Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi! Incubation?

Incubation

First of all: Hi! I'm new to AS and to these forums. (Newb allert!!!11) Downloaded the mod only just yesterday evening and couldn't stop playing 'til 1:30 in the night although I had to get up at 6:00 this morning. I think I'm hooked! Expect to see me around on this forum, asking stupid questions.

I've always liked both action games (mostly FPS) and strategy games (turn-based and real-time). AS is a fascinating combination of these two genres. Two thumbs up to the team!

AS reminds me a lot of the turn-based strategy game Incubation by BlueByte. Anyone played it? If you ever get your hands on the demo or find the game for a bargain price, give it a try! If you like AS, chances are you'll like Incubation too.

Anyway, I just wanted to say Hello!
    ¤ ¤ The L-shaped Tetris Block, not the pansy 4x1 Block ¤

Looks pretty cool, sure it's not just an X-COM ripoff in 3d?

(Not a bad thing, of course)

Comment

Yeah, I played Incubation to death. Along with X-Com UFO. I enjoyed both very much, but they were all very different. Incubation had no ACTION. It was all turn based. X-Com UFO had no multiplayer, and that's what Alien Swarm is all about. The theme is the only thing that ties them together... and I suppose the VIEW is a bit similar. All are variations on the top-down view. Though Incubation had an option to switch to first person.

X-Com was AMAZING because of how many freaking items/vehicles/weapons/characters you could get. And the battles were very intense and often quite epic.
      "The greatest leader is he who is aggressive in meeting the needs of others."

"Build a man a fire, and he is warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he is warm for the rest of his life."

Sniper: The sexxiest voice in gamming.

Comment

Incubation is nice, but a poor man's X-com, as Sniper says.
        Meow.

Comment