Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Jumping Distances in UnrealEd Units

Hey, all.

I've been playing Theivery since 1.2 came out and love the game in a way that's probably not legal in some places, but I'm brand new to this mapping thing. I've probably spent almost 48 hours total working in UnrealEd2 so far. I'm in the very early stages of building my first Thievery map. I've got one area layed out and am in the planning stages for the rest of the map. But I've got some questions that I haven't found any information about.

Does anyone here know the maximum jumping distances (in unreal ed units) for Thieves and Guards? Also is it different for each? It seems that Thieves run faster, so it would seem that they would jump further. But this is just speculation on my part. If so, what's the maximum jumping distance with a speed potion? And to make matters more complicated... does anyone know these same distances when doing it carrying a body?

You can probably tell that the map I'm planning has lots of jumping involved. And the goal involves stealing a certain enemy's corpse... so obviously I need to make the jumps do-able on the way out. And don't worry, it's not some Mario Bros. jumpfest, it's all going to make perfect sense within the plot-idea of the mission. Picture New Orleans style graveyards with above-ground mausoleums. Of course, this won't be the only way to travel the distance, but I want quality for all of my routes.

I'm also curious if anyone knows the vertical distances for jumping up onto things and for mantling up onto them. Also is this different for Guards and Thieves?

I want to make some of the jumps quite a risk, not damage wise, but falling into well lit walkways that are patrolled sort of danger.

Anyway... if anyone knows this stuff, I'd really appreciate the sharing of that knowledge. If I could have it when building my layout, it would save me a whole lot of tweaking, moving, and testing.

~Spook