatched!
DiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 06:39 PM   #47
Carth
Member
 
Carth's Avatar
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 3,577
 Originally Posted by deathispainfull:
There is half a chance im wrong, But then again, Thats another 50% that i'm right. 50%, You can't beat that can ya!?
Actually I can. 51% would beat it, but I could just be 100% correct instead
__________________
I think I can love you
Let's facwe the future together
Carth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 07:25 PM   #48
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
And, in fact, the probability in this case is not 50/50
To figure it out, we first need to know how many possible answers there are. Let's assume the answer must be a whole number, and it can't be negative. That leaves, let's see... infinity. So, the chance that you're right is 1/infinity

Not odds I would play...
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 11:20 PM   #49
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
I'm willing to bet he's correct

The answer was in my sig awhile back.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2006, 11:24 PM   #50
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
I'll one-up you. I'm willing to bet that no one cares.
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Feb 2006, 01:48 PM   #51
Soulcrusher
New Member
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
What are we talking about....??
 Quote:
UT2004 Build UT2004_Patch_[2004-05-10_17.18]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: GenuineIntel Unknown processor @ 3004 MHz with 511MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 XT (8185)

General protection fault!

History: UObject:rocessEvent <- (AoMarine AlienSwarmStartup.AoMarine1, Function AoPrototype.AoMarine.PostNetBeginPlay) <- BeginPlay <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
I only have this when i tried alienswarm from the mods page in ut...
Soulcrusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Feb 2006, 01:51 PM   #52
BiG_D
Super Moderator
 
BiG_D's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Inches above the ban button
Posts: 4,064
Install the newest ut patch, delete your swarm folder, and install it again.
__________________
It's not my fault everything you like is terrible.
BiG_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st Jun 2006, 01:04 AM   #53
runedot
New Member
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Edit: Nevermind. I reinstalled the latest patch, reinstalled Swarm, and it worked. Weird.


I've just downloaded the mod and I get an error...
And it took me ages to download as well!



General protection fault!

History: UObject:rocessEvent <- (AoMarine AlienSwarmStartup.AoMarine1, Function AoPrototype.AoMarine.PostNetBeginPlay) <- BeginPlay <- UGameEngine::LoadMap <- LocalMapURL <- UGameEngine::Browse <- UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free

Last edited by runedot; 1st Jun 2006 at 02:34 AM.
runedot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2009, 05:28 AM   #54
djantonv
New Member
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Alin swarm cant launch it

Im having trouble with alien swarm because i save it to ut2004 and then i dont know what to do
djantonv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2009, 11:10 AM   #55
Waki
New Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
update UT2004 to newest patch,download Alien Swarm,extract map into the UT2004 map (if no need to extract from rar then just move the map into ur UT2004 map).

make a new short cut,its in the AlienSwarm map.
Waki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2009, 02:56 PM   #56
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
Maybe he's asking how to open the map in-game?

Tilde (~) console, type "map <mapname>" without quotes, right?
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Apr 2009, 06:07 PM   #57
Waki
New Member
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
"cant launch it" is the head line so think he means how to start Alien Swarm,but that might be another way of reading it. =)
Waki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Apr 2009, 01:26 AM   #58
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
Where I come from (Slashdot), we don't RTFA.
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2010, 05:05 PM   #59
Muirios
New Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
 Originally Posted by Nok: ( link to post ) 
Ok I updated it to 3355, but its still giving me an error, not the same from before:

UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-02-15_17.02]

OS: Windows 2000 5.0 (Build: 2195)
CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1532 MHz with 511MB RAM
Video: RADEON 9800 PRO (6553)

Failed to enter AlienSwarmStartup.ut2: Can't find file for package 'AlienTech'

History: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Free
hi, ye i got this error too so i deleted alien swarm and then reinstalled and didnt patch it...and it worked, i think there must be something wrong with the patch that clashes or something cos its working fine now i can create servers and join them too cept im on the wrong version to join servers lol...
Muirios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2010, 05:54 PM   #60
Fuzzy Bunny
Member
 
Fuzzy Bunny's Avatar
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: In before Moses
Posts: 4,002
If it's the exact same error, it probably means the patch wasn't applied correctly. If you unzip the contents of the patch to an empty directory, you can put everything in the appropriate folders manually.
Fuzzy Bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.