Please help me - ADSL probs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help me - ADSL probs

Hi all I have ADSL and initially when I was the only person using it (shared connection) I had a ping of 350 - 420 and download speed of 25 kbps. Now my ping is 2000- 3000 but fluctuates for a few seconds to ~400 again before going back up. Its been like this for a couple of weeks now. The download was ~15 kbps but the ping for thievery was as above today. Very odd. On modem I had a ping of ~500+ and download of ~5kbps.

Any clues why my ping is *very* high but download is relatively good?

Thanks in advance
    Night of the Werewolves II
    HarryPotterwars
    A Thief's Guide to Thievery for UT (video not complete yet)

Originally posted by Convict
    Hi all I have ADSL and initially when I was the only person using it (shared connection) I had a ping of 350 - 420 and download speed of 25 kbps.
    Without being a network expert I believe you answered your own question. Who or what else is sharing your conection?
    Feel the power of the

Comment

To true. I'm on a shared connection, actually... we have 5 computers hooked up to it, 3 PC's and 2 Macs. My dad likes to constantly update his Mac's with dumb updates, which takes up all of the bandwidth. Even 5kbps can effect gameplay vastly.
      -TuF- Emptying clan servers of their own clan members since 2010
      - Agg moderator campaign supporter 2011
      - #2 of 3 LANers of the Apocalypse!
      -YT

Comment

Thanks guys but the download speed is alot higher than modem but all other variables (e.g. people) being the same my game ping is much higher than with modem. I'm going to ask at TTLG also but they have database troubles at the moment so its STUFFING UP MY THIEVERY PLAYING!!!

Cheers guys
        HarryPotterwars

Comment