What about the complete noobs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What about the complete noobs?

For the Noobs out there, like me , it would be helpful if a lot of the very basics were explained. I've never been terribly interested in Unreal Tournament online, since my few experiences with it seemed mostly to consist of watching folks expand their profanity while I respawned. So I have little to no idea of the intricacies of it. I imagine I may not be the only one.

TUT I am interested in, because from what little I've seen, it does seem to be a better set of players, and has the potential to be a seriously interesting game.

The TUT site, however, is absolutely sparse on information, and there's no FAQ that comes with the game.

So my questions:

What the heck is the supply chest and how does it work? I played one game where I apparantly had it - I had no idea I had it, nor did I have any idea where I was in the map. People started looking for it, but I was well and truly lost, with no idea of how to speak either.
    How do "loadouts" work, how do I get one, and how are they different from just purchasing supplies individually?
    What are the specifics of a whistler? I've seen them be two colors, red and green, but have no idea which one means a thief is nearby.
    What is this stuff about moving AI guards? How does a person do that?
    How does a person: Talk? Vote? Whisper? Initiate a vote?

What brightness should my screen be set at to effectively play? TDP had that little guide in the rules that told you "Go into the shadows room on training and set your brightness so that you can just barely make out the bricks in the darkest parts of the room." Should we do similar for TUT or should we just crank the brightness and gamma all the way if we're to have a hope in heck?
    What settings should my sound be at as well? Should I kill the music unless I'm spectating?