Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Progress, finally.

alrighty,

im working on my first map, finally. i have a ton of experience with CSG operations now, and im comfortable with the unreal scale, adding and subtracting, intersecting, and altering/clipping brushes. i still get a little confused sometimes with creating my own Red Brush, but im progressing.

however, i have little to no experience in texturing and lighting, but more importantly, zoning, static meshes, and actors. not to mention movers, which i wont even look at now.

all i want to know is how long it took some of you to get used to all these things. i only really started UED on thursday, and i feel like ive come a long way since. were there any bumps you guys had on the way? any particular thing i should know?

oh yeah, and when im finished with my first map, DM-Drain, ill have it up on unrealplayground for you to try.
    "Tyler sold his soap to department stores at $20 a bar. Lord knows what they charged. It was beautiful. We were selling rich women their own fat asses back to them."

dont use the "1-unit" grid size when building basic stuff. 4 is small enough. Make multiple saves of your work, before difficult or important changes. Check for BSP or HOM after adding new architecture. The earlier u find such errors the easier to fix them. Look at other levels, thats sometimes more helpful than any "manual"
    My leet Thievery Map
    My leet UT3 Map
    My leet AS Map

Comment

some of the tut mappers prefer to just build the map and fix bsp holes afterwards as sometimes the bsp holes dissapear along the way.
      As to the other things BirraBrothers and Wiki are the only way to go. (Birra for starters and Wiki for advanced stuff).
      And it only took me over a year to get to know UEd better
      [E.D.G] "Eaves Droppers Guild - we're on the edge."

All New Thievery-O's!

Comment