Black Cat Forums   Alien Swarm - Steampowered Forums
Alien Swarm 2K4 - ThieveryUT
Black Cat Games - TTLG Forums

Go Back   Black Cat Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Forums > Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Jul 2006, 03:29 PM   #1
Dread
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: South-West Side of Hell
Posts: 249
Cool How to hack a morita...

Figured I'd make this useful for those willing to muck about in their ini's. Moses mentioned he manually binds this for when he plays tech to make life a little easier, and said that BarmyBrad made an alias like this months ago, but I took it a step further to have an on/off switch for it. If you don't know what this does, don't use it as I will not provide support for this if you've screwed up your ini.

Code:
Aliases[36]=(Command="AoAltFire | Button bFire | Fire | OnRelease UnFire",Alias="Mori")
Aliases[37]=(Command="say Morita On | set input 0 MoritaHackOff | set input LeftMouse Mori",Alias="MoritaHackOn")
Aliases[38]=(Command="say Morita Off | set input 0 MoritaHackOn | set input LeftMouse Fire",Alias="MoritaHackOff")
this does 2 things, it rebinds your leftmouse and zero key accordingly. The zero key is used to enable/disable the morita hack (useful if you're playing a new character) and the rest should speak for itself.

How to apply: This example assumes you have nothing bound to your "0" (zero) key and your left mouse button is used for firing. Also, my empty aliases start at 36, yours may not. Once you bind 0 with MoritaHackOff it should take effect. Otherwise rewrite it as you need to suit your taste.

Happy morita hacking.
__________________
The distance between insanity and genius is measured only by success.

Last edited by Dread; 28th Jul 2006 at 03:44 PM.
Dread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2006, 05:36 PM   #2
DiP
Member
 
DiP's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,702
Whats a morita hack?
__________________
Your order has been dispatched!
DiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2006, 05:41 PM   #3
Hybrid
Member
 
Hybrid's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,957
A terrible disease related to morita cough.
Hybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2006, 07:05 PM   #4
Baz
Member
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: 0xbaadf00d
Posts: 3,094
Both afflictions are caused by sprained ankles.
__________________
..it's safer here.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2006, 03:15 AM   #5
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
...and can be treated by bedrest, hot nurses, and hotter bowls of cywb?
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2006, 04:21 AM   #6
Rogueknight
Member
 
Rogueknight's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Running around on fire (Merry Christmas BCG you pyromaniacs!)
Posts: 219
A morita hack attempts to remove the need to hit the middle mouse button to choose your target before firing. Instead the script automatically does this whenever the weapon fires, so you will get autoaim to the nearest target by just firing the weapon.

By tapping the fire key and moving around you can also change your nearest target if you face more than one alien.

This helps as it means you can react faster and be a bit more spray and pray as the weapon will target for you.
Rogueknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2006, 05:23 PM   #7
UArchitect
Member
 
UArchitect's Avatar
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Posts: 710
 Originally Posted by Rogueknight:
A morita hack attempts to remove the need to hit the "fire grenade/altfire" button to choose your target before firing
fixed!
UArchitect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Aug 2006, 05:27 AM   #8
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by Dread: ( link to post ) 
F
Code:
Aliases[36]=(Command="AoAltFire | Button bFire | Fire | OnRelease UnFire",Alias="Mori")
Aliases[37]=(Command="say Morita On | set input 0 MoritaHackOff | set input LeftMouse Mori",Alias="MoritaHackOn")
Aliases[38]=(Command="say Morita Off | set input 0 MoritaHackOn | set input LeftMouse Fire",Alias="MoritaHackOff")
This is not working for me

However if I type into the console

Code:
set input leftmouse Fire | AoAltFire
it works fine.

The result when I started to play a demo and encountered the first alien, totaly forgetting that the hack was enabled, was devastating :-)

Even though the syntax from your code looks fine, could you check if there was maybe a typo or if you forgot something?

Thanks in Advance.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 08:39 AM   #9
Ihmemies
Member
 
Ihmemies's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 105
I have these aliases in my ini:

Code:
Aliases[0]=(Command="Button bFire | Fire",Alias="Fire")
Aliases[1]=(Command="Button bAltFire | AltFire",Alias="AltFire")

Aliases[36]=(Command="AoAltFire | Button bFire | Fire | OnRelease UnFire",Alias="Mori")
Aliases[37]=(Command="say Morita On | set input 0 MoritaHackOff | set input LeftMouse Mori",Alias="MoritaHackOn")
Aliases[38]=(Command="say Morita Off | set input 0 MoritaHackOn | set input LeftMouse Fire",Alias="MoritaHackOff")
I'm not sure what that does, but it works
Ihmemies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Aug 2006, 01:24 PM   #10
Dread
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: South-West Side of Hell
Posts: 249
Felix, did you also bind the following to the zero key?
Code:
set input 0 MoritaHackOn
Alternativly, you could tweak the alias to rebind your zero key to another key but for that example I decided zero was appropriate.

What happens is that after hitting the zero key, zero becomes rebound with "MoritaHackOff" and hitting it again, it will rebind itself to "MoritaHackOn" and vice versa. Without it, it won't work.
Dread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2006, 01:52 AM   #11
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by Dread: ( link to post ) 
Felix, did you also bind the following to the zero key?
Code:
set input 0 MoritaHackOn
No. That might be the problem

Ill test it this eveninig. Thanks for your help
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2006, 06:13 AM   #12
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by Felix: ( link to post ) 
No. That might be the problem

Ill test it this eveninig. Thanks for your help
Yes that was it.

Okay for all who read this now, the full lines you have to add to your user.ini are

Code:
Aliases[0]=(Command="Button bFire | Fire | OnRelease UnFire",Alias="Fire")
Aliases[1]=(Command="Button bAltFire | AltFire",Alias="AltFire")
Aliases[37]=(Command="say Party On Wayne! | set input 0 MoritaHackOff | set input LeftMouse Mori",Alias="MoritaHackOn")
Aliases[38]=(Command="say Party Off | set input 0 MoritaHackOn | set input LeftMouse Fire",Alias="MoritaHackOff")
0=MoritaHackOn
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Sep 2006, 10:37 PM   #13
Dread
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: South-West Side of Hell
Posts: 249
Uhmmm... You don't have to mess with aliases 0 and 1 at all, Felix. I simply created 2 new ones and rebound my zero key to turn it on and off as needed (ie switching from tech to demo).

However, I have slowly learned that online due to some lag, adding a few more altfires seperated by pipes increase your chances of locking on as sometimes it requires 2 or more attempts before the morita actually locks.
__________________
The distance between insanity and genius is measured only by success.
Dread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2006, 12:25 AM   #14
Moses2k
Member
 
Moses2k's Avatar
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Was actually here before Fuzz
Posts: 5,674
I find that Dread, in fact, is mistaken on that point. There is a minimum time-delay of about a second between locks. I have yet to witness otherwise, even with multiple AoAltFires strung together.
Moses2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Sep 2006, 03:55 AM   #15
Felix
Member
 
Felix's Avatar
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Location: Frankfurt a.M., Germany
Posts: 986
 Originally Posted by Dread: ( link to post ) 
Uhmmm... You don't have to mess with aliases 0 and 1 at all, ....
Yes, I have not changed the first two aliases. They are defaults. I just wanted to show all dependencies for somebody trying to find out why his hack is not working.

So alias 37, 38 plus the 0=MoritaHackOn have to be added or changed.

Anyway, thanks for your help Dread

The hack is working fine. Yes its not locking on 100% reliable but what I do is to press the fire button rapidly if there are more then one alien comming. This increases the chance to get a new lock to the nearest alien.
Felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hack the planet? Fuzzy Bunny Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 4 23rd Apr 2005 03:38 AM
Speed Hack.. Cigs Alien Swarm 2K4 Discussion 6 14th Feb 2005 10:53 PM
Speed Hack Problem The Red Duke Alien Swarm 2K4 Tech Help 2 15th Jul 2004 07:18 PM
Torch Hack Kiech Bepho Thievery Discussion 5 21st Mar 2003 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.