recordmovie in decent fps?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• recordmovie in decent fps?

I like the demorec and recordmovie commands and I’m curious, how did the dev team record their trailer with high resolution and maintain high fps? I’m guessing you could have done it on a killer system, or maybe you had a nice tool/technique? I also watched the sIX guys insane stunts demo, and if my memory serves me right, it looked very nice there too. Both commands outcome looks like crap on my computer, especially recordmovie (even low res, low quality). It looks very shaky and only a few frames seem to be recorded since everything on screen just changes place suddenly and the movie runs at triple speed or something.

I got an Athlon 2800xp (aprox 2ghz), 512mb ram and a radeon 9200 SE card. I know it ain’t much, but still. I’m new to the UT games. Anyone have any suggestions or knowledge in this area? I would be thankful for any info.

Another curiosity, is there a way to move camera freely ingame (not top down) for...say screenshots? With a little more effort i guess you could do nice things in UED's matinee.

Recording the trailer wasn't easy. Basically I created a temporary drive in ram and recorded to that (since the HD access is what cripples uncompressed video capture normally). You'll be limited to about 20 seconds of recording with that amount of RAM.

Maybe better for you would be to run Swarm in a window and try Fraps or Camtasia, they can record ok if you run in 512 or 640 and do a fast divx compression on the fly. Or, get a cheap second PC with a decent capture card (one that records 640x480 at least, I think ATI's capture card can do that) and use tv out from your main to feed into the second one.

Comment

You should definetly be able to capture movies at around 25-30fps using fraps, if you set the resolution to 640x480. You can turn all the GFX options to the maximum then (Including FSAA)